Arboretum

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (140 Total)

6
54
72
7
1

Is everyone so koo-koo for this just because it's hard to find? Because now that I've played it a bunch I'm having a hard time even rating it a 6. Yes the art is charming (I have a custom printed copy with similar art) but we already have like 10 games that do the exact same thing and for a game that's just a deck of numbered cards with suits it's not really blowing us away.

2/15/2020

Wife hated it because of how ruthless it was but I love it. The art is beautiful. Discard/draw mechanism similar to Lost Cities with an intricate scoring system.

2/14/2020

This game is so SO brutal. Some of the worst AP I've ever seen in players. Games routinely take 2 hours. I love this game on paper but it is agony in practice.

2/5/2020

80 Tristan

2/2/2020

Including PNP Version Sleeved with Fantasy Flight

1/30/2020

This game is legendary in the board gaming community for a reason. We have yet to introduce this to someone who doesn't like it. For a simple game about trees it becomes a rich experience of agonizing hand management and tile placement. If you can find this game for under $50 you won't regret buying it.

1/26/2020

Forces some painful painful decisions. Love the agony this gorgeous little game creates around the table.

1/26/2020

Kind of like multiplayer Lost Cities without the teeth.

1/26/2020

Deep, hard to teach, and only a little interesting.

1/25/2020

An instant classic. This game packs so much depth and brain-twisting goodness into such a small package and such simple rules.

1/24/2020

Gabs' copy

1/24/2020

Cutthroat game which is much more evil than the wonderful boxart would make you assume. Tough game, but a neat little puzzle. Cards are pretty, and the mindgames you run through a short game like this, are quite impressive.

1/24/2020

A nearly perfect game IMO. The draw two/play one/discard one action keeps the game moving ahead consistently. It's easy to teach and relatively easy to learn, but mastery is difficult since other players can have such an effect on what cards are available on the table. Players must balance getting cards out onto the table vs keeping their strategy hidden, while also deciding whether to sacrifice precious space in their 7-card hand for holding onto cards to score a type of tree at the end of the game AND/OR keep another player from scoring. We've played this many many times in our household, and it's always a winner.

1/24/2020

Nine scoring categories, only the person with the most valuable tree(s) of a type gets to score those trees. Points are dependent on the orthogonal path that can be made starting and ending with one type of tree and increasing values inbetween. Play turn involves taking two cards, playing one to the individual arboretum, and then discarding to personal discard pile.

1/3/2020

Nabbed a first edition in a BGG auction and am very happy. Used it to introduce my SO to hobby gaming and she immediately started clobbering me. This needs to make it to the table more.

1/2/2020

Sleeved.

12/20/2019

July 2019 $14

12/14/2019

Beautiful game. It's nice and relaxing at two players and slightly more thought provoking and cut throat at 4. Stored in Quiver case for portability.

12/12/2019

This is a card game about laying trees in an orchard. You get points based on the trees that you have laid down but you have to have the most point of that tree type in your hand at the end of the game in order to be able to score a particular tree type. This conflict makes for a moderately interesting puzzle.

12/3/2019

I like this a lot, but for what it is the scoring mechanism is WAY to complicated for the crowd that I want to play it with.

11/14/2019

amazon

11/12/2019

Tough card game of set collection and tile laying with a clever scoring mechanism. Beautiful illustrations. For some reason, if we have 30 minutes, we rather play Schotten Totten, Patchwork or, if we are feeling frisky, Race for the Galaxy.

10/25/2019

SOLD: 2018 GAMEPLAY Draw two cards from any discard pile or top deck, play one card from your hand into your arboretum, and one card into your discard pile. You can only score the trees in your arboretum if you have the highest sum of those trees in your hand. THOUGHTS Arboretum has had diminishing returns for me, although I suppose that’s a criticism you can level at any game. First off, it works best at 2-3 players so I often find myself in a situation where I’m pulling it out when I have that player count, which means I’m often teaching it to new people. Apart from my first few plays with Remise, I haven’t had any new player really get excited about the game and I think that has cooled my enthusiasm. It has some extremely tough decisions and there is room for tricky play and crafting of pathways. Still, the scoring, where you see all your best-laid plans come to fruition, often feels lifeless. PROS -I often comment on the beautiful art of games but Arboretum might take it hands down. Front to back, these cards are breathtaking. -Amazing design for a game that involves a deck of cards and NOTHING else. -As mentioned earlier, this game has some of the toughest moments of decision of any I’ve encountered. CONS -I rarely feel a sense of fun or clever play even though those elements exist in the game. -The scoring does not feel exciting.

