Hive

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (79 Total)

3
31
37
4
4

2-player only

10/18/2019

TRADED: 2018 (Math Trade for Dokmus) GAMEPLAY Players either add a tile to the board or they move a tile already on the board. While each piece has its own unique rules a la chess, players are typically limited in their movements in two ways. First, you may not move a piece so a piece or group of pieces becomes disconnected from the hive. Second, you may not move a piece into a bottle-necked area, with the exception of the pieces that jump or move on top of the hive. A player wins by surrounding their opponent’s queen with any mix of the player’s pieces and opponent’s pieces. THOUGHTS Hive is an example of a two-player abstract that plays a lot like chess but in a fraction of the time. The pieces all have unique abilities that make the game fun to explore. Moreover, the game has a very pleasing tactility to it with players hopping, marching, and hovering these lovely hexagonal tiles. The game suffers a bit from first-player advantage, which is why it is better to play multiple games, switching who goes first. Unfortunately, Soo is put off by the insect “theme” so I struggle to get this one played. When I do manage to find an opponent, I find myself a little underwhelmed with the gameplay. There are just other abstracts I’d rather play. PROS -Components are next level. Images look cool and they’re easy to parse. -Has a chess-like feel but plays extremely quickly. CONS -First-player advantage. -Interest has faded in favor of other abstracts.

10/18/2019

This is what chess would be if it would be short and fun.

10/16/2019

Nice and fast. My wife will even play it with me, witch is rare for a strategy game.

9/10/2019

Quick playing game with enough varied strategy to stay fresh for a while. I like it, but, like a lot of abstracts, the experienced player here will have a significant edge against newbies.

6/26/2019

great game ....

5/15/2019

Excellent abstract. Simple to teach/learn, deceptively deep. Scratches the Chess itch in a small fraction of the time.

5/13/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/hive-2001/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/hive-2001-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Excellent abstract. Big player one advantage though.

2/22/2019

Good abstract, though I don't think it's nearly as good as the GIPF games I have tried.

2/16/2019

Love Hive!

2/15/2019

Only an 8 for casual play. If the opposing player decides to "double-down" and really play this game seriously, I'm out.

2/12/2019

Chess with bugs. Don't like Chess, don't like bugs.

1/23/2019

An excellent abstract that plays in 15 minutes or less My review of Hive can be found here: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/384701 Replaced by... Hive Pocket.

1/22/2019

by klz

Really good abstract game with a neat theme and no board needed.

1/22/2019

love the strategy in this game. So much like chess, with more means of escape.

1/22/2019

A bit too chess-like and 'thinky' for us.

1/21/2019

Yeah I didn't like this one too much. Too much like chess to figure out. Of course, I didn't really see how to make use of the pieces. As well, I don't really play two player games... now, however, that may change.

1/21/2019

Good little puzzler. Brilliant with the right person.

1/15/2019

The theme is unusual, but it plays an integral role in the game's overall construct. The '1 Hive' rule lays the foundation for what is a mechanically sound game. However, this game is quite abstract and for whatever reason I have failed to truly grasp it. Defeat and/or victory become obvious a few turns before the end, but I find it very difficult to turn the tide.

1/11/2019

This would be a 9 if the instructions weren't so badly written. As it is, it's a wonderful, 2-player strategy game that you'll play incorrectly unless someone experienced is there to guide you.

1/10/2019

This really does feel like Chess-lite, but in a great way! This is another one I can play with my kids - especially the 6 year old and he's already showing that he can think analytically to make the game interesting.

12/22/2018