Century: Spice Road

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (36 Total)

0
17
16
3
0

A nice, fu...

by thomasjbradley

A nice, fun, simple game with enough challenges to keep us engaged. The illustrations on the cards are absolutely stunning & the included bowls and metal coins are a nice addition.

2/14/2019

2-5, 45m

by snurp

2-5, 45m

1/25/2019

This game ...

by Brent

This game is not as good as Splendor. Splendor is strategic engine-building stripped down to it's mechanical core. Abstract and quick and a neat little puzzle. Since the score cards and the action cards in Century: Spice Road are separate, there is a much more tactical nature to this game than there is to Splendor. You really can't plan too far ahead, you can just kind of try to prepare for what cards [i]might[/i] come out. Normally I don't use "tactical" negatively. Generally a tactical game implies that there is a constantly-changing game state that requires a shift of direction, and some of my very favorite games are quite tactical (Indonesia, El Grande, Chicago Express, Imperial), but in an abstract engine-builder without any player interaction, it's a detriment. The prospect of a modular game system that can offer 7 different games is a neat little marketing gimmick, but for $120, I'd rather buy a single game with some teeth rather than a series of rinky-dink games that you probably won't really combine all that often.

1/23/2019

Dull theme...

by lego pirate

Dull theme, dull colours and won by whoever gets the best cube cards early on..

1/23/2019

I was surp...

by Ethereal87

I was surprised at how much we bring this game out for how simple it is. We're interested in the next Century game and how the two will interact as well. We tried one five player game and that didn't go over as nicely, but it's perfect for 2-3 players.

1/23/2019

[Pending ...

by LuisGomez

[Pending to sleeve]

1/18/2019

Will get t...

by Zenly

Will get two expansions but theme is boring and splendor is perhaps better.

1/10/2019

(11/17) 7....

by markbesada

(11/17) 7. A solid game in the "Splendor" style with a handful of resources that can be upgraded and turned in for cards. I don't think it's quite a Splendor killer, but I think I'd prefer to play it over Splendor, at least for now. The Golem edition is probably my preferred one, though I don't understand the need for two editions with completely different art styles.

12/22/2018

It's prett...

by Tangram11

It's pretty and it's fast, but it is also cold and dry, and the theme is as pasted on as Splendor. In fact this just feels like Splendor, but without the nice poker tokens. If you love Splendor you will probably love this because it is more of the same. Personally, I think Splendor is the better game because I feel it gives more of a sense of progression through start, mid-game, and end, with a better sense of a culminating finish.

12/19/2018

Love how f...

by Redbrick_Malone

Love how fast the turns were, very smooth game play!

12/17/2018