Century: Spice Road

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (175 Total)

3
77
81
10
1

The game is simple and fun. I enjoyed the game PERIOD. There is no BUT Great gateway game.

5/3/2020

A weaker, albeit surprisingly fun take on what Splendor did a couple years before it. I like the card drafting mechanism and resource conversion a lot and can see it hitting the table with some regularity.

4/14/2020

Spice RoadThe fastest and most distilled representation of the fun the century system offers.- 8/10

4/1/2020

Slick game, good system. Looking forward to future expansions. My wife is a big fan. -1 for the lame cubes.

4/1/2020

Tableau builder, a bit like Splendor, so interested to learn more about this game. Rating based on 1st play with 2 players, which was alright.

3/18/2020

Love the mechanics and speed of this game

3/5/2020

Amazing game. The whole family enjoys playing this game. Not too long and not too short. Love the theme and artwork. Great!!!

3/3/2020

A great game to play with wife and with casuals for a couples game night. Easy to teach, everyone grasps it right away and gets into building their engine. While I personally prefer the look and components of the Golem edition, the theme there tends to turn off casuals while Spice Road is more appealing.

2/28/2020

No Review Description

2/3/2020

You turn cubes into cubes into cubes into cubes...

1/26/2020

The theme can completely be taken out of this one as it is really just a pure engine building/resource management race. You just get cubes to get more cubes to turn into other cubes so that you can score points. It's so simple and yet I just can't get enough of it! I like heavier games for sure but this game is just pure fun to me and it's actually a game my kids can play too!

1/25/2020

Use your cards to trade spices and claim victory points. Game runs pretty quickly and scales nicely regardless of how many players you play with. Like most other similar games where there's a communal card/resource area, I prefer to play with 2 players.

1/25/2020

[b][size=12][BGCOLOR=#C0C0C0]Sleeved[/BGCOLOR][/size][/b]

1/25/2020

Interesting and light. In general, I think I like Splendor more (which is very similar). Splendor is a bit tighter and feels less random.

1/25/2020

7/19/17 Easy to learn game with deep strategy. Quickly has become on of my favorites. Not replacing Splendor, but a good alternative. Developed a house rule for the game, would like to try it sometime with 4 or 5 players. Update 1/4/18: Now own the promo pack for the game. Still a top 3 game that hits the table

1/15/2020

Sleeved.

12/20/2019

$20.47 August 2019

12/14/2019

Not worth playing at 2 players. 3 players was good. My play was very very quiet though. The game was quick and easy to learn. Quick to play. Many times people were waiting for someone to take their turn but it was their turn already and they had no idea. I need to play this a few more times to figure my opinion out better. I don't think it is trending in a positive direction over all though.

11/14/2019

A more complex and less random game than Jaipur, one of my favorite two-player games with my spouse.

11/3/2019

Super fast playtime. Super fast turns. Some cards are clearly better than others, which works well with the card picking mechanism. Very self absorbed - rarely pay attention to what others are doing.

10/25/2019

I really enjoy engine building games and this one was very fun.

6/26/2019

7.5 / 2-5p / 30-45m / 2017 / 1.78

6/15/2019

Purchased from Plan B Games web store with PlayMat Add-on. This is one of my wife's favorite games... helps that she wins more times than not. Since turns are quick and the theme is rather light, the game is relaxing to play. And with the added playmat, this game is officially our #boardgameinbed of choice.

4/22/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/century-spice-road-2017/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/century-spice-road-2017-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Not a Splendor killer. It is not even a very entertaining engine builder because all you get is is more resource/action efficiency, not actual resources. That is not very exciting. Playing Century, I look at my hand of cards and the goal cards. Do I have the cubes to claim a goal? No. Can I play a card to get the cubes? It will take 7 plays and 3 resets. Is that a good number of turns? Can my opponent claim the card in less than 10 turns? Will the cards in the market speed that up? I don't know and I don't care. Knocking half a point off for the loss pour art direction compared to Golem Edition. Why does the one with a theme blender than cardboard oatmeal get to integrate with other games and not the one with a couple interesting pieces of art?

3/5/2019

A nice, fun, simple game with enough challenges to keep us engaged. The illustrations on the cards are absolutely stunning & the included bowls and metal coins are a nice addition.

2/14/2019

2-5, 45m

1/25/2019

This game is not as good as Splendor. Splendor is strategic engine-building stripped down to it's mechanical core. Abstract and quick and a neat little puzzle. Since the score cards and the action cards in Century: Spice Road are separate, there is a much more tactical nature to this game than there is to Splendor. You really can't plan too far ahead, you can just kind of try to prepare for what cards [i]might[/i] come out. Normally I don't use "tactical" negatively. Generally a tactical game implies that there is a constantly-changing game state that requires a shift of direction, and some of my very favorite games are quite tactical (Indonesia, El Grande, Chicago Express, Imperial), but in an abstract engine-builder without any player interaction, it's a detriment. The prospect of a modular game system that can offer 7 different games is a neat little marketing gimmick, but for $120, I'd rather buy a single game with some teeth rather than a series of rinky-dink games that you probably won't really combine all that often.

1/23/2019

Dull theme, dull colours and won by whoever gets the best cube cards early on..

1/23/2019

I was surprised at how much we bring this game out for how simple it is. We're interested in the next Century game and how the two will interact as well. We tried one five player game and that didn't go over as nicely, but it's perfect for 2-3 players.

1/23/2019

[Pending to sleeve]

1/18/2019

Will get two expansions but theme is boring and splendor is perhaps better.

1/10/2019

(11/17) 7. A solid game in the "Splendor" style with a handful of resources that can be upgraded and turned in for cards. I don't think it's quite a Splendor killer, but I think I'd prefer to play it over Splendor, at least for now. The Golem edition is probably my preferred one, though I don't understand the need for two editions with completely different art styles.

12/22/2018

It's pretty and it's fast, but it is also cold and dry, and the theme is as pasted on as Splendor. In fact this just feels like Splendor, but without the nice poker tokens. If you love Splendor you will probably love this because it is more of the same. Personally, I think Splendor is the better game because I feel it gives more of a sense of progression through start, mid-game, and end, with a better sense of a culminating finish.

12/19/2018

Love how fast the turns were, very smooth game play!

12/17/2018