Race for the Galaxy

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (245 Total)

28
120
77
12
3

Haven't Played Yet.

4/15/2020

Available on Steam - don't own but would consider it! Also here online but it's "premium" https://boardgamearena.com/gamepanel?game=raceforthegalaxy

4/2/2020

If you've played San Juan (a good game), then this is one with similar mechanics, but with more cards, more mechanics, and a more exciting theme. What's not to like?The first few plays were frustrating, as I was learning the game and all its iconography. It's not as much fun when you feel rushed by those who choose their roles in two seconds every turn. Much more fun when some thought is put into it, and a few minutes are spent at the end reflecting on your galactic civilization. I have to give mention to the excellent artwork on every single card in this game. Very impressed!

4/1/2020

2-4 players, 30-45 minutes, medium heavy, deck buildingI love this game, especially with two players this is a fast deck building race game. No game is the same with different starting planets and so many cards that come along during the game. Most logged games are online (BGA), but this has also become one of the main fillers in our gaming group, especially for two of us, where we usually throw in one of the expansions.Trying to get my son (10) into playing this one as well

3/18/2020

Absolutely fantastic game which I cannot get enough of. Love trying different strategies, even the "under-powered" ones. Expansions should give this a very long life.

3/9/2020

This is one of those games that is incredibly difficult to get your head around at first.. but is actually pretty strait forward.I hated it the first few times I played it, but I have to say it's grown on me..

3/4/2020

Getting back into this after some tutelage from experienced players. I'm going to teach it to bar night boys.[09-15-14] Weston really hated it! I'm still having trouble getting my head that.

2/28/2020

by paka

That MtG bug just made me buy it. Sadly wife doesn't want to learn it while likeing San Juan. Missing quite a few plays before started recording

2/25/2020

I really like this game. I taught my wife and now that she's over the learning curve she likes it a lot as well.Sometimes I wish it wasn't a race because I just want to keep building but I know there are other space empire games out there to scratch that itch.I love the stories that the artwork conveys.

2/24/2020

Never gets old...too bad it's hard for new players to get into quickly due to all of the symbols.

2/15/2020

Whenever I play I forget that it has ZERO player interaction.

2/13/2020

Best deck building game I've ever seen.

1/28/2020

Have played about 300 times, it is my girfriend and my favorite game to play together. The fact that it's a 20 minute game is also a very nice bonus. It took me a while to see that there are player interactions and it's not just multiplayer solitaire, but I learned more as I played.

1/27/2020

Love this game. Look forward to adding expansions, but no real hurry as I'm still discovering new routes to victory (and defeat).

1/26/2020

Much better than San Juan, and awfully pretty. Less complicated than it seems, too. It's incredibly fast, even with new players, and it's exceptionally fun. A real triumph.

1/26/2020

Expansions: - The Gathering Storm - Rebel vs Imperium

1/25/2020

Secret Santa Present 2013 Haven't played it in person yet, but I downloaded the computer version and love playing that. I'm really looking forward to getting this on the table. Update Played it a whole bunch at MAGFest 2014 and I absolutely love it. I understand the multiplayer solitaire issue, but if you put effort into trying to figure out what the other players are doing it becomes a little more interactive.

1/25/2020

Yes, it's complicated. Yes, the iconography is insane. But this game plays fast and offers tons of depth and replay value.

1/25/2020

1 x

1/25/2020

It looks daunting, and the instructions aren't the most well-written ones I've seen. But once you figure this game out, it's fairly straight-forward, and a lot of fun! Also, despite being straight-forward, it's still open for a ton of strategy. Just the starting worlds lead me to using different tactics every time I play. Very happy with this purchase.

1/24/2020

This is a game that always feels interesting and new.

1/11/2020

I'm drawn to this again and again, yet don't fully appreciate the game. Have only played it solitaire, and that may indeed be a factor. The robot in the expansion is formidable, having won roughly 80%-90% of all games played... so it does appear to be quite the challenge to defeat. I'm experimenting with several other solo options for this game -- those posted here on BGG are very good. They're more fun than the clobbering I endure at the hand of the robot, that's for sure. ;) UPDATE: I consider myself very well experienced with this title at this point, and it's one of the finer titles in my collection. It's full of interesting decisions that matter, a short playing time, and the desire to say, "Let's do that again!"

1/10/2020

It feels so dry to me, that it bores me to death.

