Libertalia Board Game

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (44 Total)

0
12
24
6
2

Cut throat fun.

11/14/2019

I have not brought this to a table that hasn't enjoyed it. Mind you, the table should be warned that "take that" is a part of being a pirate. The interaction and combinations the cards can create is deeper than I expected.

10/23/2019

I have not brought this to a table that hasn't enjoyed it. Mind you, the table should be warned that "take that" is a part of being a pirate. The interaction and combinations the cards can create is deeper than I expected.

10/23/2019

I like pirates, I like hidden information. This game was just flat for me and my group. Eminent Domain: Battlecruisers does the same thing for me in a more streamlined package.

6/26/2019

August 2012 - Had a 5 player game. Reminded me slightly of citadels with the role selection. Rules seemed straight forward and game play was quick. It's certainly the type of game I enjoy playing and the randomness of the crew selection would keep it fresh. July 2013 - Only played a handful of times and either the game has been a real blast or felt like it outstayed its welcome. Undecided. Secret Santa 2014 gift - feeling spoilt :)

4/12/2019

Lots of psychology and guessing what people would play. Fun game, but not really my style.

3/5/2019

Fun, good theme, nice mechanics. A really unique game.

2/21/2019

I would play this any day over citadels. It has a lot going for it, and I see why many people enjoy it. It's just not really my thing. I wouldn't turn it down, though.

2/16/2019

A buccaneer's battle of wits. The game is very well produced for such a light mix of press-your-luck and deduction, but Libertalia has never managed to grab me. The balancing act between a card's abilities and rank creates some interesting choices, but there isn't enough to explore from one game to the next.

1/11/2019

Initially looked at this as another pirate-themed game for one of our players who loves pirates. She says she's content with Jamaica to scratch that itch for now. Will look into it if that sentiment changes.

1/10/2019

(10/16) 7. (10/17) Drop to 6. A sorta blase first play that didn't leave me too excited to play again, though I certainly would if someone suggested it.

12/22/2018