Stone Age

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (183 Total)

4
70
97
7
2

Not bad for a lighter worker-placement, but I'd rather play Pillars of the Earth for the same duration. Update: This is very easy to teach, and quick to play. Further bonus points for scaling well from 2-4, whereas PotE is good with only 3 or 4, and merely "okay" with just 2.

4/1/2020

Too much luck in the game for me.

3/24/2020

Some might hate the luck factor in games, but I love it in Stone Age. It's is really fun to chuckle some dice to gather resources and having tools to invest your duce result. Has strategy to it without being tiresome specially to new players. A very good strategy worker placement game for the whole family.

3/24/2020

Weight: 2.50 / 5

3/18/2020

Designer: Bernd Brunnhofer Artist: Michael MenzelPublisher: 999 GamesPlayer count: 2-4 (best with 4)Weight: medium lightMechanics: worker placementSetting: PrehistoryTheme: fairPlay time: 60-90 minutesHaving played over 70 games, I can fairly say this is one of my favourite games.Stone Age is a so called worker-placement game, which sets in the Stone Age. The goal of the game is to collect resources (wood, brick, stone, gold) to build huts and buy development cards which help you collect victory points. It is of course vital to feed your meeples every turn, if you cannot than you will lose 10 victory points each turn. As soon as the huts or the development cards run out, the player with the most victory points is the winner of the game.I personally think the theme is very appealing. The board looks very nice and the resources components (all wood) are very nice as well.Setting up the game only takes a few minutes, so you're ready to play in no time.Stone Age plays fast and rather easy, everyone can play this within a few minutes. There is little down time and not much chance of AP. The (7) dice add some luck to the game, but in a good way as you have to use these all the time, so the luck component should even out. Also, the starting player moves per turn, so everyone gets the chance to choose first.The routes to succes can differ, there is not one single strategy. After two games it becomes rather clear what works and what doesn't, so the advantage for an experienced player is limited to one or two games. The development cards are key to winning the game, but everyone is aware of that, so that's fine as well. On occasion, not feeding you meeples could be worthwile, when there are very strong cards or huts for grabs, but so far I've not played the game with the starvation strategy and have won probably >90% of all games I've played.I've played numerous games now, with 2, 3 and 4 players including a number of first timers. It plays well with any amount of players, which I consider a bonus as not many games do. Although the first game may take well over 2 hours, with experienced players you can play a game within the hour.There is also an expansion available which allows you to play with 5 players and which adds trading goods. Personally, I prefer the original and have traded away the expansion. I'm a big fan and want to play this again anytime! I have not found any downsides to this game yet. I rate this game 10/10!Please check my review at:https://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/14576397#14576397Donated to De Camp on 05-05-2019

3/18/2020

Our first game was very enjoyable, and I suspect this will be played a lot.UPDATE: has been very popular with everybody that we've introduced it to, and who doesn't enjoy a good starvation strategy ;-)

3/9/2020

2-4

3/7/2020

the dice make this game more suitable for those who are not so serious at the table.

3/4/2020

My main issue with Stone Age is that it cannot handle 5 players. The most popular game with wife-friends and usually the first "next step" game I introduce new gamers to after Ticket to Ride. After so many plays, we can set up and whack through a 4 player game of SA in about 75 minutes, and it's usually an open question as to who will win right up until the end.

2/28/2020

by paka

Beautiful worker-placement. Dice is nicely compensated and the system works as a whole. After initial plays not really wanting to break this open. Too long for what its offering. (think it misses plays aswell)

2/25/2020

I like it, it has very nice design and quality components; I have a strong sense that there are other games out there that might do what it does better and it will probably loose some of it's luster as I play more of these types of games.

2/24/2020

Initial rating 9. Awesome gameplay but felt a little too long. (Jul 10) Raised to 10. This is so simple to teach, has beautiful art, fun of dice rolling combined with multiple strategies. Keeps coming back to the table with great success at 2 and 3 player counts. We are also now much faster at finishing the game. It really feels like a classic design.

2/14/2020

Worker Placement game! great for beginners.

2/3/2020

Now I am very forgiving to derivative games, but I am not forgiving to overlong games. Stone Age is both derivative and overlong. It wants to be 45 minutes, but is closer to 90, and can drag to 120. To be fair, Stone is awfully pleasant--a solid worker-placement game. But it's not as good as Leonardo, Age of Empires, or Pillars of the Earth given its length.

1/26/2020

[b][size=12][BGCOLOR=#C0C0C0]Sleeved[/BGCOLOR][/size][/b]

1/25/2020

November 2013: Originally rated 8 June 2016: Rated 7.5. Good, beautiful looking but a bit bland.

1/13/2020

One of the best worker placement games out there

1/4/2020

I played three games in a 24 hour period (with practically everyone new to the game) and enjoyed all three games. Different numbers involved change the dynamics of what can be taken by whom and each player, after working out the rules, seems to have a different idea as to best strategy. So far this seems to be the single worker placement game that I'll actually go out of my way to play. 2008-12-05 Have been informed that there was a problem in the rules interpretation (my fault) and so I may have to change my rating of this after a couple of games with the correct rules. I don't think it will impact on my enjoyment significantly though. 2008-12-10 Having played with the right rules I'm not changing my rating down, it may go up. 2008-12-31 Up it seems, my third 9. 2009-12-01 After a year it's dropped back. Mainly as a result of excessive 2-player games. 2019-11 A decade on and I'm possibly selling it. There's almost always going to be something I'd rather play due to the amount I've played it.