1/4/2020

I got a very short explanation and was thrown in at the deep end. Having no real idea what each card did or what I was trying to achieve left me last and confused. I still did okay score wise I suppose but the frustration of not having a clue what was going on does not encourage me to play again. I will play if I get to read through the rules first. Playing again does lead to a better understanding of what is going on. 2010-10 I've been playing against the Keldon AI and now seem to get what's going on, even beating the AI on occasion. Probably won't want to play a lot with the actual set though as it will now seem slow. 2011-03 Playing with the actual cards etc isn't as slow as I'd feared. Still quite willing to play.

1/3/2020

After seeing endless praise for the game I picked up the digital version and forced myself to sit down and learn to play. It didn't take long to understand the iconography that so frequently worries people initially, and after a handful of plays the strategies began to click. I'm not sure if I could ever play the physical version of this game as having the digital version handle the shuffling and dealing makes life exponentially easier, and I'm able to play through a game in about 5-10 or so minutes which allows for quick and continuous play if desired. I've put 50+ plays across android and iOS and have won about 50% of my 1v1. I continue to enjoy the challenge the game provides and look forward to continuing to better my understand of the cards and strategies available through subsequent plays.

12/15/2019

I probably don’t play this one nearly enough. Nice mechanics, simultaneous actions. It’s pretty quick games so that is nice. However it’s a pretty intense game for a card game. The learning curve is steep. Took me several to figure it out. Once I did I loved it. August 2017 $30

12/14/2019

One of my favorite games for sure. I would never turn down a play of this. Great at all player counts.

12/12/2019

Quick, fun, and strategic. Wish there was a little more player interaction. Very difficult to explain to new players.

12/5/2019

Since I use this as a gateway game for different card games like dominion, netrunner, magic. I like to think of it as the much better, less luck driven version of President or Kalashnikov. However if you're going up against veterans of this game you will lose, and without some expansions, this game might get too bland for some fast.

11/15/2019

Love the app! Send me a match invite! Friend Code: DFFHGM77

11/13/2019

I think that Race for the Galaxy is a hallmark of game design. It is incredible the game space created by a hundred cards. It is not a simple game and it may be frustrating for new players, but I still haven't played a game with a higher density of interesting decisions per minute. And it plays fantastically well with two players. What a game!

10/25/2019

An excellent, fun card game with a great theme. Brilliant mechanic (even if it's not original) of using the cards for multiple things. The game is not easy for new people to pick up, but once you get the hang of it, it's a great game that requires both strategy and tactics. The game has both an economic engine buildup (play becomes bigger and more interesting as the game progresses) and multiple race aspects (players are racing to end the game and pick up points). The best part is that a game can be completed in under 30 minutes. A big winner.

10/25/2019

A whole lot of depth, various paths to victory, great components and art. Would love to get in more plays of this!

10/23/2019

A whole lot of depth, various paths to victory, great components and art. Would love to get in more plays of this!

10/23/2019

Extreme steep learning curve, but has potential to develop many tactics when we got familiar with the game. Really love to play more.

10/18/2019

The difficulty with the symbols is over rated. This is my favorite game to play two player. The multi-use cards provide a engaging puzzle each time. The subtle player interaction is something I love. The whole thing is so tight and delicious. I would downgrade it one star if you agree playing with 3 or 4.

10/12/2019

7.8 / 2-4p Best 2,4 / 30-60m / 2007 / Overall 47 / Strategy 39 / 2.97 (Reddit highly recommends, need expansions, Engine Building, MHGG play with exp Brink of War, Best 2 or 4)

6/15/2019

FULLY SLEEVED Sleeved: 150 x Perfect Size (100/pack) - (64 x 89mm)

5/15/2019

Took me a while to understand both the rules and strategies of the this game, which if i had rated it then, it would have been a mistake. Having over 100 matches on boardgamearena i have to say its grown on me. There is lots of replayability, its easy to setup and quick to play. Considering the expansions now.... The main downside to this game, is the time it takes to teach it to others due to the iconography. Would suggest that gathering storm is the only expansion worth getting if you want solo play.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/race-for-the-galaxy-2007/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/roll-for-the-galaxy-2007-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Played it several times, didn't enjoy it at all. Aside from the fact you might as well be playing solitaire; you're lost of you aren't familiar with all the cards, even if you aren't up against experienced players.