10/18/2019

Best: 2-4 Time: 30 Min Weight: 2.16

10/17/2019

An interesting spatial game. Not sure how often it will make it to the table as some of my game group do not enjoy it.

6/26/2019

Really interesting and agonizing decisions between what to play, keep and discard. Very thinky! Great for 2p; I still need to try it at 3p and 4p.

5/14/2019

This is one beautiful, but mean little card game. The wife describes the game as "just plain shady!" Plays quickly with some difficult decisions to make on ever turn.

4/22/2019

played 3 games with the lauraine today. initial rating of a 7, having tried it 2 player. Enjoyable & quick. Some concerns over luck dependant gameplay.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/arboretum-2015/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/arboretum-2015-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

[b] :STAR: COMPLETE RATING: [/b] [c] [b]SCORE CRITERIA WEIGHTING ------- STAR RATING SCALE -------[/b] (9.0) FUN (x15): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: REALLY FUN (9.0) GAMEPLAY (x5): NO DEPTH :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: LOT OF DEPTH (FOR THE WEIGHT) (10.0) GAME FLOW (x5): FIDDLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: SILKY SMOOTH (9.0) DOWNTIMES (x2): LOT OF :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: ZERO (7.0) RANDOMNESS (x2): PURE LUCK :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: PURE SKILLS (9.0) MECHANICS (x2): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: INTERESTING / INNOVATIVE (8.0) REPLAYABILITY (x5): ZERO :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: INFINITE (10.0) SCALABILITY (x3): POOR :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: GREAT AT ALL PLAYER COUNTS (10.0) PORTABILITY (x1): BULKY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: SUPER EASY TO PLAY ANYWHERE (8.0) THEME (x1): UNATTRACTIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ATTRACTIVE (9.0) AESTHETICS (x1): UGLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: GORGEOUS (7.0) COMPONENTS (x1): LOW QUALITY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: HIGH QUALITY (10.0) VALUE (x2): TOO EXPENSIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: REALLY CHEAP(LOW COST FOR WHAT WE GET) (8.0) SETUP TIME (x2): LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ZERO (10.0) GAME LENGTH (x2): TOO SHORT/LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: JUST PERFECT (9.0) RULES COMPLEXITY (x1): COMPLEX :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: SIMPLE [/c] [b]TOTAL = 449/50 = 8.98[/b] :thumbsup: [b]POSITIVE POINTS:[/b] ++ Scales well, plays just as good at 2 as it does at 4. ++ Gorgeous card art. ++ Easy to teach, can get set up and playing with new players in less than 5 minutes. ++ Tough, mean decisions to be made. :thumbsdown: [b]NEGATIVE POINTS:[/b] -- The theme doesn't appeal to everyone. -- Scoring can be confusing for new players.

3/1/2019

Incredible game. Great at three or four, I haven't had a chance to try at two but I don't think that'll change. Make sure you're okay with mean games, the first time I played I scored zero points, you'll often only get to score one of your paths.

2/26/2019

Pleasantly restrictive choices.

2/12/2019

A little too brain-burny yet short for most situations.

1/29/2019

Pretty trees!

1/18/2019

A really fun little card game with a ton of tension. Really enjoyable with two.

1/15/2019

Beautiful set collection game that plays like a more complicated Lost Cities. Love the different types of scoring rules and I think that it scales well above 2, unlike Lost Cities' ability to. Had to trade it away because it wasn't hitting the table as much. I think the AP tendency made the game longer than it should be.

1/10/2019

(12/16) 9. I'm more liberal than most with my "10" ratings, but I suspect this might be a 10 for me. This is like Biblios, one of my favorite games of all time already, on steroids. I described it like a knife fight in a phone booth where everyone is holding their weapon by the blade. The only issue I might have is that it's TOO tight. NO choice seems like the right one. And yet, as I've said, I think I love it. (9/17) Raise to 10. Yup, my early inclination was right. I LOVE this game. It is BRUTAL. Every decision is agonizing. Biblios on steroids. My #2 favorite game of all time.

12/22/2018