Blood Rage

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (229 Total)

11
131
76
9
0

I was quite surprised by this game. I was actively avoiding it because of the hype, but the group wanted to play so I relented. It's fine. I think the monsters might be unbalanced though, maybe they are not, I would not mind additional plays to explore that.

4/1/2020

The hype for this game is real. Amazing components, amazing gameplay. One of the best in my collection.

4/1/2020

Really liked the strategic choices of this one. I lost miserably on my first play, but that didn't stop me from having fun. Next time: take more quests!

3/24/2020

Thinking about it. Played just once and really enjoyed that game, so would like to play again. Still rather expensive, so will not buy anytime soon unless I find a good deal (or 2nd hand).

3/18/2020

Kickstarter edition

3/9/2020

2-5

3/7/2020

The minis are great. The game play is great. I love the theme (big Viking fan). This is one I'd play at anytime and never regret that I played it instead of something else.

3/5/2020

Finally got this during the digital edition KS! Very happy to have it.

3/2/2020

Wow, not over-hyped at all. Simply fantastic. Drafting! Minis! Always a surprise right around the corner when we play.

2/3/2020

No Review Description

2/3/2020

This is a fantastic game. I love that its not solely based off of confrontation. I like that is comes down to victory points and their are different paths to victory. The miniatures in this game are amazing! and they would be awesome to paint. I also enjoy the card combat and that you can buy different gods based on your needs. fantastically done game!

1/31/2020

Got the kickstarter edition from a very generous friend and so now ALL the goodies can come to the table. Well preserved in taylor cut foam. Thanks Baumi!

1/31/2020

It's a lot of fun, and it's fluid and fast-moving. I have concerns about the cards, though. In principle, yes, drafting should take care of concerns about card balance--but I'm not sure there's much room for hate-drafting in this game. In a game like Fairy Tale, where you will only play 60% of your cards, you could easily hate-draft. But in Blood Rage, you can easily play all of your cards each era, which encourages everyone just maximizing your own strategy's score. If that's true, then I worry that some strategies are vastly superior to others--compare the points for dead dudes vs. ship upgrades, for example. But it's still very fun and it seems to win friends wherever it goes. [EDIT] Further evidence seems to be allaying my fears. This sucker appears to have legs.

1/26/2020

3-5 Best with 4/5

1/26/2020

[b][size=12][BGCOLOR=#C0C0C0]Sleeved[/BGCOLOR][/size][/b] [COLOR=#FFFFFF][b][size=12][BGCOLOR=#FF0000]Have Game Want Accessories[/BGCOLOR][/size][/b][/color] [COLOR=#ffffff][b][size=12][BGCOLOR=#000000]Want 3D Player Board Overlay[/BGCOLOR][/size][/b][/color] includes Broken Token Insert sleeved

1/25/2020

2-4p

1/24/2020

Definitely worth late backing. It's an intriguing euro that has been deceptively deep fried and smothered in tasty theme.

1/24/2020

Enjoy the combination of 'action points' (i.e.,rage) along with the card drafting mechanism that is similar to 7 Wonders.

1/7/2020

I love this game. Not necessarily one that gets to the table very often but it has beautiful production quality. I was lucky enough to run into Eric Lang at an unpub convention and got him to sign/doodle on my box cover for this game. I wish I had been into the hobby with this kickstarted but... all I can do is look forward to the future (a.k.a Rising Sun's KS campaign ha!). This game features a variety of cool mechanisms that work quite nicely together. Card drafting was the thing that initially peaked my interest. The cards range from upgrades for your various engine components (military, ship, etc.), combat points and abilities, and secret objective cards that score you points for a variety of things (e.g. area control, dying in battle, etc.). Love this one!

1/4/2020

A classic. Will prob bump this up to a 9.5 or 10 after a 3-4 player game. And yeah, those minis are as nice as everyone says. Damn.

12/31/2019

Wow, that was a lot of fun! I'd happily play again. A great theme and wonderfully executed. The plastic figures really elevate this game.

