Ticket To Ride

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (167 Total)

3
55
93
15
0

My Mom (who doesn't speak English) learned this and loves to play it. I can't say no to her obviously, so we play this a lot whenever we visit Turkey. I personally find this a "meh" game, with the outcome highly dependent on the initial ticket draw.

8/31/2019

Parents/everyone owns. I want a Ticket to Ride game, just not this one, I strongly prefer getting the Europe edition and then every other edition before this basic one.

8/5/2019

One of the best gateway games out there, that uses the simple joy of collecting sets and building routes to excellent effect.  Gamers will love how cutthroat it can be, though competitive newbies might have some issues with the screwage.

6/26/2019

Have the app as pass n play on Kindle as well. Works really well on the Kindle

6/20/2019

Great game, I've got the Android App and it almost exclusively replaced playing the physical board game for me. The app has many of the expansions and even the full game plus variants, all for super cheap. No setup and take down is a plus!

6/19/2019

Given away to sister.

6/16/2019

damage to box, slight warping on the board, some trains chipped

6/15/2019

Fun gateway game. I enjoyed the route-building, but didn't feel like I made a ton of interesting decisions. Basically build routes based on the cards drawn and try to combine routes.

5/14/2019

We started playing this more regularly at the local board game club, and I realized that this is a game that everyone needs to own. It's so simple, but doesn't lose its playability. My wife played about 10 years ago and didn't like it, but I'm going to have to try and convince her to try it again.

4/29/2019

Entertaining game suitable for all ages. With the right group of people this can also be played pretty cut-throat, so this isn't just for the non-gamers.

4/23/2019

Entertaining game suitable for all ages. With the right group of people this can also be played pretty cut-throat, so this isn't just for the non-gamers.

4/23/2019

Ticket to Ride for me is the ideal gateway board game. It's a great introductory game that provides just a flavour to non-gamers of what is both fun and challenging about the hobby. The mechanics are simplicity themselves, you have a set amount of track. You have destinations to join up on a board. You need to collect carriages of matching colours for each station hop of the journey. Whilst there are expansions and twists to this, that's the basis of the game and you have to love it for that.

4/12/2019

I love the simplicity yet still has enough strategy to be interesting. Great family game

3/8/2019

Possibly the best game with which to introduce people to designer board games.

3/8/2019

Good: Easy to teach but strategy is not obvious. Bad: Very punishing of trying a route and failing despite having a high degree of randomness. Players will block you without needing to try, ruining your fun.

3/5/2019

Solid game, though not a lot of depth. Great gateway game.

2/26/2019

Practically brand new, only played once

2/22/2019

Simple gateway, good for kids.

2/22/2019

digitale versie op android

2/18/2019

It's a classic, and the quick-playing games on my phone are making me start to really appreciate the depth here.

2/16/2019

One of my partner’s all time favourites—and rightly so, it’s a simple, fun game. Works well at 2 people but just as well with more people.

2/14/2019

One of my partner’s all time favourites—and rightly so, it’s a simple, fun game. Works well at 2 people but just as well with more people.

2/14/2019

Decent game, I think I out grew it before I played it. Wife wasn't all too pleased with it. Traded away.

2/14/2019

This is "an old friend" kind of game. Easy to play when you don't feel like learning/remembering lots of extra rules.

2/12/2019

W/ Exp: USA 1910 TtR is a good introductory game and it has enough depth for a lighter yet satisfying playthrough.

1/25/2019

2-5, 45m

1/25/2019

Appreciate that the popularity of it has opened people's eyes to the fact that boardgames extend beyond Monopoly.

1/23/2019

This was the second real board game I bought, and it got some play at first, until we moved on to deeper strategy games. This game is still a blast though, and is great for kids. Math trade: RftG, Space Alert, through the ages

1/23/2019

This is a lot of fun when my wife and I can get together with other people to play. Hit the sweat spot of 1-2 hours play time (that might be a few games) The family really like this, I am considering a map pack as most of the family has a few versions of this game, we also have the 1910 expansion, I like the bigger cards.

1/23/2019

My review of Ticket to Ride can be found here: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/386728

1/22/2019

by klz

One of the best introductory Euro games, I still love to play and teach it. The larger 1910 cards help a lot when shuffling.

1/22/2019

Good game for the 60 minute investment of time. As everyone says, it is great with 4 and not as much fun with 2. With 3 it is all right and it is an absolute blast with kids of any age.

1/21/2019

[Pending to sleeve]

1/18/2019

10X10

1/15/2019

Ok game, easy to bury yourself with no chance of recovery, not sure I would choose over sort of similar games.

1/15/2019

A great family game, with little to intrigue veteran gamers. Although the base game is very run-of-the-mill, the addition of ferries, tunnels, and stations in the Europe edition are quite fun. However, I find myself revisiting the same strategies time-and-time again. Experienced players claim that blocking routes is important, but I've never found blocking to be an effective point mechanism, or strategy deterrent.

1/11/2019

No Review Description

1/10/2019

Whether it's a game night or a get together this is the go to and most played game I have. Game play has simple mechanics that most people are familiar with drawing cards and placing tokens on the board while also trying to make connections between cities. Ticket to Ride is a great game to introduce to people who only think of board games such as Sorry or Trivial Pursuit. Friendly competition to complete your routes and disrupt your opponents can stir up some fun table banter. If you feel you are falling behind you can gamble for more routes to complete but you might just bust in this modern classic.

1/10/2019

Mayday Sleeved.

1/9/2019

y

1/9/2019

A fun gateway game that is easy to teach and easy to play, but has strategy nonetheless. The components are fun which makes this even easier to use to get people into gaming.

12/24/2018

Nice gateway game. Easy to get what you are supposed to do and easy to play

12/22/2018