Arctic Scavengers

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (31 Total)

1
8
18
4
0

You'd think I'd like this deckbuilder more because: deckbuilder. But I found some aspects a little clunky and in the end, it just doesn't do anything particularly different or better to raise it above other deckbuilders in my estimation. It also suffered until recently from a lack of variability in the cardset, although I hear this has been corrected in the reprint?I'd play again if suggested, but won't be asking for it myself.

2/28/2020

A great game, with an awesome theme (to my taste, anyway), and fun mechanics. The downside is the time between turns, and the time of the game when playing 5 player.

1/28/2020

The skirmish part, which is kinda novel some of the time, can't fully compensate for everything else about the game that is very clunky.

1/26/2020

I liked how the deck building and the round combat work together.

1/24/2020

Deck building, with a mostly consistent set of cards to build from (same piles between games). After a couple of rounds (out of 16 total) there starts to be the possibility of mild player conflict to win a central card (mostly) worth more points than others will be.

1/3/2020

I am late to the deck building party, but quite enjoyed my single play of this. I wouldn't mind getting this for my collection. I am glad the expansion was included in the RGG box. I think the standard game has a minor problem, where if a player is unlucky in his digs, and fails to find med kits or pills, a portion of the game can be shuttered to him. With the HQ expansion, the Medic character is available from the start. This ensures the advanced mercs are a viable path forward.

12/24/2019

total 338

10/18/2019

Fun game, but luck dependent at high player count. Tried it 5 player and did not manage to find more than one medicine despite investing heavily in scavenging. I was locked out of any mid and late game recruitment.

3/5/2019

Need to play this more to form a better opinion.

2/21/2019

This game sometimes makes me uncomfortable. It is incredibly brutal, but if you can get passed that, the game is enormously thematic. I've never played such a gritty game, and not sure I would want to. Morally, I find it troubling; abandoning your refugees in the junk yard, or playing as the fanatic and turning refugees into a suicide squad; but as an emotionless gaming machine, I can have a lot of fun. Unlike other deck builders, you can only hire (buy) 1 card per turn, and must venture into the junk yard and/or dedicate cards to the skirmish to acquire more. With your limited hand, balancing and choosing between these three methods make for very interesting decisions. Despite the rather shallow card pool, the various leaders incentivize players to experiment with different strategies, and help keep the game from gathering dust.

1/11/2019

I love the bluffing aspect of this game. Not super replayable but it works really well.

1/11/2019

Someone in our game group already has a copy of this game (2 people in fact!), but I really, really enjoyed this deck builder. I like the tactical feel and the limited decision making when it comes to purchasing cards.

1/10/2019