The Great Zimbabwe

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (27 Total)

4
12
9
2
0

This one was fine, but it was almost too disconnected from the theme for me to enjoy it as much as some of the other Splotter games. I'd like to play it again or even more than once. But I'm just not sure it's the kind of game I'll seek out, which is how I am with most splotter stuff I've played.

4/1/2020

It's really well-done, as one would expect from a Splotter game, but man I'm so done counting squares for distance. I'm done with it in skirmish games, and I'm definitely done with it in supply checks.

1/26/2020

My first Splotter. Definitely a luxury purchase but I will cherish it for a very long time. It's one of the few games that has emergent gameplay. There's so much discovery to be had and each play is so vastly different and dynamic depending on who you're playing with and how the board takes shape. I still must say that even though this is only 2 guys and they're not affiliated with a mega publisher who can over produce a game, it's still a little disappointing when you look at the game with it's plain wooden bits and colors. Thankfully, the gameplay is absolutely incredible! I will definitely be looking to play/own more Splotters!

1/25/2020

After ten plays in 4 months, I'm increasing my rating of this game from a 9 to a 10. This game is absolutely phenomenal. Every time I play, I follow a very different strategy, and so far, I've found many different paths that could easily lead to victory if applied right. Much like all Splotter games, the ruleset is so simple, and yet there is depth beyond belief. It's basically a notch or two away from Go in terms of simplicity vs depth. One caveat I will mention is that I think the game is at its absolute best at 3-4 players. Two is a bit too zero-sum for my tastes, and five gets a little unpredictable. That said, I would still gladly play at any player count. If I had to put them in order of preference, I think it would be 3 > 4 > 2 > 5.

1/24/2020

Man, this game melts my brain in a good way. The spatial element makes this really tough for me to wrap my head around. I can definitely see how this game influenced Food Chain Magnate. Love how tight the map is for two players, but I would love to play with 3+ to see how that changes the pricing/commodities of the craftsmen.

12/12/2019

PnP

11/11/2019

Sleeved

3/1/2019

Splotter's kind of weird version of a Winsome (I mean, not really, but still). It's primarily about managing the auction supported by proper investing and smart route building.

1/23/2019

loved it the first time, liked it the second. i need to get it out again soon!

1/11/2019

(10/17) 9. The second Splotter I've played and my favorite. The rules are straightforward and simple but the strategy is deep. I love the "game breaking" powers as well as the way the more powerful a power you select is, the more points you (and just you) are now required to score in order to win. My #8 favorite game of all time.

12/22/2018