12/24/2019

Best: 4 Time: 60-90 Min Weight: 2.88

12/20/2019

This has a lot of ways to win, you can’t just win all the conquests, there is a lot of cards that give you strange bonuses, for destroying ships or warriors. August 2019 $50.99

12/14/2019

The quests are particularly un-fun and somewhat break the game. Winning the game can be just as unsatisfying as losing. A lot of big awesome minis pasted on top of a pretty average card drafting game.

12/5/2019

boardlandia

11/12/2019

Such a great game. Each time I play I enjoy the game more. So much strategy but you almost need to prepare a strategy at the beginning and hope nobody else does. I really enjoy this game!

11/3/2019

I've had more fun with this game than any I game of the last five years. We are having a blast exploring the strategies and I have a funny feeling this rating has no place to go but up.

10/21/2019

#4

10/17/2019

A great area control game that keeps it replayability through the draft at the start of each age. The game is deep while also being simple enough that new players can pick it up quickly.

6/19/2019

7.Initial rating after first play. Light, fun tactical scrum with players utilising card abilities to complete quests, introduce monsters, buff their troops or just mess with everyone. Played well in our 3 player game. Reviews suggested it plays ok with 2 and it does ! Yay - might be able to convince the wife to like area control games yet.... Ok - the more i play this, the more appreciative of the card draft design behind this area control game. After several games, there are quite a few rules that could do with a FAQ. 4 players seems to be the sweet spot. Now with werewolf.

4/12/2019

As a result of one play, strategy based on Loki cards looks like the easiest one to execute. Other players need to be aware of this strategy and actively deny "Loki player" cards he needs, otherwise it's really easy to get lots of points from "Get glory when you return warriors from Valhalla" and "Have at least 4 warriors in Valhalla" cards

3/12/2019

Valhalla!!! One of the best, most concise designs ever.

3/6/2019

Man, the gameplay here is amazing. I'm rather disappointed by the completely juvenile theme.

2/16/2019

This is one of those games that completely turn me off. I played it once and I was ok with it, but then I played again and I made a misplay in the first age, I was thrust into last place because of that with no way to do anything to recover. The rage mechanic also(plus the fact people can steal rage) completely kills the game for me. It's supposed to be a constraint but it feels more like I'm getting locked into choices because of what can happen in any given age. If you are new to this game it can be a miserable experience as anyone with experience has somewhat of a clue what to do and you might not notice how badly they are messing your plan up. In my first game I completely messed up a guys plan by not taking an action which cost him the game(he played optimally otherwise) but since I didn't fight he could not fight and his game was set back big time. It honestly feels worse than monopoly to me and that is my most hated game. When you play with 4-5 people the game gets rather long and it makes me want to just play shorter games with similar player numbers. I would much rather play games like Bunny Kingdom, Ethnos or 7 wonders which are similar

1/23/2019

Wasn't impressed with the game.

1/22/2019

Area control game with beautiful art and miniatures. Plays a bit like [i]Chaos in the old World[/i], but is quicker.

1/22/2019

Dagfinn has this. Best when played with gamers.

1/17/2019

A much better game than I originally thought. Very well balanced despite the previous blow-outs.

1/15/2019

Blood Rage addresses essentially every complaint I have with combat heavy games (peaceful observer strategies, swingy dice combat resolution, player elimination, bash the leader, etc), and it does so without opening other holes for players to exploit. Each decision is multifaceted and gives players enough to chew on to stay engaged and focused, but without slowing the game. The constant cage match-style battling leads to some very memorable moments, and the game has an epic air from start to finish. The fluidity of the board-state, and various victory paths facilitate flexible play from round to round, which is quite unique considering the genre, but I still have concerns regarding long-term replayability.

1/11/2019

y

1/9/2019

(3/17) 9. Really cool, cramped area control game with a very cool, "diversifying" card draft at the beginning of each round and plenty of unavoidable, yet not overly punishing combat. I love how this game encourages interaction immediately. And those interactions are easily determined. No convoluted battle mechanics or anything. Plus, it's undeniable, the minis are just cool. (10/17) Drop to 8. Still think this game is absolutely fantastic, just don't feel myself being super eager to play it again. That said, I would never, ever refuse a game.

12/22/2018

In Germany

12/22/2018