Ingenious

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (43 Total)

0
15
19
7
2

I am not usually a big fan of this type of game, prefering games with many choices and different actions to choice from. This is like dominos or chess which I hate....but for some reason I cant stop playing this darn game. I think I am hypnotized by the colorful shapes or something. I have a copy that I play on my laptop ALL THE DAMN TIME! Well I broke out the actual game board and played with real life people and like it that way too. Overall Score 8, Appearence 7, Components 7, The Box (storage) 7, Rulebook 7, Ease of Play 8, Mechanics 8, Involvment 7, Replayability 9, Uniqueness 7, Luck 6 v Strategy 4 (The higher the number the more it leans that way.)

11/3/2019

Best-with-2. Extremely clever abstract. Well scaled from 2-4 players. Brilliant scoring mechanism. One of our all time favorites.

10/25/2019

Very good for a family oriented abstract strategy game. My wife & I both enjoy this game.

10/18/2019

Found at thrift store for $2.50. There were other games there that I should have bought but i wasn't into boardgames as much back then and not aware of good games.

5/28/2019

A very good abstract game. Easy to learn.

5/15/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/ingenious-2004/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/ingenious-2004-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

While I don't get crushed at this game, I think I don't really understand the strategy involved. Is there more to this game than I'm seeing? Is it simply a game of "choose the optimal placement"?

2/16/2019

1 play, 3 players. It was fun and I liked the scoring track. After having played it and wanting it, it has gone down on my list. It is a fun enough game I think but I still prefer to play Through the Desert.

1/23/2019

Abstract tile-laying/point-acquiring with a score mechanic that keeps it interesting.

1/22/2019

I'm not a huge abstract fan, and Ingenious doesn't manage to break that mold. It is very simple on its face, but has a layer of deeper strategy that is fun to explore for a while. However, there isn't enough to warrant any long-term investment. I do love that Knizia scoring though.

1/11/2019

Just don't play 4-player singles (too much downtime), and this is a great game. Very accessible for novices after a training game or two where they learn how to conduct offense and defense.

1/10/2019

Sort of like a color matching scrabble esk game. your goal is to get your colors up as high as possible since the lowest color will be your score. a lot of fun.

1/10/2019