Letters from Whitechapel

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (47 Total)

2
23
17
5
0

Wow, did I have fun playing this game!! Why did I wait so long after getting it to play it? Because it seemed too complicated. Luckily I have some great gamer friends, and we all watched a "how to play" video together and got down to it. Really not that difficult at all. The first night took a very long; I was playing Jack and I almost got caught after my 3rd move, but was able to evade. I then almost got caught twice more. It took me all 15 turns to get back to home base for night one. Night two went much quicker as the murder was close to home. The detectives were sure they knew where my base was, but they were so wrong and Night three was easy and four went just as quickly. So much pressure in night one that the rest seemed like a breeze. I sure enjoyed playing as Jack; will see how I feel as a detective.

10/18/2019

The thrill is on! a blast for me and my S.O, we had so much fun with 2p

10/18/2019

Best: 2 Time: 60 Min Weight: 2.67

10/17/2019

Letters is just a masterful game. The most glaring problem with hidden movement games is balance. If one side is more powerful than the other, the game just falls apart, and it's all anyone can think of when playing the game. Letters does a great job of balancing the two sides, AND offering a bunch of variants you can throw in to make one side more powerful if your gaming group is having Jack or the police win more often. They even include extra components for some of these variants, which is a great touch. They realize that every group plays differently, so either Jack or the police will naturally begin having the advantage. If you're a fan of hidden movement games, this is a definite "must own", and if you haven't tried them yet, this is also a great one to test the waters in. It's a pure hidden movement game, no extra game mechanics thrown on top.

10/17/2019

Tense, exciting two-player game -- but no doubt flawed. The more you play the more you want to solve the puzzle (win the game) and consequently the more choices become over analyzed. Possibly the game is too much in Jack's favor. Unique setting, clean mechanics, and fun gameplay greatly help make up for the fact that the game is slightly unfair.

8/5/2019

by Jsil

Condition: Very good, only some marks on the corner of the box. Edition: Letters from Whitechapel ‐ English second edition (2012)

6/23/2019

Played this at Gamex 2012 (Strategicon) Memorial Day Weekend in LA. To my dismay it is not available. A reprint is coming "soon". Oh the wait.

4/12/2019

Want to play this one more. So far, I have loved every bit of it. Simple and tense. Need to try Fury to see if it replaces this. May not, since the play length seems to be double.

2/21/2019

2-6 players (best 2) 120 minutes

2/18/2019

This was a fun deduction game. Supporting 6 players seems a little dishonest, as some police pawns are likely going to be useless during the Hunting phase. Probably best with 2-4.

2/16/2019

Great all vs one game. Series of deduction reasoning, cat and mouse, and race to location.

2/15/2019

I love this game. I find The many vs one mechanic very appealing and love the balance of working together while Jack is listening to your logic and trying to turn it against you. My only complaint is that the wretched pawn phase seems clunky and unnecessary.

1/23/2019

Pure hidden movement game. Doesn't do too much differently than other games like it and the board, while thematic feeling, is very bland to look at.

12/24/2018

In Germany

12/22/2018

Find Jack the ripper in Whitechapel, Blindfolded battleships!

12/22/2018