Hannibal: Rome vs. Carthage

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (17 Total)

0
13
3
0
1

Alright, the time period fascinates me. So the theme hits hard. Plus the gameplay of this one is really good. It's a little hard figuring out the rules if you're not taught and have never played before. But once you muddle through it, there's a gem in here. After only one play, I find myself drawn and wanting to play it more. I just can't find the time.

4/1/2020

My second experience with the card-driven, point-to-point wargame format after Paths of Glory, Hannibal rocked my house and still does.

2/28/2020

by paka

Finished before the actual end, but the meat of the game and the flow was really good. First play took a lot of extra time and in the end, missing some rules or the correct way to interpret them didn't let us finish, but like it mucho. Now, need someone to play with again

2/25/2020

Really, really good--but the cardplay leaves too few decisions, as PC markers become crowded early and movement of generals becomes rather evident. I prefer Twilight Struggle as a CDW. Great sweep of history evident in the game, though.

1/26/2020

A deep game... subtle in it's complexity. So many things to do, and trade-offs all over the place.

1/10/2020

I'm fond of the combat system, although I can understand why some wargamers aren't. Card driven war games are my favorites!

1/4/2020

Gorgeous map, great bits. The game itself is also well designed, with only a few rules quibbles here and there (mainly to do with sieges). Well worth the time investment both for the grognard and the casual gamer.

8/31/2019

 Old school classic wargame that definitely lives up to the hype with its nice balance between fighting, and a political control tug of war.  Just a lot of fun to look at the board and figure out what you could do in different areas and then see how to best use your hand to do that.

6/26/2019

Not a bad game at all but likely won't play it. I only played a partial game of this (i.e. 1 turn) but it didn't do it for me. Beautiful and gorgeous components. Nice board but this is not the type of game I enjoy though I would much prefer playing this over Descent.

1/23/2019