Archipelago

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (59 Total)

2
15
31
8
0

Have only played with Benefactor Trend, and 3 of the 4 games without the Pacifist and Separatist Trend cards. Probably a little too much negotiation for me to really appreciate.

4/1/2020

Eager to try again. The colony is more fragile than it appears. [EDIT] Yeah, the economy that this game posits is interesting, but the way you interact with it is just so stodgy, incremental, and dull. Random card pulls force sweeping economic changes that cannot be countered without devoting many, many actions; and that's even assuming that everyone can convince themselves to adopt the game's weird semi-coop mindset. More interesting than good.

1/26/2020

I like the combo of turn-taking, worker placement, and tile exploration in this Eurogame. It gets a little predictable (IMHO) and I'm enjoying it less now that I've played other Euros I like better (ie: Powergrid)

1/24/2020

I need to try this again. I liked parts of this game. And any first look at a game of this body weight is never conclusive for me. My 6 rating is more of an indication of my enthusiasm level - slightly interested in going again.

12/24/2019

amazon uk

11/12/2019

This is a meaty game with great production value and an interesting theme. There is a lot to consider it has some great mechanics that combine spatial expansion, resource generation and worker placement with the economic element of buying/selling goods for profit and for the common good. The hidden end-game triggers and victory point awards are an interesting idea, but it can get a bit frustrating sometimes. However, the semi-cooperative nature of this game just doesn't appeal to me. I do not buy the whole "primary goal is to prevent the rebellion" since the player with the most victory points is the grand winner. When there is a grand winner and all the rest are just winners, to me it sounds like one player won and the other have lost. Which brings me to the next point, which is related to the rebellion. The danger of the natives rebelling and everyone losing the game is ever-present and requires effort from all players to keep it at bay. So, once a player realises that there is not way for him/her to win the game, there is a great incentive to help bring about the rebellion and have everyone lose the game. Maybe it depends on your point of view, some people will be quite happy to play to their full ability, even if there is no whay for them to win. If you are in a competitive group however, I guess having someone causing the rebellion because there is no way they can win, will be something that will be occuring quite frequently.

11/10/2019

This is a meaty game with great production value and an interesting theme. There is a lot to consider it has some great mechanics that combine spatial expansion, resource generation and worker placement with the economic element of buying/selling goods for profit and for the common good. The hidden end-game triggers and victory point awards are an interesting idea, but it can get a bit frustrating sometimes. However, the semi-cooperative nature of this game just doesn't appeal to me. I do not buy the whole "primary goal is to prevent the rebellion" since the player with the most victory points is the grand winner. When there is a grand winner and all the rest are just winners, to me it sounds like one player won and the other have lost. Which brings me to the next point, which is related to the rebellion. The danger of the natives rebelling and everyone losing the game is ever-present and requires effort from all players to keep it at bay. So, once a player realises that there is not way for him/her to win the game, there is a great incentive to help bring about the rebellion and have everyone lose the game. Maybe it depends on your point of view, some people will be quite happy to play to their full ability, even if there is no whay for them to win. If you are in a competitive group however, I guess having someone causing the rebellion because there is no way they can win, will be something that will be occuring quite frequently.

11/10/2019

by 3MBG

A mess of a game, the worker placement board is a mess. The rules are a mess, and generally not a lot of fun to play for a while and then lose on a random event because people just happened not to have stockpiled resource X. Also, the huts on the map mechanism is just tedious to track. So fiddly and for what? Semi-co-op games need more incentive for you to pay the shared costs other than "pay or lose". I had stockpiled certain tokens for my VP card, a random event dictated that i needed to spend all my stocked VPs or we would lose the game. Also, completely tone deaf on colonialism.

10/29/2019

Beautiful game. Good components and wonderful artwork. Flawed game. Competitive game + possible traitor is a bad combination. Besides that nearly fatal problem, I think that some parts of the game are complex for complexity's sake. I really dislike the way the Colony Stability Board and the Surplus Workers Board work. I am sure that it could have been combined in a single chart without a problem, reducing immensely the manipulation of components and upkeep effort. I also hate how fiddly the resolution of crisis is. It is a pity because I enjoy very much the theme and the exploration and building aspects of the game. Also, evolution cards are a fantastic idea. We've played 5 games and 4 have ended in rebellion. The one that didn't was simply because we all wanted to humor a certain person that really likes the game and was annoyed that games never ended properly.

10/25/2019

First play: The buying/resolving card aspect of the game, especially the punishment, gummed up the action enough to the point that I didn't care if I tanked the game. Even if someone were the native sympathizer, it wouldn't matter as it is so easy to tank. I'd like to play a variant that is less focused on paying for those punishments.

10/18/2019

No Review Description

7/22/2019

Love the dynamic map and tensions with people next to you.

6/26/2019

7.5 after 1 play. There is certainly a lot going on, which meant we had to work as a team to stop us loosing to revolt. Personally feel the revolt card is unbalanced due to this. We did not use this card and glad we didn't. Player objectives quickly took 2nd place to the crisis cards appearing. Would like to play again, however, couldn't initially suggest what i would or could do different. Not had a chance to play again myself, but feedback has been that revolt card is not as bad as I thought. After 3rd play, this has begun to grow on me. It certainly has hidden depths and your gaming group will also change the game perceptions as bidding is a key element. Changing rating to a 7.8 for now.

4/12/2019

This game is so close to being great. The semi-cooperative aspect is just awful, though.

2/16/2019

Wow! What a very good civilization game. If you have play something akin to Axis and Allies and want to move up in complexity without being overwhelmed, this is the game for you. This a rare game where players are cooperating and competing against one another. Great strategy game with good design and tight mechanics.

2/15/2019

There is a lot going on here. The semi cooperation seems to be very nicely implemented.

1/22/2019

Wellbalanced semi-coop game. Love it ALOT!

12/22/2018