Libertalia Board Game

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (88 Total)

0
28
47
11
2

This game is fairly short, and plays easily and quickly. It can look a little daunting, and teaching looks like it might be hard. But really it's pretty straight forward once you start playing the game.There is interesting interactions that can happen with the cards, and it is fun enough to play, but there are many games I would rather play. But maybe not in the time frame this one fits in. As a 'Super-filler' it's right up there.

4/1/2020

Rating based on 1st play with 5 players, which was quite nice.

3/18/2020

Given to Kurt & Meg's gaming friend in Portland, OR.

2/28/2020

Just not as interesting as other games that have role selection.

2/9/2020

Great hidden roll game. I like that you don't use all your pirates in a hand and your hand changes from your opponents, and you can build a strategy that works for you.

1/31/2020

This has been compared to Citadels and in a way it is similar. But the speed and replayability of it far outrank Citadels.

1/28/2020

Fun with the right crowd, which is damning with faint praise. This game is at an awkward intersection of "no real control" and "nothing much interesting happens". If you're going to have a game that lasts more than 30 minutes where I have next to no control over my fate, at least let there be hijinks and cool stuff happening--not just a couple of coins changing hands.

1/26/2020

Not yet played. High priority.

1/24/2020

Plays well with more people and more people doesn't slow down the speed of the game at all. Enjoyable simulaneous role selection game.

1/7/2020

Citadels like mechanic due to the card play, but knowing what to play is dictated by what your opponents are likely to do. And after the first of three rounds the cards are not the same around the table.

1/3/2020

An ok blind bidding game.

12/20/2019

Rated upon first play. I can see that the game will never play the same way twice.

11/14/2019

Cut throat fun.

11/14/2019

I have not brought this to a table that hasn't enjoyed it. Mind you, the table should be warned that "take that" is a part of being a pirate. The interaction and combinations the cards can create is deeper than I expected.

10/23/2019

I have not brought this to a table that hasn't enjoyed it. Mind you, the table should be warned that "take that" is a part of being a pirate. The interaction and combinations the cards can create is deeper than I expected.

10/23/2019

I like pirates, I like hidden information. This game was just flat for me and my group. Eminent Domain: Battlecruisers does the same thing for me in a more streamlined package.

6/26/2019

August 2012 - Had a 5 player game. Reminded me slightly of citadels with the role selection. Rules seemed straight forward and game play was quick. It's certainly the type of game I enjoy playing and the randomness of the crew selection would keep it fresh. July 2013 - Only played a handful of times and either the game has been a real blast or felt like it outstayed its welcome. Undecided. Secret Santa 2014 gift - feeling spoilt :)

4/12/2019

Lots of psychology and guessing what people would play. Fun game, but not really my style.

3/5/2019

Fun, good theme, nice mechanics. A really unique game.

2/21/2019

I would play this any day over citadels. It has a lot going for it, and I see why many people enjoy it. It's just not really my thing. I wouldn't turn it down, though.

2/16/2019

A buccaneer's battle of wits. The game is very well produced for such a light mix of press-your-luck and deduction, but Libertalia has never managed to grab me. The balancing act between a card's abilities and rank creates some interesting choices, but there isn't enough to explore from one game to the next.

1/11/2019

Initially looked at this as another pirate-themed game for one of our players who loves pirates. She says she's content with Jamaica to scratch that itch for now. Will look into it if that sentiment changes.

1/10/2019

(10/16) 7. (10/17) Drop to 6. A sorta blase first play that didn't leave me too excited to play again, though I certainly would if someone suggested it.

12/22/2018