Codenames

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (157 Total)

9
72
64
5
2

A very sol...

by Robertcompton

A very solid 8 party game.

4/12/2019

http://mee...

by MeepleLikeUs

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/codenames-2015/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/codenames-2015-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Nobody dis...

by Fly Casual

Nobody dislikes this game. It just works.

3/6/2019

Fun, light...

by ThiningAboutGames

Fun, light party game. Works great with all levels of player. I don't particularly enjoy being spymaster. Difficulty seems about right because you can give multi-card clues.

3/5/2019

No Review Title

by philryuh

Makes you learn quite a bit about the people you're playing with. Always a great party game for most groups too but it can get slow or a little boring when you play round after round with people who are playing it way too safely

2/28/2019

Practicall...

by winnebagomafia

Practically brand new, only played a couple of times, all pieces included

2/21/2019

Excellent ...

by BrouhahaGames

Excellent game. Haven't played with anyone who didn't enjoy this one.

2/21/2019

2-8 player...

by noduh

2-8 player (best 6 or 8) could go up to 10 or 12 I think 30 minutes

2/17/2019

I feel lik...

by elltrain

I feel like I'm the only person around not rating Codenames a 10. It's good, but I suppose I get stressed out trying to give 3+ word clues. It's also really frustrating when you can't think of any clue and everyone is sitting around waiting for you, then you just give up and give a terrible 1-word clue.

2/16/2019

Great part...

by megameeple

Great party game if you can get enough people that wanna play

2/15/2019

Played twi...

by brenthenson

Played twice so far (4 player and 2 player). Enjoying it a lot, want to play more. Slightly more meaty party game that plays with large groups. So far 4 player was better than 2 player.

2/14/2019

Will play ...

by mgacy

Will play when it is suggested and I have fun doing so, but there's always something I'd rather play more.

2/12/2019

It's a lit...

by Daedelous

It's a little slow paced with 2-4 people. If a little waiting doesn't bother you, it's not a problem. Playing this with 6+, when the teams are forced to discuss their answer, transforms it into a pretty fun party game.

2/12/2019

Good game....

by lasttruegypsy

Good game. I created a house rule which says that if someone gives a 1 numbered clue, the people still had to choose two cards unless it was their last spy. This forced people to work a little harder to make associations.

2/11/2019

2-8+, 15m

by snurp

2-8+, 15m

1/25/2019

Simple gam...

by derekduff

Simple game, easy to get other involved and can be played with a wide number of players. The game is as good as the people you play with. For the most part, a very fun and engaging game but sometime you get the person who gives the worst clues and you make sure you to never pull this out when they are around.

1/24/2019

I hate gam...

by Brent

I hate games where the core component is "Guess what I'm thinking of." Will never play this again.

1/23/2019

W/ Exp: De...

by Ethereal87

W/ Exp: Deep Undercover My go-to party game for something lighter and fun that anyone can play. Always a hit!

1/23/2019

Multiple, ...

by Zeugmatic Player

Multiple, simultaneous Password-style games played on two teams. Difficult, but creative; makes you feel smart and stupid.

1/22/2019

Pretty muc...

by Chitownsox

Pretty much unlimited replayability. This is a family word game that will stick.

1/22/2019

2018-07-29...

by usagi-san

2018-07-29 - Initial rating 7; Had a blast playing with work colleagues but not my typical game

1/21/2019

Code maste...

by LuisGomez

Code master: Here I go guys, the clue is: "object 7". Team: ...

1/18/2019

Good for b...

by vinnie

Good for bringing non-gamers and different generations together Nice variety of play options

1/18/2019

Robin has ...

by Zenly

Robin has this.

1/17/2019

Replaced w...

by svenv

Replaced with Decrypto

1/16/2019

I think I'...

by frankqb

I think I'm missing something. It just seems too easy, and the satisfaction of guessing the right word is lost on me.

1/15/2019

https://yo...

by ubRtstcl

https://youtu.be/_CfXPFEL6os?t=1550

1/15/2019

Its a bit ...

by ekloff

Its a bit of a shame, IMHO, that this is what finally won Vlaada an SdJ. Don't get me wrong, I like this game, its fun and light, and easy to rope people into playing, but its no Galaxy Trucker. I would almost always prefer Mysterium to Codenames, as I find the experiences rather similar, except Mysterium is more immersive and social. But Codenames plays like lightning in comparison, so its good when you're low on time.

1/11/2019

A really s...

by GorditaCrunch93

A really solid party game that makes you put on your thinking cap!

1/11/2019

An essential party game

by adomescik

(+) Very popular (especially with non-gamers), easy to teach, tying words together with clues is really enjoyable, splitting into teams is fun, plays quick, lots of variability added with the cards and key, great price (-) Meat of the game is only enjoyed by the clue givers, can be lots of downtime when waiting on clues (no one likes using the timer)

1/10/2019

Theme/Art:...

by Wuktrio

Theme/Art: The spy theme works pretty well, the art looks fine, but it's both not that important as Codenames is a party game and the words on the cards are the most important part of it. Production quality: It's all small cards and light cardboard, which are fine. However, the hourglass isn't the best I've seen in a game. It's completely optional though. Replayability: There are a LOT of different word cards, which have a different word on each side, and each spymaster-card can be used at all four angles, so the combinations are endless. Depth/Difficulty: The game is explained in about 5 minutes, but coming up with good hints can be really hard. Strategy: You have to think of hints that lead your team to as many spys as possible, but keep them away from the assassin and members of the other team. The two player variant recquires a bit more strategy, because each round the spymaster has to choose an enemy spy to uncover. Luck: The cards and the spymaster card are random, but you can come up with good hints for pretty much everything if you are creative enough. Codenames takes abou 15-30 minutes to play, depending on how long the spymasters need to think of their hints. It is a phenomenal party game (although not for big parties, more than 8 players could get a bit much), the only downside I can think of are the downtimes when a spymaster takes a long time to think. You can use the hourglass in this case though.

1/10/2019

1. Box and...

by Fiahwerkz

1. Box and Insert: 6 2. Components: 6 3. Art: 6 4. Theme: 7 5. Implementation of Theme: 3 6. Mechanics: 9 7. Player Interaction: 10 8. Length: 8 9. Down Time: 7 10. Replayability: 7 11. Luck: 8 12. Fun: 9

1/9/2019

This is a ...

by Psylocke

This is a party game I greatly enjoy. You need a large group for it to shine though, anything less than 6 and it isn't worth pulling out as it just becomes a very quiet and unexciting game. Being the clue giver can be so stressful but it's so rewarding when your team picks the right words and no that pesky assassin.

12/24/2018

(11/15) 10...

by markbesada

(11/15) 10. ALWAYS hits. (9/17) 10. My #3 favorite game of all time.

12/22/2018

In Germany...

by magicjavelin

In Germany

12/22/2018

Great for a Bunch and Even for 2!

by trentellingsen

The game is great with the intended 4-8 player count but what was surprising is that it's pretty great with just 2 and 3 players too! It's a fun quick alternative coop game that I can pull out instead of something heavier like Pandemic to play with my wife!

11/23/2018