Small World

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (73 Total)

0
21
39
11
0

2-5 player...

by noduh

2-5 player (best 4) 45-75 minutes

2/17/2019

My initial...

by elltrain

My initial impressions of this game were very strong, but over time the races just don't feel distinct enough. Good idea, and a great game for non-gamers, but I don't see myself playing it a lot more.

2/16/2019

This was m...

by Jason Speicher

This was my first big introduction to a designer game, other than settlers of catan. I love this game, and how the different races/powers can make for a different game each time. Still trying to work my wife into enjoying it.

2/13/2019

I like thi...

by mgacy

I like this, but now I only want to play it with people that already know the rules.

2/12/2019

This game ...

by Daedelous

This game is an average, solid game. Two major complaints: 1) Once you choose your race, the remaining choices are pretty obvious. Not much strategy or creativity here, which makes it less exciting. 2) The artwork on the board is EXTREMELY busy. This makes it very difficult to see your pieces, especially when multiple players' pieces are upside down (which makes them all grey in color). It's a problem.

2/12/2019

2-5, 80m

by snurp

2-5, 80m

1/25/2019

Great entr...

by jasondeutsch

Great entry into dudes on a map. My group was comfortable with heavier games so we ended up not playing this much.

1/22/2019

Area contr...

by Zeugmatic Player

Area control through numerical superiority, plus variable player powers in hundreds of combinations. What I wanted from Cosmic Encounter the first time I played it. Best with more than two players. Every race/power expansion just makes the game better. Plays include all race/power expansions owned at the time of the play.

1/22/2019

Like a tac...

by klz

Like a tactical version of Risk, controlling and conquering territory is important. The variety of combinations works very well.

1/22/2019

Very easy ...

by andrewishi

Very easy to learn, and a varied and thematic set of races and abilities. Also provides multiple boards for easy scaling to number of players. I'm not sure there's really much here in the way of gameplay, either tactically or strategically: while moving your armies, there seems to be either a blindingly obvious best move, or several identical moves; the only decision you actually make in this game is which opponent to mess with. This means three things. First, since there are no real decisions to make, combat is dull. Second, there is a big gang-up-on-whoever-is-winning factor, since there's no real way to deter attacks against your opponents aside from creating a wall of guys at your frontiers, Risk-style (and, again Risk-style, an opponent can break through and gobble up your delicious unprotected interior). Third, since there is also a significant difference in the power levels of the various races and race qualities, there's a big luck factor involved, with the player who happens to be ready to decline when Ghouls or Sorcerers are in the mix in much better shape than the guy who is seeing Dwarves and Wizards (who are boring as well as awful!) I will give this game high marks for style, but style can't completely make up for dull gameplay.

1/21/2019

The theme ...

by usagi-san

The theme turns me off and I prefer Vinci.

1/21/2019

Only one m...

by ubRtstcl

Only one mechanic? And a boring one when left alone at that. This should be the kids version of a much better game.

1/15/2019

The funnes...

by agrajag

The funness of this game is largely based on who you play with, as the best part is convincing other players to attack your enemies instead of you. Plays best with 4 or 5, not recommended for 2.

1/12/2019

First of a...

by ekloff

First of all, Tales & Legends is an absolute must. Don't play or buy without it. The gameplay is too straight forward, as most of the strategy comes from selecting races and selecting when to go into 'Decline', while the rest of the game kind of plays itself out as you observe from the sideline. The two player game is very weak(unless played with 2 races each), and with five players downtime dominates. Better suited for the youngsters (or as the app).

1/11/2019

$32.99 11-...

by michaellasalle

$32.99 11-Apr-15

1/10/2019

My first v...

by KimchiTurtle

My first venture into the hobby and boy, am I glad I did. A close friend didn't like the simple, repetitive dice rolling of Risk and wanted something new. Picked this up on an Amazon sale and haven't looked back. It's fantasy theme was an instant hit and it's replay value is super high.

1/10/2019

Played twi...

by ursasmar

Played twice, in excellent condition. Slight shelf wear on the box.

1/10/2019

Takes the ...

by Psylocke

Takes the men on maps mechanic and makes it very fun and more tactical than something like Risk, but still light and fast moving. I love all the races and the way that powers each one has will change every game.

12/24/2018

The game i...

by Cooking_Meeple

The game is good but its not at all my type of game. :/

12/22/2018