1/3/2020

My introduction to worker placement and still a game I greatly enjoy. For its weight, I am not sure what game does WP better (though I haven't played Lords of Waterdeep yet).

1/2/2020

It's ok, but I'd much rather play Lords.

12/20/2019

This has a lot of elements that we like. I like the fact that, while there is some open scoring, you cannot tell who is winning until the final tally! That works great to keep the motivation up even if you think you are losing.

12/20/2019

Really, really good. Perhaps a little long and a little mathy, but very fun.

12/5/2019

Great worker-placement game, very good as a gateway to introduce gamers into more deep strategy games.

11/11/2019

Fun lighter WP, but I find that it's about 45 min too long. For the heaviness of worker placement, I'd rather play Lords of Waterdeep. For a game this length, I'd rather play something like Viticulture or Tzolk'in; maybe even Anachrony.

10/26/2019

[GAUDET] A lot of choices in every turn. Short turns. High variability from game to game. This is an excellent Eurogame. Unfortunately, any given game is going to be highly influenced by the dice. You can mitigate your luck, but a run of bad rolls is going to get you no matter how you plan. Fun to play and beautiful to look at.

10/25/2019

Anniversary Edition

7/22/2019

Stone Age : only thing in French is the box cover and the rules, everything else is language independent.

7/21/2019

Not quite as good as Lords of Waterdeep for me. Not a game I would turn down, just not one I feel I need to own anymore.

6/26/2019

Worker placement

5/21/2019

nice game .....

5/15/2019

Love playing this game. Finally got bought a copy for Christmas 2011. Yay! Ok, so I guess the question is why? Well this was my introduction to board gaming as the Geek knows it and my first worker placement euro game. You always remember your first time :) The theme, the mechanics, the quality of the pieces and board, even the start player token blew me away. The theme is set during the stone age and your tribe is competing for resources to help build huts and cultural objects against other tribes. You do this by sending them of to cut trees for wood, collect stone, gather gold or hunt for food each year. We're guessing a year, because the other option you have is to expand your tribe numbers by going to the love shack. Once your tribe has established a number of resources, you can use these to build huts to live in or expand your culture. How well you do, is measured in victory points, which are tracked as the years progress with some additional VP's earned at the end of the game. The person with the highest VP's win's the game. There are worker placement games for any theme you can think of, personally, I still like playing this one because you can introduce it to non-gamer friends and still have fun. The rules are straight forward to explain and the game length is reasonable.

4/12/2019

Great light worker placement game. The art and components are top-notch. The luck of the dice can be obnoxious in crucial moments of the game. I think using 2-3-3-4-4-5 dice would solve my annoyances with the rolling.

2/16/2019

Not the best worker placement game, but probably the best gateway worker placement game. We have brought this out with many non-gamers and gamers alike and everyone has always enjoyed it.

2/11/2019

A simple worker placement game that I can play with my kids. They enjoy it, and it's satisfying for me to play as well, so that makes it a winner in my book. Trade Info: Box has a large, ring-shaped dent in it. Otherwise in good condition. See image #1575852. You can find it in my gallery.

1/23/2019

Cute game about developing a tribe of hunter/gatherers. Can feel repetitive after several plays. There isn't any real differentiation in resources, and penalties for starvation aren't scaled to the size of your tribe, so ignoring food is a viable strategy... Replaced by Roll Through The Ages (faster, better randomness) and Agricola (more depth, cuter/stronger theme)

1/22/2019

Euro-style resource management with some dice thrown in. A bit disappointed on the way the "village" actions are set up (i.e., you almost always take one if they're available), but otherwise an excellent game.

1/21/2019

From 2009: Very beautiful and lavish production but I still think it goes on about 20-30 minutes longer than it should. This is probably why I will not buy this game. I can see it being very popular with the lighter gaming crowd. A very nice way to involve dice and resource management. 2016-07-17 - River Market 2016-07-19 - Tastes change; Rating from 5.5 -> 7 2016-07-22 - Rating from 7 -> 8 2016-07-28 - playing on yucata.de and boardgamearena.com

1/21/2019

Stone Age looks pretty basic, and to a certain extent it is, but I enjoy playing when I'm in the right mood. The self-tailored end game scoring associated with the civilization cards is brilliant and helps create strategies for players to pursue. The 'town' actions are too scarce and tend to create scripted moves during the beginning of a new round. Overall, there isn't enough complexity for me to invest much table time, but it is a satisfying every now and again.

1/11/2019

A fun dice worker placement game. Since you're rolling dice it makes it so you can't just do the same strategy every single time which is fun.

12/24/2018

Nice worker placement with dice involved. The luckbit really can change the game

12/22/2018