Arboretum

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (38 Total)

2
14
20
1
1

Really interesting and agonizing decisions between what to play, keep and discard. Very thinky! Great for 2p; I still need to try it at 3p and 4p.

5/14/2019

This is one beautiful, but mean little card game. The wife describes the game as "just plain shady!" Plays quickly with some difficult decisions to make on ever turn.

4/22/2019

played 3 games with the lauraine today. initial rating of a 7, having tried it 2 player. Enjoyable & quick. Some concerns over luck dependant gameplay.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/arboretum-2015/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/arboretum-2015-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

[b] :STAR: COMPLETE RATING: [/b] [c] [b]SCORE CRITERIA WEIGHTING ------- STAR RATING SCALE -------[/b] (9.0) FUN (x15): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: REALLY FUN (9.0) GAMEPLAY (x5): NO DEPTH :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: LOT OF DEPTH (FOR THE WEIGHT) (10.0) GAME FLOW (x5): FIDDLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: SILKY SMOOTH (9.0) DOWNTIMES (x2): LOT OF :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: ZERO (7.0) RANDOMNESS (x2): PURE LUCK :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: PURE SKILLS (9.0) MECHANICS (x2): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: INTERESTING / INNOVATIVE (8.0) REPLAYABILITY (x5): ZERO :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: INFINITE (10.0) SCALABILITY (x3): POOR :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: GREAT AT ALL PLAYER COUNTS (10.0) PORTABILITY (x1): BULKY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: SUPER EASY TO PLAY ANYWHERE (8.0) THEME (x1): UNATTRACTIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ATTRACTIVE (9.0) AESTHETICS (x1): UGLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: GORGEOUS (7.0) COMPONENTS (x1): LOW QUALITY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: HIGH QUALITY (10.0) VALUE (x2): TOO EXPENSIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: REALLY CHEAP(LOW COST FOR WHAT WE GET) (8.0) SETUP TIME (x2): LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ZERO (10.0) GAME LENGTH (x2): TOO SHORT/LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: JUST PERFECT (9.0) RULES COMPLEXITY (x1): COMPLEX :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: SIMPLE [/c] [b]TOTAL = 449/50 = 8.98[/b] :thumbsup: [b]POSITIVE POINTS:[/b] ++ Scales well, plays just as good at 2 as it does at 4. ++ Gorgeous card art. ++ Easy to teach, can get set up and playing with new players in less than 5 minutes. ++ Tough, mean decisions to be made. :thumbsdown: [b]NEGATIVE POINTS:[/b] -- The theme doesn't appeal to everyone. -- Scoring can be confusing for new players.

3/1/2019

Incredible game. Great at three or four, I haven't had a chance to try at two but I don't think that'll change. Make sure you're okay with mean games, the first time I played I scored zero points, you'll often only get to score one of your paths.

2/26/2019

Pleasantly restrictive choices.

2/12/2019

A little too brain-burny yet short for most situations.

1/29/2019

Pretty trees!

1/18/2019

A really fun little card game with a ton of tension. Really enjoyable with two.

1/15/2019

Beautiful set collection game that plays like a more complicated Lost Cities. Love the different types of scoring rules and I think that it scales well above 2, unlike Lost Cities' ability to. Had to trade it away because it wasn't hitting the table as much. I think the AP tendency made the game longer than it should be.

1/10/2019

(12/16) 9. I'm more liberal than most with my "10" ratings, but I suspect this might be a 10 for me. This is like Biblios, one of my favorite games of all time already, on steroids. I described it like a knife fight in a phone booth where everyone is holding their weapon by the blade. The only issue I might have is that it's TOO tight. NO choice seems like the right one. And yet, as I've said, I think I love it. (9/17) Raise to 10. Yup, my early inclination was right. I LOVE this game. It is BRUTAL. Every decision is agonizing. Biblios on steroids. My #2 favorite game of all time.

12/22/2018