Codenames: Duet

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (43 Total)

1
25
16
0
0

A fun co-o...

by ThiningAboutGames

A fun co-op variant to Codenames. The difficulty is a little bit too high for the first city, but otherwise it is great as a 2 player filler.

3/5/2019

This is a ...

by hengst2404

This is a wonderful, two player co-op game that my wife and I play. It is far more challenging at times than standard codenames, particularly with the small window for success.

2/12/2019

If you lik...

by Daedelous

If you like Codenames, you'll like this - except it's quite hard.

2/12/2019

I was pret...

by Ethereal87

I was pretty sick of Codenames playing it as a group, but the mechanics of Duet re-invigorated it and at a player count I'm far more likely to hit. A worthwhile upgrade for this straightforward game.

1/23/2019

Co-op Code...

by Zeugmatic Player

Co-op Codenames for two; basically the same as the normal game, but for a pair

1/22/2019

Id prefer ...

by Chitownsox

Id prefer to play regular codenames with a large group but this scratches the quick word game itch for my wife and me. Edit 7/18: This version has really grown on me. It is definitely harder than the original.

1/22/2019

Codenames ...

by ekloff

Codenames Duet is a great couples game. Where Codenames explored the broad and ambiguous nature of words, Duet drills into the shared lexicon of two people. Reducing the guessers to just a single person allows the clue giver to reference personal experiences in their clues, and adds an interesting new dynamic to the game. Additionally, the extra Assassins drastically increases the game's drama. Since one of your Assassins is your partner's Codename, there is an added tension that was absent in its predecessor. Its also a much harder game, as transitioning between guessing, and cluing is a worthy challenge. Duet is a hallmark of iterative design, and a must play for any scholarly (or not) gamer.

1/11/2019

A better co-op version of Codenames

by adomescik

(+) Everyone gets to think of clues now, more assassins, variable difficulty, easy to teach, non-gamers LOVE it, price is excellent, different looking agents and civilians was a nice touch, great with 2 players (-) Theme is not really brought out in the gameplay, rating is capped by a lack of depth

1/10/2019

Takes the ...

by Psylocke

Takes the Codenames formula and makes it 2 players which is amazing. Our biggest issue was Codenames was it was no fun to play with under 6 people meaning it never saw much table time. Now we can play it whenever we want!

12/30/2018