Hive

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (55 Total)

2
21
25
4
3

http://mee...

by MeepleLikeUs

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/hive-2001/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/hive-2001-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Excellent ...

by BrouhahaGames

Excellent abstract. Big player one advantage though.

2/22/2019

Good abstr...

by elltrain

Good abstract, though I don't think it's nearly as good as the GIPF games I have tried.

2/16/2019

Love Hive!...

by oldgoat3769967

Love Hive!

2/15/2019

Only an 8 ...

by mgacy

Only an 8 for casual play. If the opposing player decides to "double-down" and really play this game seriously, I'm out.

2/12/2019

Chess with...

by Brent

Chess with bugs. Don't like Chess, don't like bugs.

1/23/2019

An excelle...

by Zeugmatic Player

An excellent abstract that plays in 15 minutes or less My review of Hive can be found here: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/384701 Replaced by... Hive Pocket.

1/22/2019

Really goo...

by klz

Really good abstract game with a neat theme and no board needed.

1/22/2019

love the s...

by Chitownsox

love the strategy in this game. So much like chess, with more means of escape.

1/22/2019

A bit too ...

by Baltasilian

A bit too chess-like and 'thinky' for us.

1/21/2019

Yeah I did...

by usagi-san

Yeah I didn't like this one too much. Too much like chess to figure out. Of course, I didn't really see how to make use of the pieces. As well, I don't really play two player games... now, however, that may change.

1/21/2019

Good littl...

by frankqb

Good little puzzler. Brilliant with the right person.

1/15/2019

The theme ...

by ekloff

The theme is unusual, but it plays an integral role in the game's overall construct. The '1 Hive' rule lays the foundation for what is a mechanically sound game. However, this game is quite abstract and for whatever reason I have failed to truly grasp it. Defeat and/or victory become obvious a few turns before the end, but I find it very difficult to turn the tide.

1/11/2019

This would...

by parliboy

This would be a 9 if the instructions weren't so badly written. As it is, it's a wonderful, 2-player strategy game that you'll play incorrectly unless someone experienced is there to guide you.

1/10/2019

This reall...

by Garindan

This really does feel like Chess-lite, but in a great way! This is another one I can play with my kids - especially the 6 year old and he's already showing that he can think analytically to make the game interesting.

12/22/2018