Roll Player

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (93 Total)

2
45
39
7
0

Short length, many interesting decisions. Can get a little samey.

2/14/2020

****Monsters & minions expansion

1/28/2020

It's been a while since I've been suckered into a game on account of its theme, so I presume I was overdue. This is a pedestrian dice/drafting game that doesn't even make good use of its trappings--all the cool bits (alignment, class, background) are merely scoring conditions. You then spend much of the game upping your attributes, which isn't nearly as thematically satisfying to me.

1/26/2020

I'll be damned, there really is a game here. I'm certainly biased by the fact characer-building was my favorite part of D&D, but I took this to a game group and we had a good time with it. Looking forward to the expansion.

1/2/2020

Can eventually get math-heavy as more dice get on your player board.

12/20/2019

Expansions: Monsters & Minions

10/27/2019

I love Roll Player. I used to play the character creation screen of Baldur's Gate II and the expansions of Neverwinter Nights. It is a simple dice drafting and manipulation game, but the creation of a role-playing character is so fun and so well integrated that I could play the game 15 times in a row.

10/25/2019

7.6 / 1-4p / 60m / 2016 / 2.31 (Looks interesting, watch some reviews on it, Rahdo #3 for 2016, MWBG 2017 #8, Druid City #4, Keith Matejka)

6/15/2019

Includes Monsters and Minions expansion

6/14/2019

Every session is a unique puzzle and ends in a functional, if suboptimal character sheet that you could actually use! Clever, a tad silly, and very enjoyable.

5/13/2019

Enjoying the game, just that little bit less each time i play it. It is fun, but with little interaction. Hoping the expansion ramps it back up.

4/12/2019

Most cards are sleeved.

3/11/2019

A very enjoyable puzzle game. My gaming partner didn’t like how it was very mathy but she still did love the game. The production quality & illustrations are fantastic.

2/14/2019

A very enjoyable puzzle game. My gaming partner didn’t like how it was very mathy but she still did love the game. The production quality & illustrations are fantastic.

2/14/2019

Fun dice manipulation game. Fairly light and doesn't offer much replayability as your strategy will be the same every game.

1/15/2019

This one surprised me, in that I liked it a lot more than I expected to. Plays fast, but with a sufficient puzzle to be satisfying. There is obviously a lot of dice rolling, but I felt like I had plenty of ways to mitigate bad luck. Components are good overall, with chunky dice and thick player boards. The cards are also great quality, so much that I almost didn't sleeve them. This clicked right away with my group, and everyone wanted to roll up some D&D characters based on the crazy characters we ended up with. I could see this becoming a frequently played think-y filler.

1/15/2019

DIY

1/10/2019

(10/17) 6. Suuuuuuuper clever and thematic, which the former D&D player in me really appreciates. Much, much more mathy and planny than you might expect. I really like it, but probably not as much as most. Something a little uninteresting to me for whatever reason?

12/22/2018