Forbidden Desert

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (253 Total)

1
71
153
19
4

This game is very much a lighter version of Pandemic which plays a little bit quicker. I think it works quite well, and I'm happy to play it. I don't see needing both though. And I think Pandemic is a little less luck reliant after just a couple of plays. At least, I think there's more time, and planning that can be done in that one. This game is not bad though, and is a little bit easier on the kids and stuff, has less components, etc.It works quite well for what it is.

4/1/2020

Not a fan for 'solo' cooperative game.

3/24/2020

Bought it in a package, but this one would not hit the table at home or with my friends, so traded it away.

3/18/2020

Co-op, pandemic style. Incredibly difficult but a lot of fun.

3/9/2020

Given away July 25, 2017

2/26/2020

My family loves this game!

2/26/2020

by paka

Quite nice co-op. Even thought I've played the Island variant only once, the Desert is much much better one. Its a quite tough one. Won twice so far. Bad thing is, it seems to get the same problem as Pandemic. One player can start taking over the game with his ideas for how things should be done and approached. Yes, its possible to not do those suggestions, but then again it wouldn't be as optimal play as it could be. Another side of the coin, if one starts to tell others what to do, then he might just aswell play it all by his lonesome. Can't really point what I think, but I'm starting to get the same vibe that we got with Pandemic in the end (before we sold it). It has much better quality and its damn gorgeous, so props should go out.

2/25/2020

Enjoyable but would rather play Pandemic.

2/14/2020

I'd rather play a different co-op game if given the chance.

2/13/2020

Great game that just stressed me out.

1/25/2020

45 min 2-5 players

1/25/2020

Game is a great co-op game, but can be quite repetitive despite the different player types.

12/31/2019

Hatfield

12/21/2019

One of the better straight co-ops. I actually really enjoy the mechanic of the moving storm. Wife hates this.

12/12/2019

Location: Kallax

12/3/2019

Finally played a game with more than just myself. It was fun. We just lost. I think I like Forbidden Island just a smidge more because it is easier to teach to others, but this one has the advantage of having more to think about. Again, I am not sure how many times we will get it played at my game group as we prefer competitive games when we can manage to get together. It is fun with the family though.

11/14/2019

Feels more random than Forbidden Island, but it has new mechanics that we really enjoy.

10/25/2019

Very enjoyable (and difficult) co-op. Suitable for kids as young as 7 or 8 to play independently, and the co-op nature of the game allows them to learn some more complex strategy and puzzle-solving than they otherwise could on their own.

10/22/2019

by hana

Ok as a gateway game for casual gamers or kids. But too light after 2 plays. I recommend just jumping straight to Pandemic or Horrified.

10/17/2019

A GREAT co-op. Plays great at all player counts. All of the components are super fantastic. Plays in just the right amount of time. Is a complete and total game, not requiring any expansions (or pieces of garbage extras). It's just great. It can be hard or unlucky at times, but both of those ideas somewhat fit into the theme of the game, so you never feel cheated. Overall, a great co-op. Much better than Forbidden Island IMO.

10/17/2019

Itch: co-op For me, the good: - The theme permeates everything in an amazing way - Clues offer an interesting alternative to Pandemic or Forbidden Island's set collection - I like coops The bad - Finding the clues feels like an exercise in "flip all the tiles before you die". While I initially liked the clues approach, its started to make me question my purchase. - I grew up in the dessert and loathe them, so I'd prefer the look of Forbidden Island but it felt too easy and too close to Pandemic. - I tend to prefer more real-world themes, so I probably would have preferred Flashpoint for my non-Pandemic coop.

9/19/2019

Traded for Corona de Hierro on 3/22/19

7/15/2019

Co-op

5/21/2019

FULLY SLEEVED 49 x KMC Perfect Size (100/pack) - (64 x 89mm)

5/15/2019

Leacock has done variation upon variation of his coop formula and this is one of the best. The engaging theme, impactful player powers, and consistently close wins and losses make this one a winner. I'll play this before base Pandemic any time.

5/13/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/forbidden-desert/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/forbidden-desert-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

I am excited for this to be a thing.

3/16/2019

What a great game@! Good game mechanics that lead to good player interaction in a cooperative game play. The theme is fun as well. Buy It.

2/15/2019

Fun, quick co-op game that is easily beaten—I’m sure it’ll be fun with the kiddo. My partner likes this one the most out of all co-op games we’ve played.

2/14/2019

Initials on box lid, upper left corner

2/12/2019

2-5, 45m

1/25/2019

Fun game, but doesn't feel like it'd offer a lot of replayability when playing with the same group. Give it new people and it shines!

1/22/2019

Celeste and I struggle to beat this.

1/11/2019

$16.81 18-Apr-15

1/10/2019

A good light co-op game with some nice components in line with Forbidden Island.

12/24/2018

(3/17) 5. (10/17) Drop to 4. A fine gateway coop, but I don't think there's much chance of me playing this again in the future. Prefer it to Island though.

12/22/2018