Cthulhu Wars

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (37 Total)

5
19
9
1
3

This has no right to be this good. Fast-moving and fun, and improves on its obvious inspiration Chaos in the Old World by being more fluid and open. [EDIT] Add the extra factions into the mix, and the rating probably gets upped by a point. Granted, at that point you turn an expensive proposition into an insane investment, but I think I failed my sanity check a while ago.

1/26/2020

Massively over-produced, dice-chucking goodness. While not my favorite wargame by any stretch, it's quite enjoyable. The unique factions and spellbooks do a great job making the game feel interesting. It feel like a massively and well re-designed RISK with absurd "minis".

1/24/2020

I've played other peoples' copies of this. First impressions were mediocre. Then it got better. And better. And better still. I loved it, but didn't want to drop the ludicrous price of admission. Then I found a hell of a deal on snatching up an Onslaught 2 edition, along with the currently in-print factions, and I went for it. Figured just noting errata was worth the discounted price of admission. Turns out it was actually an Onslaught 3 so no errata needed. Hell yeah.

1/3/2020

Solid game play. I can see where Blood Rage and Rising Sun got their roots. Theme is not quite to my liking.

12/20/2019

mm

11/12/2019

by 3MBG

Price tag aside, this is actually an exceptional game. The only sub 90 minute wargame i've played that also feels "epic". Fast and epic is a hard thing to do. A bad game to play with people with Analysis Paralysis, as you get a lot of actions. Best played like speed chess, with quick decisive moves to keep the pace up.

10/29/2019

I love this game's table presence, the asymmetry of the factions and the speed at which it plays. It has rapidly become one of my favorites.

10/23/2019

I love this game's table presence, the asymmetry of the factions and the speed at which it plays. It has rapidly become one of my favorites.

10/23/2019

Cuthulhu Wars is another dudes on a map game where people take several turns turtling, acquiring special powers and building up their forces, finally bringing out their giant sculpt, and then fighting once or twice. The real object of the game is to control gates at the end of each round. I assumed that the game would drag on interminably (and to be fair, we did play for 2+ hours) but it wasn’t too bad in the end. Cuthulhu Wars reminded me a lot of Assault of the Giants, which I didn’t like either, but—gun to my head—I think I’d rather play AotG over CW.

10/18/2019

Absolutely love this game, the play style, the minis, everything about it. Can not wait for the rest of the expansions to get here.

2/16/2019