Stone Age

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (50 Total)

1
18
26
1
2

Love playi...

by Robertcompton

Love playing this game. Finally got bought a copy for Christmas 2011. Yay! Ok, so I guess the question is why? Well this was my introduction to board gaming as the Geek knows it and my first worker placement euro game. You always remember your first time :) The theme, the mechanics, the quality of the pieces and board, even the start player token blew me away. The theme is set during the stone age and your tribe is competing for resources to help build huts and cultural objects against other tribes. You do this by sending them of to cut trees for wood, collect stone, gather gold or hunt for food each year. We're guessing a year, because the other option you have is to expand your tribe numbers by going to the love shack. Once your tribe has established a number of resources, you can use these to build huts to live in or expand your culture. How well you do, is measured in victory points, which are tracked as the years progress with some additional VP's earned at the end of the game. The person with the highest VP's win's the game. There are worker placement games for any theme you can think of, personally, I still like playing this one because you can introduce it to non-gamer friends and still have fun. The rules are straight forward to explain and the game length is reasonable.

4/12/2019

Great ligh...

by elltrain

Great light worker placement game. The art and components are top-notch. The luck of the dice can be obnoxious in crucial moments of the game. I think using 2-3-3-4-4-5 dice would solve my annoyances with the rolling.

2/16/2019

Not the be...

by lasttruegypsy

Not the best worker placement game, but probably the best gateway worker placement game. We have brought this out with many non-gamers and gamers alike and everyone has always enjoyed it.

2/11/2019

A simple w...

by TIM0THY

A simple worker placement game that I can play with my kids. They enjoy it, and it's satisfying for me to play as well, so that makes it a winner in my book. Trade Info: Box has a large, ring-shaped dent in it. Otherwise in good condition. See image #1575852. You can find it in my gallery.

1/23/2019

Cute game ...

by Zeugmatic Player

Cute game about developing a tribe of hunter/gatherers. Can feel repetitive after several plays. There isn't any real differentiation in resources, and penalties for starvation aren't scaled to the size of your tribe, so ignoring food is a viable strategy... Replaced by Roll Through The Ages (faster, better randomness) and Agricola (more depth, cuter/stronger theme)

1/22/2019

Euro-style...

by andrewishi

Euro-style resource management with some dice thrown in. A bit disappointed on the way the "village" actions are set up (i.e., you almost always take one if they're available), but otherwise an excellent game.

1/21/2019

From 2009:...

by usagi-san

From 2009: Very beautiful and lavish production but I still think it goes on about 20-30 minutes longer than it should. This is probably why I will not buy this game. I can see it being very popular with the lighter gaming crowd. A very nice way to involve dice and resource management. 2016-07-17 - River Market 2016-07-19 - Tastes change; Rating from 5.5 -> 7 2016-07-22 - Rating from 7 -> 8 2016-07-28 - playing on yucata.de and boardgamearena.com

1/21/2019

Stone Age ...

by ekloff

Stone Age looks pretty basic, and to a certain extent it is, but I enjoy playing when I'm in the right mood. The self-tailored end game scoring associated with the civilization cards is brilliant and helps create strategies for players to pursue. The 'town' actions are too scarce and tend to create scripted moves during the beginning of a new round. Overall, there isn't enough complexity for me to invest much table time, but it is a satisfying every now and again.

1/11/2019

A fun dice...

by Psylocke

A fun dice worker placement game. Since you're rolling dice it makes it so you can't just do the same strategy every single time which is fun.

12/24/2018

Nice worke...

by Cooking_Meeple

Nice worker placement with dice involved. The luckbit really can change the game

12/22/2018