Ascension: Deckbuilding Game

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (36 Total)

1
6
20
6
3

Love the theme, not crazy about the art style. Significantly more fun than Dominion.

6/26/2019

7.0 / 2p / 30m / 2010 / Strategy 370 / 2.15

6/15/2019

This was my first deck builder purchased after playing Legendary. The game play is simple and easy to learn/teach to others. This is a great travel game. We used to take this along on a backpacking or camping trip, since the components are light and the board is non-essential to game play. On the downside, the game always felt somewhat repetitive and lacking in surprise factor. Ultimately, gave this game away to support Across the Board garage sale on BGG.

4/22/2019

A solid deck builder, but surpassed by most games that came after it. Not bad, but all the other sets add more. It serves a role in my collection as a game to play with more casual players or as a dampener to add to other sets to dilute their mechanics.

3/5/2019

Played the app, pretty standard deck builder

2/27/2019

digital versie op ipad

2/18/2019

Pretty good, and fun to play. I am a fan of the artwork. Each game feels the same though, and your deck never really feels like it's "working" like it does at the end of a Dominion game. I can't see any reason to play it over Dominion. I'll be trading this.

2/16/2019

Played about 500 multiplayer games of this on mobile as well.

2/14/2019

Small, thematic deck-building with a fantasy theme; everyone drafts cards into their deck from a small, constantly changing selection and tries to get the most points (either through collecting valuable cards or defeating monsters). The iOS version makes the game a fantastic, quick filler, but has almost been entirely replaced by Star Realms.

1/22/2019

A rotating tableau of cards you can buy, instead of a fixed set you can plan a strategy around, is stupid and the worst trend in deck-building games. I'm so glad I learned Dominion first, or I might have never given the genre a second glance.

1/11/2019

Finally a good deck-building game. Best with the first expansion!

1/11/2019

It's not a great game. But it's a very good tool for introducing the deck-building genre.

1/10/2019

One of the first deck builders I ever played, but even to this day it plays well and doesn't feel outdated. The honor pool being used to time the game with a rotating market makes this game infinitely better than Dominion in my own opinion.

12/24/2018