Ingenious

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (29 Total)

0
8
12
7
2

Found at thrift store for $2.50. There were other games there that I should have bought but i wasn't into boardgames as much back then and not aware of good games.

5/28/2019

A very good abstract game. Easy to learn.

5/15/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/ingenious-2004/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/ingenious-2004-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

While I don't get crushed at this game, I think I don't really understand the strategy involved. Is there more to this game than I'm seeing? Is it simply a game of "choose the optimal placement"?

2/16/2019

1 play, 3 players. It was fun and I liked the scoring track. After having played it and wanting it, it has gone down on my list. It is a fun enough game I think but I still prefer to play Through the Desert.

1/23/2019

Abstract tile-laying/point-acquiring with a score mechanic that keeps it interesting.

1/22/2019

I'm not a huge abstract fan, and Ingenious doesn't manage to break that mold. It is very simple on its face, but has a layer of deeper strategy that is fun to explore for a while. However, there isn't enough to warrant any long-term investment. I do love that Knizia scoring though.

1/11/2019

Just don't play 4-player singles (too much downtime), and this is a great game. Very accessible for novices after a training game or two where they learn how to conduct offense and defense.

1/10/2019

Sort of like a color matching scrabble esk game. your goal is to get your colors up as high as possible since the lowest color will be your score. a lot of fun.

1/10/2019