3/16/2019

Awesome game

3/12/2019

Really fun game once you understand what you're in for, the lack of real gripping theme is kind of a bummer, but I quickly overlooked that once I played it multiple times

3/6/2019

[b] :STAR: COMPLETE RATING: [/b] [c] [b]SCORE CRITERIA WEIGHTING ------- STAR RATING SCALE -------[/b] (9.0) FUN (x15): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: REALLY FUN (9.0) GAMEPLAY (x5): NO DEPTH :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: LOT OF DEPTH (FOR THE WEIGHT) (8.0) GAME FLOW (x5): FIDDLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: SILKY SMOOTH (9.0) DOWNTIMES (x2): LOT OF :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: ZERO (6.0) RANDOMNESS (x2): PURE LUCK :star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: PURE SKILLS (8.0) MECHANICS (x2): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: INTERESTING / INNOVATIVE (9.0) REPLAYABILITY (x5): ZERO :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: INFINITE (8.0) SCALABILITY (x3): POOR :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: GREAT AT ALL PLAYER COUNTS (10.0) PORTABILITY (x1): BULKY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: SUPER EASY TO PLAY ANYWHERE (8.0) THEME (x1): UNATTRACTIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ATTRACTIVE (7.0) AESTHETICS (x1): UGLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: GORGEOUS (8.0) COMPONENTS (x1): LOW QUALITY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: HIGH QUALITY (10.0) VALUE (x2): TOO EXPENSIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: REALLY CHEAP(LOW COST FOR WHAT WE GET) (8.0) SETUP TIME (x2): LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ZERO (8.0) GAME LENGTH (x2): TOO SHORT/LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: JUST PERFECT (7.0) RULES COMPLEXITY (x1): COMPLEX :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: SIMPLE [/c] [b]TOTAL = 427.0/50 =8.54[/b] :thumbsup: [b]POSITIVE POINTS:[/b] ++ Plays amazing at 2 players. ++ Easy to set up and play just about anywhere. ++ Minimal downtime w/simultaneous turns. :thumbsdown: [b]NEGATIVE POINTS:[/b] -- It can be a bear to teach purely because of all the different symbols, but once you know them they are fairly intuitive. -- Randomness can be an issue, especially for new players.

3/1/2019

Fast and furious. Excellent game

2/21/2019

Elegant and simple to play (although hard to learn and harder to master). Great game.

2/16/2019

I keep wanting to like this game more every time I play it. I think being able to see who is going to win long before it happens diminishes my enjoyment.

2/12/2019

2-4, 30m

1/25/2019

Even though San Juan is the game I use to introduce concepts of role selection and multi-use cards, this is a far superior game. Much has been said of the learning curve, and it is a multi-step process, to be sure. Teaching the game is a bear; expect an hour of open-handed discussion before you can even play a proper "learning" game. It will take two or three games for an engaged player to pick up the iconography and game flow, and then another 5+ games to start to understand how the basic strategies snap together. The time investment yields incredible returns, though. The game is excellent at all player counts, games are 20 minutes long with experienced players, and it has eternal replayability.

1/23/2019

Building and expanding a galactic empire; variety of ways to gain points but the game plays quickly; sometimes random, but with experience the randomness is mediated. Best without any expansions. Replaced San Juan and Puerto Rico.

1/22/2019

Got this in a trade and was iffy about it, but I think it has really cool cost/benefit trade offs that you have to make while deciding what to play.

1/22/2019

+ This game offers awesome depth vs simplicity of the rules and relatively short duration. + Great at two players. o Don't let the iconography scare you - it is not that hard and even novice players can learn. - Requires quite a few games to learn and discover strategies, which may seem daunting at first, but then the game has excellent replayability.

1/21/2019

Yowzas! I like it very much. Sure it is kind of akin to multiplayer solitaire but I like Princes of Florence and this kind of game is up my alley. A steep learning curve for sure but the 30 minute gameplay more than compensates for that. Very easy to play and some nice card combinations. Much better than my single play of San Juan to which this is readily compared. 2009-02-22 - Bought from Trilogy Games 2010-10-16 - Sold at Fallcon 23 2013-06-08 - Bought 2015-03-15 - Sold

1/21/2019

Only played three games thus far, but incredibly intriguing and packed with a surprising amount of depth.

1/19/2019

Being a Puerto Rico admirer I enjoy how Race ported the phase/role selection mechanism. It inserts a level of deduction into the game, but I unfortunately find myself simply selecting phases based on which privilege is the most beneficial, rather than trying to piggyback off of my opponents, making the game a bit too straightforward for my tastes. Its also too brief, preventing players from becoming invested in the world's and developments they are using to build out their tableaus.

1/11/2019

In Germany

12/22/2018