Race for the Galaxy

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (105 Total)

8
52
36
4
2

Extreme steep learning curve, but has potential to develop many tactics when we got familiar with the game. Really love to play more.

10/18/2019

The difficulty with the symbols is over rated. This is my favorite game to play two player. The multi-use cards provide a engaging puzzle each time. The subtle player interaction is something I love. The whole thing is so tight and delicious. I would downgrade it one star if you agree playing with 3 or 4.

10/12/2019

7.8 / 2-4p Best 2,4 / 30-60m / 2007 / Overall 47 / Strategy 39 / 2.97 (Reddit highly recommends, need expansions, Engine Building, MHGG play with exp Brink of War, Best 2 or 4)

6/15/2019

FULLY SLEEVED Sleeved: 150 x Perfect Size (100/pack) - (64 x 89mm)

5/15/2019

Took me a while to understand both the rules and strategies of the this game, which if i had rated it then, it would have been a mistake. Having over 100 matches on boardgamearena i have to say its grown on me. There is lots of replayability, its easy to setup and quick to play. Considering the expansions now.... The main downside to this game, is the time it takes to teach it to others due to the iconography. Would suggest that gathering storm is the only expansion worth getting if you want solo play.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/race-for-the-galaxy-2007/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/roll-for-the-galaxy-2007-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Played it several times, didn't enjoy it at all. Aside from the fact you might as well be playing solitaire; you're lost of you aren't familiar with all the cards, even if you aren't up against experienced players.

3/16/2019

Awesome game

3/12/2019

Really fun game once you understand what you're in for, the lack of real gripping theme is kind of a bummer, but I quickly overlooked that once I played it multiple times

3/6/2019

[b] :STAR: COMPLETE RATING: [/b] [c] [b]SCORE CRITERIA WEIGHTING ------- STAR RATING SCALE -------[/b] (9.0) FUN (x15): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: REALLY FUN (9.0) GAMEPLAY (x5): NO DEPTH :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: LOT OF DEPTH (FOR THE WEIGHT) (8.0) GAME FLOW (x5): FIDDLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: SILKY SMOOTH (9.0) DOWNTIMES (x2): LOT OF :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: ZERO (6.0) RANDOMNESS (x2): PURE LUCK :star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: PURE SKILLS (8.0) MECHANICS (x2): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: INTERESTING / INNOVATIVE (9.0) REPLAYABILITY (x5): ZERO :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: INFINITE (8.0) SCALABILITY (x3): POOR :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: GREAT AT ALL PLAYER COUNTS (10.0) PORTABILITY (x1): BULKY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: SUPER EASY TO PLAY ANYWHERE (8.0) THEME (x1): UNATTRACTIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ATTRACTIVE (7.0) AESTHETICS (x1): UGLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: GORGEOUS (8.0) COMPONENTS (x1): LOW QUALITY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: HIGH QUALITY (10.0) VALUE (x2): TOO EXPENSIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: REALLY CHEAP(LOW COST FOR WHAT WE GET) (8.0) SETUP TIME (x2): LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ZERO (8.0) GAME LENGTH (x2): TOO SHORT/LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: JUST PERFECT (7.0) RULES COMPLEXITY (x1): COMPLEX :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: SIMPLE [/c] [b]TOTAL = 427.0/50 =8.54[/b] :thumbsup: [b]POSITIVE POINTS:[/b] ++ Plays amazing at 2 players. ++ Easy to set up and play just about anywhere. ++ Minimal downtime w/simultaneous turns. :thumbsdown: [b]NEGATIVE POINTS:[/b] -- It can be a bear to teach purely because of all the different symbols, but once you know them they are fairly intuitive. -- Randomness can be an issue, especially for new players.

3/1/2019

Fast and furious. Excellent game

2/21/2019

Elegant and simple to play (although hard to learn and harder to master). Great game.

2/16/2019

I keep wanting to like this game more every time I play it. I think being able to see who is going to win long before it happens diminishes my enjoyment.

2/12/2019

2-4, 30m

1/25/2019

Even though San Juan is the game I use to introduce concepts of role selection and multi-use cards, this is a far superior game. Much has been said of the learning curve, and it is a multi-step process, to be sure. Teaching the game is a bear; expect an hour of open-handed discussion before you can even play a proper "learning" game. It will take two or three games for an engaged player to pick up the iconography and game flow, and then another 5+ games to start to understand how the basic strategies snap together. The time investment yields incredible returns, though. The game is excellent at all player counts, games are 20 minutes long with experienced players, and it has eternal replayability.

1/23/2019

Building and expanding a galactic empire; variety of ways to gain points but the game plays quickly; sometimes random, but with experience the randomness is mediated. Best without any expansions. Replaced San Juan and Puerto Rico.

1/22/2019

Got this in a trade and was iffy about it, but I think it has really cool cost/benefit trade offs that you have to make while deciding what to play.

1/22/2019

+ This game offers awesome depth vs simplicity of the rules and relatively short duration. + Great at two players. o Don't let the iconography scare you - it is not that hard and even novice players can learn. - Requires quite a few games to learn and discover strategies, which may seem daunting at first, but then the game has excellent replayability.

1/21/2019

Yowzas! I like it very much. Sure it is kind of akin to multiplayer solitaire but I like Princes of Florence and this kind of game is up my alley. A steep learning curve for sure but the 30 minute gameplay more than compensates for that. Very easy to play and some nice card combinations. Much better than my single play of San Juan to which this is readily compared. 2009-02-22 - Bought from Trilogy Games 2010-10-16 - Sold at Fallcon 23 2013-06-08 - Bought 2015-03-15 - Sold

1/21/2019

Only played three games thus far, but incredibly intriguing and packed with a surprising amount of depth.

1/19/2019

Being a Puerto Rico admirer I enjoy how Race ported the phase/role selection mechanism. It inserts a level of deduction into the game, but I unfortunately find myself simply selecting phases based on which privilege is the most beneficial, rather than trying to piggyback off of my opponents, making the game a bit too straightforward for my tastes. Its also too brief, preventing players from becoming invested in the world's and developments they are using to build out their tableaus.

1/11/2019

In Germany

12/22/2018