Lost Cities

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (93 Total)

1
31
52
5
3

Classic 2 player push your luck design that entirely hinges around the decision to commit to a color, or wait till you get better cards before committing.  Exquisitely designed, this makes that one simple choice an agonizing decision each and every turn (and you will ALWAYS draw that 7 right after you play your 8)!  I prefer Battle Line, but this is pretty damn good too.

6/26/2019

Classic Knizia, but not my favorite Knizia. It's a bit too reliant on the draws for my tastes. Still a good game, but not a great one.

5/13/2019

My gf loves to play this and I learned to enjoy it, too. It's a quick two player card game, with some strategy and a little more luck involved. The luck aspect is what lowers the rank of this one a little but I'm enjoying this game a lot now.

4/25/2019

7. Initial rating. Quick filler, lacking in theme or fun.

4/12/2019

Missed that you can pick up a discarded card for MANY games. Better.

3/8/2019

Best 2v2 card game ever? I like the 2 player, but the 4 player is what earns this such a high score for me. Trading cards with a teammate and trying to work together to efficiently play your cards is a great challenge. Warning: fun to play with spouse teams, but likely to cause strong emotions (+ or -) "GAH I was gonna play there!!! You didn't give me a chance!" "That's cause we were out of time! I can't read your mind!" Excellent.

3/6/2019

2 players 20 minutes

2/17/2019

Mathy and boring. Not sure how this gets rated so highly.

2/16/2019

I just don't like it!

2/16/2019

It’s fairly simple but we enjoy the strategy of the this game—and especially love that it’s so quick to play.

2/16/2019

A game design with solid theory and good game flow. Players will experience lots of turn angst as the decision making is tough. Buy Lost cities!

2/15/2019

One of the games we have had the longest. Played so many times. Will always love this one.

2/11/2019

Do not understand the love for this game. I'd rather play nothing than play this.

1/23/2019

Some games just don't work. This was a massive disappointment, because all of the hype here on BGG said it would work awesomely for a married couple. It was terrible, stressful, and overly complicated. For better "play with the wife" card games, try En Garde, Battle Line, Mystery Rummy: Jack the Ripper, Court of the Medici, Triumvirate, Haggis or even Cribbage instead.

1/22/2019

Really good game and instantly turned into one of my wife's favorites. Edit 7/10/18: had to downgrade this game since battle line has the same tension but is just better

1/22/2019

A simple 2 player game. Easy to learn.

1/21/2019

[Pending to sleeve]

1/18/2019

While the theme is light at best, it's still a ton of fun. One of the best light two-player games out there.

1/15/2019

This was the game that introduced me to Euro-style games. I loved it right away and still do, although I don't play it as much now. It's a great couples game, one of the few I can get my wife to play regularly. My mom even likes it. Very addictive, not overly complicated, with just the right amount of luck. Play it at flexgames.com before you buy to get a feel for it. I think you'll find that you can't quit playing.

1/11/2019

Love the "play or discard" mechanic, and the tension and agony it subjects on to the players. Sometimes its a bit slow when both players are playing conservatively, but aggressive play can really score some huge totals (at the risk of negative points, though). A must-own 2p game for most, and a must-try for all.

1/11/2019

My wife really likes this one. Not a whole lot of depth here but a fun 30 minute game to pass the time.

1/11/2019

We keep seeing this at our FLGS and I keep eyeing it. Now that I have Arboretum, a few plays of that will determine if this one is worthy to keep on the shelf.

1/10/2019

Scandanavian Edition

1/10/2019

Fun game, played only on BSW, theme doesn't really pull through but the gameplay is fun. Such a decision each turn makes your brain hurt.

1/9/2019