Caylus

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (99 Total)

3
46
38
11
0

This is the epitome of the low-luck, open-information, efficiency, optimization Eurogame. Such clean, intuitive rules, yet complex enough to make for excellent replayability. Very simple to set up, requires minimal table space, and turns go quickly. Caylus is a brain burner, and one that can take many plays to develop a good strategy to become a competitive player. This is a game where the players really play each other. The provost mechanic is simply brilliant. Mean enough to allow for clever manipulation, but not too punishing to make players frustrated with the game (I'm looking at you, Vanuatu!). Trading this copy and keeping the Premium Limited edition.

4/1/2020

Very good game. I really enjoy this one as a two player or a three player. Other than that, I have no interest in playing it anymore.This may be climaxed by Age of Empires III which invokes the same feelings in me but isn't nearly as dry.

4/1/2020

Pretty hard to remember the rules at first, it still makes a good game after.

3/24/2020

recommended with 2-5 players, best with 3, 120 minutes, medium heavy, worker placementRating based on 1st plays. Can fully understand the praise this gets, but it is quite unforgiving and can be rather mean. Would like to play this more often.

3/18/2020

yep! this is it.

3/4/2020

by paka

First of the heavy games. Like it a lot, but wife doesn't really want to play it as I tend to pull ahead. Playing only with 2-3 as more breaks this game for me. (Played a quite lot before started recording)

2/25/2020

No Review Description

2/25/2020

too complex for family playing

1/28/2020

Really, really enjoy this game. People say it's old school now, but we still get it to the table several times a year. Tight and brain burning, trying to figure out which prestige buildings you can/will build.

1/26/2020

Very well designed, and moves along at a good clip. Not as intricately designed as some other games, though, and a bit soulless and overlong. Excellent design, just not anything better than that. [EDIT] Suffers so very badly in comparison to other games, which offer greater strategy and less playing time. Worker-placement can be done so much better, but this really was on to something.

1/26/2020

I prefer Pillars of the Earth or Le Havre, personally (the kids take to these games much easier). No offense to any die-hard Caylus lovers out there. I DO find this an interesting play, and with more plays, it should rise in stature in my eyes. I like the fact that there's perfect information and no luck. It is brilliant in this regard.

1/10/2020

A game of zero luck. You win or lose based soley on your decisions balanced against the decisions of your opponents. I enjoy how the players control the pace of the game by moving the provost.

1/7/2020

Decisions, decisions, decisions!!! Far more complex than puerto rico, but an excellent design

1/4/2020

I had been avoiding this from early on in my time at the 'new' gaming group I started attending at the beginning of 2008. I realise I'll probably do better in a second game but getting thrashed in the first doesn't engender me to play again. Worker placement games seem to cause me difficulties. 2011-10? I played again, three player, and did do a lot better than I managed in the first game. I'm still not wanting to play more though.

1/3/2020

Pretty chewwy game. Lots of decisions to mull over. Unfortunaely I cannot claim to love it.

12/24/2019

I really like the provost mechanic and I'm surprised it isn't used more often. The rest of the game not so much.

12/20/2019

by 3MBG

Another game I just didn't get the buzz of. Pretty uninspiring game for me, although the one game I played suffered from a run away leader.

10/29/2019

I really like all the possibilities. A touch too long if not played reguarly, since it requires a fairly thorough refresher. I keep thinking about how to play differently next time and that's definitely a good sign. So many possible strategy paths and so many tactical decisions. Fantastic!

10/25/2019

The granddaddy of worker placement games. Also plays 5 well (if no one has AP). Also a good deal of variety and who doesn't love moving that provost to screw with people?

10/18/2019

Just a little too dry for my tastes. Also the somewhat steep learning curve means that an unbalanced table (in terms of varying experience levels with the game) makes the game less rewarding for everyone concerned. I expect that it would be more exciting with a table full of very experienced players.

8/31/2019

Pretty fun even if there have been plenty of better worker placement games since this.  Overall just a little too long, and dry for my tastes.

6/26/2019

A little on the long side, but fun to play.

2/16/2019

2-5, 120m

1/25/2019

Corrupt contractors in France, 1289. Place and pay your workers to build the castle, but use extra materials to make a fortune on the side. One of the original worker placement games, still one of the best.

1/22/2019

by klz

Deep game deserving of the hype, but the possibility that the game can be dragged out for an extra hour or two can be annoying.

1/22/2019

Caylus is an old title, but it has certainly held its own. Despite having helped birth worker placement, Caylus' implementation of the mechanic is still incredibly unique, and unlike anything else on the market. The Bailiff & Provost add a healthy dose of meta-game into this solid Euro, forcing players to constantly jostle for position and plan carefully. The game also manages to shift priorities between the early- and late-game, which encourages players to experiment with and pivot to different strategies in a single session. The complete lack of randomness makes this a must play for the luck averse.

1/11/2019

I've played mostly on IOS, but have broken out the cardboard edition as well. My wife hated it, but I really enjoy it.

12/22/2018