A Game of Thrones: The Board Game Second Edition

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (91 Total)

7
36
34
11
3

Practically new, played once. I love the game, but it's too heavy for my current group. Will hopefully get it back on the table eventually.

2/3/2020

If Star Wars rebellion is star wars in a box, than this is GOT in a box. This game is fantastic and the theme is strong with this one. I mean I really feel like the Starks hailing from Winterfel trying to storm over Westeros, and if I am not careful trampled by my brotherman. I think the game is played best with the full compliment of 6 but if you have the expansion for four than I would play that way. Awesome tactical game with a lot going on but still awesome. I love that the battle system is all through number strength and card play, it makes for a more strategic game.

1/31/2020

This is one of my game groups go to games when we are up for some tense epic warfare.

1/26/2020

Liam's

1/25/2020

4

1/25/2020

I feel like I should rate this higher but when I think about the game the first things that come to mind are: 1) Oh god I hope there's noone new. Although the basic game is simple enough, all the edge cases make it a chore to explain and that is a factor for me. 2) Ah we won't be playing anything else as this is so long and will leave me exhausted 3) Ah [x] is playing - maybe I can talk everyone into playing something else instead. BUT if there's 6 focused and committed players and time I *do* enjoy it, as it's a highly strategic, tense game with plenty of moments for laughter, scheming, treachery and satisfaction as your feints and strategy come into fruition. However, god help you if you've got an AP player. Even players that aren't prone to AP and are focused will be hard pressed to remember what the hell their tokens were by the end of the placement phase, or even what their overall strategy was, as the game really lends itself to AP with all the order choices and requirement of planning troop movements several turns ahead. This is further confounded by the overall game length, which would otherwise be fine on its own. I also do not recommend playing it with anyone who isn't committed to 4+ hours of a more complex game, as a dead weight, uninterested player *will* unbalance the entire game for everyone else. It's like playing with 5, but worse.

1/25/2020

Like Diplomacy but with interesting mechanics on top which leaves an opportunity to outsmart people (as opposed to just lying better). A deep game that pairs strategy and social problems. The expansion is also fantastic and does a lot to balance the factions.

1/25/2020

This is now the go-to version of this great game.

1/10/2020

20EUR (used)

12/21/2019

I can see this being a great game for people that are into this theme or mechanic.

12/20/2019

Love this game, the build up. The protect yourself with politics. Love that you aren’t relying on damn dice or random mechanics. It’s just house cards and people. You do need a crowd, but if you have one it’s great. Get the mother of dragons expansions. Fixed everything. Works with other expansions cards. April 2017 $56.82

12/14/2019

As far as I'm concerned, the best strategy game ever made.

12/5/2019

Very thematic. Love the simultaneous orders issue. Don't like the imbalance in 4 and 5 player games, with the castles in the south being free for the Baratheon and Lannister.

11/10/2019

Very thematic. Love the simultaneous orders issue. Don't like the imbalance in 4 and 5 player games, with the castles in the south being free for the Baratheon and Lannister.

11/10/2019

A Game of Thrones: The Board Game is a grand game about conquest in Westeros. Each player will control a different kingdom with a different roster of combat cards and starting setup. At the beginning of every turn, players plan their actions and place face-down tokens on the map. When all of them are done, the tokens are turned around and resolved in a certain order. Players can make their armies march, raze, support, etc. Standard combat actions. Players can negotiate and make non-binding deals. If there is a combat, players compare the military strength of the relevant armies and then, in secret, choose a combat card from their own deck. This card will add combat strength and/or provide different effects like murdering enemy units, canceling the rival combat card, etc. Until this point, the game is fairly standard and there is nothing really groundbreaking. What makes the game stand out among its ilk is the fight over three different rule breaking positions: the iron throne, fiefdoms and the king's court. The player with more influence in each of those tracks will get the associated token (big nice tokens) and a special power. The game continues for 10 turns or until a player gets 7 castles. A Game of Thrones is fairly thematic. Treasons abound and influence is crucial. I think that games are a bit too long and the scripted nature of the setup makes for scripted openings and not a very varied gameplay. Besides that, I always feel that competitive games with non-binding negotiation are kinda dumb. I mean, you make deals, and you promise you won't betray them, yada yada yada. But since there are no alliance victories, at some point a player will need to break a deal and backstab their loved friends. So, that's that. A great game. I just feel funny inside when my brother looks into my eyes and says that he'll never attack Winterfell.

10/25/2019

This game is fundamentally broken with anything less than 6 players. It's hard to believe it was play tested more than a couple times with lower numbers.

6/14/2019

Like this game but worry over imbalance and the need to have the right number of players. Ultimately, traded. Then bought it again ! Sold again !

4/12/2019

A beautiful game, and so full of promise... but so full of problems. An over-elaborate version of Diplomacy that just doesn't seem to work.

3/16/2019

So much intrigue!!! No dice. What's not to love? 2nd ed shortens the game to a more palatable length and balances the houses starting areas a bit.

3/6/2019

It's a little too simple and a little too mean for my tastes.

2/16/2019

Each player takes on the role of a House of Westeros, attempting to use their resources and armies to take over the lands and declare themselves king, all while holding back the dangerous Wildling invaders from beyond Castle Black's walls. There is a wealth of auctions, special abilities, clever card-play, negotiation, backstabbing, and strategic positioning that works well with the theme of the books/show. It's a bit long, and unbalanced in ways that I'm not sure I entirely appreciate, but it is a great "long game" that blows things like Risk away. Perhaps made irrelevant to me by Ortus Regni?

1/22/2019

Robin has this.

1/17/2019

Secret Santa BGG 2015

1/16/2019

I'm always cautious of games built around branded-IP and this game is a quintessential example as to why. The limited numbers of forces each player can control makes the game feel over balanced, and the fighting is unbearably swingy. The bidding for track order is interesting, but not enough to lift the otherwise stale and lengthy gameplay out of the muck. I'd recommend Blood Rage over this every day of the week, as the mechanics are fairly similar, except Blood Rage manages to create an enjoyable experience out of them. Players with a love for negotiation might find something here, just never ask me to play.

1/11/2019