Arboretum

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (55 Total)

3
22
28
1
1

SOLD: 2018 GAMEPLAY Draw two cards from any discard pile or top deck, play one card from your hand into your arboretum, and one card into your discard pile. You can only score the trees in your arboretum if you have the highest sum of those trees in your hand. THOUGHTS Arboretum has had diminishing returns for me, although I suppose that’s a criticism you can level at any game. First off, it works best at 2-3 players so I often find myself in a situation where I’m pulling it out when I have that player count, which means I’m often teaching it to new people. Apart from my first few plays with Remise, I haven’t had any new player really get excited about the game and I think that has cooled my enthusiasm. It has some extremely tough decisions and there is room for tricky play and crafting of pathways. Still, the scoring, where you see all your best-laid plans come to fruition, often feels lifeless. PROS -I often comment on the beautiful art of games but Arboretum might take it hands down. Front to back, these cards are breathtaking. -Amazing design for a game that involves a deck of cards and NOTHING else. -As mentioned earlier, this game has some of the toughest moments of decision of any I’ve encountered. CONS -I rarely feel a sense of fun or clever play even though those elements exist in the game. -The scoring does not feel exciting.

10/18/2019

Best: 2-4 Time: 30 Min Weight: 2.16

10/17/2019

An interesting spatial game. Not sure how often it will make it to the table as some of my game group do not enjoy it.

6/26/2019

Really interesting and agonizing decisions between what to play, keep and discard. Very thinky! Great for 2p; I still need to try it at 3p and 4p.

5/14/2019

This is one beautiful, but mean little card game. The wife describes the game as "just plain shady!" Plays quickly with some difficult decisions to make on ever turn.

4/22/2019

played 3 games with the lauraine today. initial rating of a 7, having tried it 2 player. Enjoyable & quick. Some concerns over luck dependant gameplay.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/arboretum-2015/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/arboretum-2015-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

[b] :STAR: COMPLETE RATING: [/b] [c] [b]SCORE CRITERIA WEIGHTING ------- STAR RATING SCALE -------[/b] (9.0) FUN (x15): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: REALLY FUN (9.0) GAMEPLAY (x5): NO DEPTH :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: LOT OF DEPTH (FOR THE WEIGHT) (10.0) GAME FLOW (x5): FIDDLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: SILKY SMOOTH (9.0) DOWNTIMES (x2): LOT OF :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: ZERO (7.0) RANDOMNESS (x2): PURE LUCK :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: PURE SKILLS (9.0) MECHANICS (x2): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: INTERESTING / INNOVATIVE (8.0) REPLAYABILITY (x5): ZERO :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: INFINITE (10.0) SCALABILITY (x3): POOR :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: GREAT AT ALL PLAYER COUNTS (10.0) PORTABILITY (x1): BULKY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: SUPER EASY TO PLAY ANYWHERE (8.0) THEME (x1): UNATTRACTIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ATTRACTIVE (9.0) AESTHETICS (x1): UGLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: GORGEOUS (7.0) COMPONENTS (x1): LOW QUALITY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: HIGH QUALITY (10.0) VALUE (x2): TOO EXPENSIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: REALLY CHEAP(LOW COST FOR WHAT WE GET) (8.0) SETUP TIME (x2): LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ZERO (10.0) GAME LENGTH (x2): TOO SHORT/LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: JUST PERFECT (9.0) RULES COMPLEXITY (x1): COMPLEX :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: SIMPLE [/c] [b]TOTAL = 449/50 = 8.98[/b] :thumbsup: [b]POSITIVE POINTS:[/b] ++ Scales well, plays just as good at 2 as it does at 4. ++ Gorgeous card art. ++ Easy to teach, can get set up and playing with new players in less than 5 minutes. ++ Tough, mean decisions to be made. :thumbsdown: [b]NEGATIVE POINTS:[/b] -- The theme doesn't appeal to everyone. -- Scoring can be confusing for new players.

3/1/2019

Incredible game. Great at three or four, I haven't had a chance to try at two but I don't think that'll change. Make sure you're okay with mean games, the first time I played I scored zero points, you'll often only get to score one of your paths.

2/26/2019

Pleasantly restrictive choices.

2/12/2019

A little too brain-burny yet short for most situations.

1/29/2019

Pretty trees!

1/18/2019

A really fun little card game with a ton of tension. Really enjoyable with two.

1/15/2019

Beautiful set collection game that plays like a more complicated Lost Cities. Love the different types of scoring rules and I think that it scales well above 2, unlike Lost Cities' ability to. Had to trade it away because it wasn't hitting the table as much. I think the AP tendency made the game longer than it should be.

1/10/2019

(12/16) 9. I'm more liberal than most with my "10" ratings, but I suspect this might be a 10 for me. This is like Biblios, one of my favorite games of all time already, on steroids. I described it like a knife fight in a phone booth where everyone is holding their weapon by the blade. The only issue I might have is that it's TOO tight. NO choice seems like the right one. And yet, as I've said, I think I love it. (9/17) Raise to 10. Yup, my early inclination was right. I LOVE this game. It is BRUTAL. Every decision is agonizing. Biblios on steroids. My #2 favorite game of all time.

12/22/2018