Fairy Tale

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (62 Total)

0
7
39
11
2

by paka

Interesting set collection game with drafting mechanism. At first probably seems like awfuly messy and lots of icons, but after 1st game most people will get it.

2/25/2020

I heard so much about this game for years and then when I finally played it I said "that's it?". The play feels overly simplistic and nowhere near as clean as Sushi Go (which yes...came later) and man do I ever hate the art and card design. I really wanted this to be better.

2/15/2020

Match colors. Match shapes. Repeat.

2/9/2020

The mechanics of the game are pretty good, but the artwork, font, and iconography is terrible. Very difficult to pick up as a beginner.

1/28/2020

Very nice filler. The drafting gets very agonizing and/or psychological (more players means more agony and less psychology, fewer players the inverse), and it's good fun. Also very fast, with no real possibility of it dragging on too long, which is as every filler ought to be.

1/26/2020

This is very enjoyable. It's a nice step up in complexity from Sushi Go!, but it's not really difficult to grasp.

1/24/2020

Clever mechanism for hand building. Rating would probably go up if I got to know the cards available. Seems like too few cards played to assemble a real strategy.

10/25/2019

Looking for the Spanish and Japanese editions in trade

10/21/2019

A very streamlined card drafting game. Everything runs so smoothly, and every decision you make is interesting and meaningful. It also slowly builds up tension throughout the game, which is a big plus for me. My only gripe would be that there isn't much hidden information, so you can tell if you're going to be beat towards the end, which can make the last round or so pretty boring. Also, the game feels like it could be an extra round longer. You don't play quite enough cards to get that big feeling of accomplishment. This might be by design, but it's just slightly frustrating to me to not have enough time to see enough cards to build a coherent strategy. You're mostly at the whim of the cards you see, which is a very small percentage of the total cards available.

10/17/2019

Solid drafting game with loads of ways to score. Theme is difficult to sell people on, which is funny because it's completely painted on. Some of the best enabling of hate drafting I've ever seen since you're drafting 5 cards and only playing 3. It can get MEAN.

5/13/2019

Played once. Didn't quite get all the card symbols, straight away but enjoyed this all the same.

4/12/2019

I'd like to see if some BGG statistician ever analyzes this to see what its rating is for those who have rated M:TG a 7 or more and those who have rated it lower or not at all.

3/8/2019

Clever card game. Need to play more.

2/16/2019

While the anime theme may be offsetting, it's surprisingly accessible. Once people get the hang of how the game is played, it moves quickly and it ends up being a lot of fun. Good strategy too.

2/16/2019

2-5, 20m

1/25/2019

A really fast game, alternating rounds of drafting and playing cards to create the most valuable sets. Each card interacts with other cards in different ways, making them more or less valuable, so there is a lot to think about when drafting and even more when you play the cards, since you can't play everything in your hand.

1/22/2019

I thought it was a fun card-drafting game. Not bad. Sometimes the anime art really throws me off. Now if someone could retheme it with butterflies or something inoffensive. 2013-09-28 - Sold Fallcon 26

1/21/2019

Light card drafting game. I'd play this over 7 Wonders any day since there's more player interaction.

12/24/2018

(10/17) 4. I think I may be underrating this game, just didn't fully grasp it I think. Also the art isn't very great.

12/22/2018