Sherlock Holmes Consulting Detective: The Thames Murders & Other Cases

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (64 Total)

4
35
18
5
1

Good condition. Some writing on the first case (out of 10). A great 2-person game. Lots of reading but I enjoy the story. It is well thought out and well themed. Just don't play after owning Chronicles of Crime.

11/3/2019

[GAUDET]

10/25/2019

Haven't played it in about ten years. Back then, we completely exhausted the game. Might bring it out of storage soon.

10/21/2019

(+) Intuitive rules (you can basically just start playing), immersive story, fantastic writing, the art is well done, everyone feels like they are contributing, can easily be re-sold or re-gifted after playing, all the different components you use (map, newspaper, directory, case booklet) work together really well, can play and put down at your leisure but you don't want to stop playing, the case ends when you decide to stop (-) There are several typos, the point system can largely be ignored and doesn't add that much to the game IMO (specifically the bonus for visiting fewer places which means you would see less content) (+/-) I won't criticize the game for replayability as it wouldn't really work with how the game is designed. However, replayability is something I value and you can really only play through the cases once (unless you have someone check your answers until you get it right). Being able to re-sell it takes some of that sting away though. Also (as with most co-op games) your experience may be positively or negatively affected by who you are playing with.

10/18/2019

by hana

Too many wild leaps in assumptions. Detective: A Modern Crime is the better game with solid leads and clues that allows you to draw factual conclusions.

10/17/2019

It's not as much a game as an activity. Can be fun in the right group.

8/14/2019

Would recommend this to be played co-operatively. Have only tried to solve the first case, which we did abysmally at. Would recommend that someone else score your progress, so that you can have another crack at a case without knowing too much about how Holmes solves it. Great social game. Currently on loan to Jannine (20/06/2017)

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/sherlock-holmes-consulting-detective-1981/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/sherlock-holmes-consulting-detective-1981-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Looking forward to playing more of the cases.

2/14/2019

10 Choose your own adventure stories sold as a set in a board game box. Fine if that's your thing*. *Not my thing.

1/23/2019

We weren't sure with the first case if we were "supposed" to try and beat Sherlock, and we completely whiffed on the final solution to try and solve it quickly. For the record, I don't think you should really care too much about how well Sherlock will do. I want to try a second case and solve it when we feel confident we've solved it, not because of some artificial limit.

1/23/2019

Even though I suck at it and follow too many leads, this is a very good puzzle. Lots of typos, but I can get past that pretty easily. Very fun game that really makes it feel like you are solving a crime. I'll be sad when the 10 cases are over.

1/22/2019

The most satisfying solo experience and up there for most satisfying board game experience I've ever had. Just fascinating and thrilling. Like walking around inside the world of Holmes' Victorian London. Wonderful. Just amazing. Can't speak highly of it enough.

1/15/2019

(4/16) 6. Really enjoyed my first play though I had the sense that some of the answers to the first case were almost abstractions of what we'd learned in the game? Though perhaps that's the point. Anyway, I'm looking forward to playing this again and feel like it's the type of game that improves as you continue to play it. (10/17) Rise to 7. Whereas most of the time not playing a game has made me lower my rating on games, here absence has made my heart grow fonder. Really itching to play this again.

12/22/2018