Clans of Caledonia

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (95 Total)

7
66
20
1
0

by t2

Gift from Sam 3/18.

2/18/2020

Indeed, better than Terra Mystica. Awfully similar, but cleaner in terms of rules and offers slightly more player interaction. Rather dry, but reasonably pleasant.

1/26/2020

Solid Euro game that doesn't take a long time. I've only played solo so far, but I enjoyed it and want to play more. This is a game I'm excited to introduce to new people. I like very heavy games so this feels mid-heavy to me. It'd be a great game to play at the end of the evening when everyone is tired but still wants something interesting.

1/25/2020

A streamlined version of Terra Mystica: lighter and faster.

1/4/2020

Germany

1/3/2020

An engaging, solid economic game with some very interesting choices. The variety of clans and their unique abilities ensures everyone's strategy is largely different. I pulled out a shocking win in my first game by virtue of Clan Buchanan's ability to get more contracts, making up for my game-long deficit in Glory Points with huge bonuses for goods shipped. Plenty of variability in setup means lots of replayability. This one deserves the hype it's getting. My only drawbacks: Some of the strategies and scoring are kind of difficult to grasp without more plays, so you won't really get to appreciate this game fully until you have it to the table several times.

1/2/2020

Amazon

11/12/2019

FOR SALE FOR TRADE Brain burning engine builder with unique player abilities. Prone to analysis paralysis, unfortunately. Great use of a market and tough decisions. Good player interaction. INCLUDED: GeekUp Bag Set: Clans of Caledonia

10/25/2019

#8

10/17/2019

Being of Scottish heritage, any new game set in that setting catches my eye. One with decent art and interesting game play jumps to the top of my list to at least try. Having done just that did not drop this off my list to acquire. If anything it galvanized my desire to own the game.

6/26/2019

KS backed 28/4 Received 4/11 First game in - 2 player & lots of ways to score. Second game - 4 player - did really badly and took quite a lot to explain rules. 3rd game in and really starting to see how the different elements interact and enjoying this.

4/12/2019

Includes Meeple Realty insert.

3/27/2019

An enjoyable, engaging game with high quality components and lots to think about. The different mechanisms: buildings, maps, contracts, market all work together quite seamlessly. The production quality is lovely: all the different wooden bits are completely adorable and fun.

2/14/2019

Kickstarter basic edition.

1/29/2019

Not as good as I thought it would be. All of the different boards and pieces make the game pretty fiddly. Most of the actions aren't that interesting. Interaction is minimal and at the end I don't feel like I've accomplished anything.

1/15/2019

smooth, balanced, lots of paths to victory

1/11/2019

(11/17) 8. A very cool game that blends elements of Terra Mystica with a dash of Marco Polo. A really cool game that I'm looking forward to playing again for a couple reasons. 1) Because it was really need and deep but also B) because there was some suspicion at the table that my power (that of being able to have a second contract) might be OP? Interested to try playing with another clan.

12/22/2018