Bohnanza

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (185 Total)

5
44
118
13
2

With Bohnaparte, High Bohn

4/1/2020

Fun as long as players don't take too long to conduct trades.

4/1/2020

Good game. Silly theme. Works well with newbies. It's a little hard to explain sometimes, people's eyes glaze over, but when they actually play it, they typically find it's not that bad.

4/1/2020

Have just played two games which were all right, would play again but would probably not propose this game as it takes rather long for what it is.

3/18/2020

by Rudi

previously a 7.5... but this filler gets so much regular play-time and is easy to teach with something in it for the experienced gamer as well

3/9/2020

still need to get my head around this.. more play is needed for me.

3/4/2020

by paka

Nice set-collection game with trading thrown in. I'm not so good at trading tho. Needs more players but tends to drag then.

2/25/2020

A solid mechanics-light game that takes a little longer than expected, but has a built-in acceleration.

1/28/2020

Didn't do it for me. Too constrained and stilted; maybe I'm just reacting viscerally to the strange hand mechanic.

1/26/2020

Was too much for the family to grasp mainly the not organizing the hand but interesting trading game.

1/25/2020

[color=#CC0000] Still early for me on this one -- three games in. But I've enjoyed all three immensely. [/color]

1/25/2020

I have fond memories of this but idk if I'd still like it.

1/25/2020

I found this very meh overall. It does interesting things, but it doesn't do them half as well as a lot of other games I own. I can understand the appeal for others, but for me this is a mediocre game. Not bad, but also not good enough to compete for table time against almost all of the other games sitting on the shelf.

1/24/2020

Very clever game that really illustrates the negotiation mechanic. I hadn't played my copy for 3 years though so I passed it along as a gift.

1/13/2020

I just can't seem to get this to the table. It must be the hand-play mechanic (not being able to change the order of your cards). I don't know what it is about this... I hear all about how this is a fine game with wonderfully designed mechanics, but it loses me. I'll keep trying though... I don't give up easily. Update: Spent some time playing this online and found it enjoyable.

1/10/2020

Played a friend's copy and we got into an all-out trading frenzy that was a ton of fun with lots of player interaction but little confrontation. I also really enjoy begging for stink beans hahaha!

1/4/2020

Made by the rule about not rearranging cards in hand. Still has decisions about when to harvest and how much to trade. Modifications for player number are likely essential, but it makes set-up and (to a small extent) play more complicated that would be preferred.

1/3/2020

Still the best Uwe game. Beans is a classic. I've still never played this at 2 or 3p, but it works at the rest and that's good enough.

1/3/2020

Bohnanza has received dozens of plays. However, at this point I am somewhat burnt out on it.

12/24/2019

Enjoyable game, but not my favorite Uwe. It's great for a lighter game when you don't want to think but still don't want to play a party game. 2019 update: This is a great game. Approachable for everyone and once you get into trading and negotiation it's really, really fun.

12/12/2019

This is not a family game. This is a shrewd and cutthroat negotiation.

12/3/2019

I bought because I thought my wife would like it - she loves it. -------- Played it tonight with my non gamer extended family. It has been tough to excite them about many games, but Bohnanza went down SO WELL. They were laughing, cutting up, making deals. It seems like it should be a hard game to learn but they picked it up SO easily and were having a great time. I highly highly highly recommend this game. Going to rate it higher now, and look forward to playing it again. 27-3-16

11/14/2019

Just a smidge too long. That third round is short, but I'm ready to be done after two runs through the deck.

11/13/2019

Fun, lighthearted game. Nice, funny artwork. Getting first timers to keep their hand in order is always a challenge.

10/25/2019

Enjoy this game a lot & the interaction with other players. My wife & mother-in-law love this game. My wife and I have played the 2 player version and it is just OK.

10/18/2019

Wheel n' and deal n'. Quick paced and fun.

6/26/2019

A nice, fairly light negotiation game that is good for larger groups since the negotiation reduces downtime. Easy to introduce to new players though sometimes the trading can get stale "uh...I don't want this...will you take it? Cool...your turn." But overall, it does what it does quite well. this is also a bit better with 4+ players too--with 3 there doesn't seem to be enough competition sometimes to make the trades interesting.

6/26/2019

7.1 / 2-7p Best 5 / 45m / 1.68

6/15/2019

very very funny, as are the players for more fun......

5/15/2019

A spectacular trading/party game. Tons of fun

5/15/2019

FULLY SLEEVED 161 x Mayday sleeve size: Standard USA Card - Purple: Standard (MDG-7040, 100/pack)

5/15/2019

A really fun game about trading and set collection. Needs The right group that will trade with equal aggression. The coins, discard, and draw pile can get confusing (all look the same).

5/14/2019

Inoffensive. The hand management seems a bit infuriating but not particularly difficult, if players make mutually beneficial moves.

3/5/2019

Way too long for what it is. I don't really like the trading in this game.

2/16/2019

"Sure, why not?" is my response to playing this game

2/12/2019

I traded away the Fan Edition, which I didn't play because the art obscured/omitted too much important information.

1/29/2019

2-7, 45m

1/25/2019

Really fun trading/negotiation game that actually gets people talking. Light enough to play with non-gamers, and it feels social without being a party game. Deserves its status as a classic.

1/23/2019

Felt too slow both in terms of game length and time between turns.

1/23/2019

Planting, growing and selling beans, with trading and negotiation at the core; not great for three players, probably best with 5 or more. My review of Bohnanza can be found here: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/3174827

1/22/2019

by klz

A really good game that needs people willing to play. It works as a great gateway game if everyone is willing to listen to the rules about hand management.

1/22/2019

fun trading game if you play with the right people.

1/22/2019

A solid family game that is fairly easy to learn and scales well to different number of players. A lot of player interaction here, maybe too much, as your ability to trade is the primary determinant of success, but enjoyable nonetheless.

1/21/2019

I suppose this is a pretty good game - I just don't like auctions and beans all that much.

1/21/2019

2007-11-08 - Bought 2009-12-18 - Gave as a holiday present to my little cousins. 2017-09-16 - Bought starlitcitadel

1/21/2019

Beans should not be this fun. They're beans. And yet, we have Bohnanza: a wildly fun bean trading and planting game from the same guy that would go on to make Agricola. Something we play frequently and something non-gamers pick up quickly and truly enjoy.

1/15/2019

Fun pretty simple, set collecting game. Easy to teach.

1/10/2019

Great game, easy to learn and there is some strategy to the game and the cards are funny and keep the game light.

1/9/2019

(7/16) 8. A fantastic, simple, classic game. Tight and quick yet fits in room for some great negotiation. (9/17) Drop to 7. So much game in such a tiny set of cards. Should play this more.

12/22/2018