Evolution: Climate

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (60 Total)

4
29
24
0
2

Love it! I played the older version (including Flight) with four and it was great. Played the newer one (no Flight) with two and it was great. The game plays very differently with two than it does with four because you can focus more easily in what opponent is doing and try to counter it. More players makes the game a little more chaotic as you're never sure what everyone is doing. The rules and gameplay are simple but the strategy is deep. I love this in a game. The theme really comes through, perhaps more than any other game. Evolving or adapting to what other players or the climate is doing feels very true to the real world. I'd happily play this anytime!

1/26/2020

This is the climate conversion kit,and not the full climate game

1/8/2020

This one is intense. Survival of the fittest. I suggest climbing as there will be carnivores. June 2019 $50 Origins

12/14/2019

Adds the climate element mechanism and a bunch of fun new cards. However, it didn't add to the overall game play as much as I had hoped. In our last game the climate never got outside of the temperate zone so we never hit any of the disaster cards. Next time I think I will flip the climate marker at the beginning of the game and depending on which side lands up, I will start the the climate one or two spaces in that direction. Or instead of the climate token moving just one space in the direction based on the majority, I could move it the square root of the difference. Still, I would strongly recommend this for fans of the base evolution game.

12/3/2019

Played once. Just don't play it because of the heavy interaction. I enjoy the app as well.

11/3/2019

1.18.18 My god is this game boring. Get a hand of cards to either bump up your species stats (body size for offense/defense and population for food which is the VP in the game), start a new species, or play on an existing species. One card also goes on the food pile to dictate how much food there is that round. Then, one by one, players take food per population of their species. If a species can't be fed, it loses population and possibly dies off. Winner at the end is the player with the most food. This game could be better if the cards were actually fun but there is something that protects against everything so most of the time, you just sit there going, "Ok, that had no effect on me."

10/18/2019

This game tells a good story via the game play. The theme mixes perfectly with the mechanics.

9/19/2019

Fun to engineer your own dinosaurs.

6/26/2019

Needs 4+ to really shine. Every time I think I have a good strategy, it's usually destroyed by something I didn't think about. Wish the promo pack III was sold more widely.

1/16/2019

A pretty interesting game where most of what occurs is determined by the sum of the actions of its players. Seems to lack variety in terms of card abilities which hurts replayability, and the climate cards are pretty much only negatives which means they are only reached for to hurt your opponent, so those aren't great either.

1/15/2019

Love this game. My favorite.

12/22/2018