Oh My Goods!

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (87 Total)

1
29
44
7
4

I picked it up a while back as part of a bulk purchase on eBay without really being overly interested in it. But was really surprised at how much is packed into that box! Love the multi-use cards, and you can create some neat engines. My only complaint is that because you use cards to also represent goods, you can often accidentally take a huge chunk of a particular resource out of the game for a protracted time which can really throw off someone else ability to run their engine. I often take a tiny copy of flux along with it and use those cards to represent the goods.

5/26/2020

Nice little game, has some nice elements, engine building, push your luck and comes in a petite box, so interested in this one.

3/18/2020

Totally functional for a single deck of cards. The theme is about as dull as humanly possible but someone ambitious could easily re-theme it to anything else. I'll still choose Race for the Galaxy or 51st State 10 times out of 10 over Oh My Goods!, but for the sake of variety and portability it's totally worth the $10 to have on hand for trips.

2/15/2020

This hits a nice sweet spot for a thinky filler. A little random, but the same can be said for another engine/tableau builder that just happens to be my personal favorite.

12/20/2019

Really enjoy this little engine building game. Great balance of luck/randomness/press your luck and long term strategy.

12/12/2019

So whimsical. I am so bad at building an engine in this game, but it is a ton of fun anyway.

6/26/2019

Has several good ideas marred by overwrought, unintuitive mechanisms. Too simple to justify multiple plays in a session, too luck based to appeal to euro fans, too obtuse to introduce as a filler between games. Disappointing.

5/13/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/oh-my-goods-2015/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/oh-my-goods-2015-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

[b] :STAR: COMPLETE RATING: [/b] [c] [b]SCORE CRITERIA WEIGHTING ------- STAR RATING SCALE -------[/b] (7.0) FUN (x15): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: REALLY FUN (7.0) GAMEPLAY (x5): NO DEPTH :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: LOT OF DEPTH (FOR THE WEIGHT) (8.0) GAME FLOW (x5): FIDDLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: SILKY SMOOTH (9.0) DOWNTIMES (x2): LOT OF :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: ZERO (6.0) RANDOMNESS (x2): PURE LUCK :star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: PURE SKILLS (8.0) MECHANICS (x2): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: INTERESTING / INNOVATIVE (8.0) REPLAYABILITY (x5): ZERO :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: INFINITE (10.0) SCALABILITY (x3): POOR :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: GREAT AT ALL PLAYER COUNTS (10.0) PORTABILITY (x1): BULKY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: SUPER EASY TO PLAY ANYWHERE (5.0) THEME (x1): UNATTRACTIVE :star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: ATTRACTIVE (7.0) AESTHETICS (x1): UGLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: GORGEOUS (7.0) COMPONENTS (x1): LOW QUALITY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: HIGH QUALITY (8.0) VALUE (x2): TOO EXPENSIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: REALLY CHEAP(LOW COST FOR WHAT WE GET) (8.0) SETUP TIME (x2): LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ZERO (9.0) GAME LENGTH (x2): TOO SHORT/LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: JUST PERFECT (8.0) RULES COMPLEXITY (x1): COMPLEX :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: SIMPLE [/c] [b]TOTAL =383/50 =7.66[/b] :thumbsup: [b]POSITIVE POINTS:[/b] ++ Small box, easy to travel with and set up just about anywhere. ++ Plays well at all player counts. ++ Good use of multi-use cards. :thumbsdown: [b]NEGATIVE POINTS:[/b] -- The randomness of card draws and the market can be frustrating if it causes several rounds where you are unable to produce anything. -- Standard boring euro theme (though the expansion that adds campaigns/story might help? )

3/1/2019

2-4 players (best 2) 30 minutes

2/17/2019

This is an amazing game in an inexpensive and small package. I have only played with the current rules, but thus far my group has loved this game.

2/11/2019

A Rosenbergesque operational efficiency puzzle distilled down to a 30-minute filler, which puts it in that awkward category of "Gamers' Filler": games too light for heavy gamers, and too complex for non-gamers. Your ability to build usable production chains is totally up to the draw of the cards, so it can be frustrating, but being able to pull off a mega-turn for the final turn is kind of satisfying.

1/23/2019

Fast paced, light strategy game.

1/21/2019

[Pending to sleeve]

1/18/2019

The rules update did wonders for this game, as players are now able to run all of their production chains for massive points, which provides players with the satisfaction of executing the engine they spent the whole game piecing together. I have a few replayability concerns in that some chains are simply better than others (especially given the changes to the end-game), and there are not enough strategies to explore. I enjoy playing it, but it doesn't call to me often.

1/11/2019