Pandemic

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (240 Total)

12
94
107
18
6

Have played this a lot in the past. Sold it. Bought the new Edition and then wasn't sure I would keep it. But my wife and I have played it and she loves it and I can see why this is a game that will be in my top 10. Great co-op. Still loving it!

10/18/2019

Wife got for me for xmas 2010! woo!

10/18/2019

Highly recommended. The cooperative mechanic was a great addition to our collection.

10/17/2019

by 3z

Like new

10/4/2019

1st edition box... upgraded all cards and components to second edition...

9/16/2019

mmmmmmeeehhhhh. I think I need on the brink, or to play it several times with the same people.

9/10/2019

Every element of this game isn't so much balanced as precision engineered - it's possible the finest design work I've seen. This is one I want to replay as soon as it's over.

8/13/2019

Suffers from quarter backing so hard I almost want to plummet this game into nonexistence within my ratings. How this game is so loved is beyond me. Yes, the scenario is well done and the pieces look nice but I pretty much hate this game. I'd probably rate Pandemic a 2 from my experience with it, but I'm fairly certain that playing this game with a different crowd could skyrocket it several points higher than it is.

8/5/2019

Just an unforgiving game.

6/26/2019

w/ On the Brink expansion

6/15/2019

Nobody in my family wants to play this with me, i don't know why

5/28/2019

FULLY SLEEVED 118 x KMC Perfect Size (100/pack) - (64 x 89mm)

5/15/2019

Base Pandemic is very good and fun to play with others or solo. The variable powers make a big difference. I need expansions to keep it fresh!

5/14/2019

Had this game for about a year now and still finding it fresh and challenging. The rules are simple and the game play fun. I am a big fan of cooperative games and this one for me ticks all the boxes. Not tried the expansion yet. Changing my rating from a 9 to an 8 on 30.11.2011. Still liking the game, but lacks the depth that having a week off on holiday and looking for something that's a real ball busting challenge would be. Changing rating from 8 to 7 having now had the option of playing other games and getting a greater appreciation of game mechanics. 14.04.2012 Finally got to play this whilst on holiday with the expansion. If you like the theme of the standard game, then get the expansion.

4/12/2019

Really an 8 but gets a boost for being THE game that really got me into board gaming.

4/11/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/pandemic/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/pandemic-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Love this game to death, such a great and simple concept and at least for me always feels like we win by the skin of our teeth

3/6/2019

Easily one of my favorite games to play with the wife. Great game I have probably played over a hundred times.

3/6/2019

Fun but challenging co-op game. Strategy seems a bit too complex if I was playing with newbies. Prone to having an alpha player dictate the game for everyone. Seems like there is a bit too much luck in not losing.

3/5/2019

This got me into board gaming, but I've moved on to better games. A few in my group like it, but I try to steer away from it. I'll play if they insist.

2/24/2019

Meh. Its kind of fun. I like the theme, gameplay doesn't grab me.

2/21/2019

2-5 player (best 4) 30-90 minutes

2/18/2019

Great co-op game, especially for a new gamer. On the Brink is borderline necessary to play this game.

2/16/2019

VG/LN

2/13/2019

Fun, but I'd rather play the variations at this point (The Cure, Pandemic: Cthulhu)

2/12/2019

Really good game, but not sure if I want to go back after playing Legacy.

2/11/2019

Great theme, excellent mechanism, best co-op game I know. Might get repetitive and challenge solely based on luck, but I guess that's what the expansions are for.

2/1/2019

2-4, 60m

1/25/2019

I'm mostly out on co-ops. The systems are largely the same, and rarely interesting after you see them once or twice. Pandemic gets a certain respect from me for its influence, but I don't know if I'll ever play it again. Great way to introduce people to board games, though... Trade Condition Notes: Excellent condition

1/23/2019

Really enjoy it but can only really bring it out a family get togethers when there are enough adults to play these types of games.

1/23/2019

Cooperative game friendly to non-gamers: Race around the world stopping disease outbreaks and finding cures. Even with all of the expansions and variations on this core system, Pandemic remains one of the best.

1/22/2019

I enjoy playing this game, but it was not for my group since they are too competitive. I tried to get my wife into it, but couldn't. It would probably be a good solo game, but isn't worth the setup when I can play games online if I want to.

1/22/2019

A fairly quick cooperative game, and probably a good one to get non-gamers into the hobby. The mechanics are simple, but the game can still be challenging. I'm not sure if this is because a certain number of games are unwinnable due to sheer dumb luck, or if this is because to frequently win you have to be somewhere on the learning curve that I haven't reached. Either way, it's still enjoyable, and seems to work well for a variety of people, so I'd assume it will work for most groups. There is some imbalance between the characters, which is unfortunate, but in a cooperative game it's less of a big deal. There is also the issue of do-what-the-strongest-player-says, but it seems like this is almost a universal feature of cooperative games, and Pandemic isn't necessarily worse than the others.

1/21/2019

I like the idea of co-op games but the only ones that I had played were Arkham Horror and LOTR. Those are good games but l-o-n-g. This one finished up in about 45 minutes with 4 epidemics. A nice beat-the-clock feel to it and I would certainly play this again. I liked the map, the chunky wood pieces and the gameplay. It is not something that I would buy, I think, but definitely worth the play time.

1/21/2019

Pandemic by itself was always too dry for me. But the expansion makes it interesting enough to buy. Got them together w/ sleeves thru Tanga

1/19/2019

[Pending to sleeve]

1/18/2019

Kjartan has this.

1/17/2019

This game is, well, infectious.

1/15/2019

Donated 1/8/16

1/11/2019

My first, and for a while my favorite cooperative game. Its incredibly prone to quarterbacking, but generally I've always felt like part of a team. My biggest grievance is that certain setups can make the game impossible, in a literal way. Its not like that happens often at all (maybe once ever), but the possibility turns me off. Over the years they have added new roles with new mechanisms, but certain roles clearly trump others. Granted, this offers additional challenge on top of game variance, but I rarely view it from that perspective. Also, since the release of the Legacy edition, I will likely never play the base game ever again.

1/11/2019

(+) Theme and mechanics fit really well together, unique player abilities, variable difficulty, promotes teamwork, fun and realistic theme (-) Some roles seem quite weaker than others, alpha players can control the game (needs the right group), can feel the same after a while (played this to death before I started tracking my plays), Pandemic: On the Brink seems like a better version of this

1/10/2019

Nice coop. I think it is a little easy to win.

1/10/2019

This is the granddaddy of modern cooperative games, the game that largely set the formula for other modern cooperative games. It's the perfect gateway game for new strategy and/or cooperative gamers. I have played it a lot and really loved it. That said, I only give it an 8 because many newer cooperative games (building on the Pandemic formula) have added more depth. I'll probably never play the original Pandemic again, except when introducing new gamers to cooperative games, but I nonetheless find it one of the most fun experiences I have had in gaming.

1/9/2019

I can't get enough games with this game.

12/29/2018

Very susceptible to alpha player problems which sucks a lot of what fun is there. Haven't played it with any expansions, so my rating is purely based on the base game.

12/24/2018

(7/16) 6. (10/17) Drop to 5. Obviously a groundbreaking game, but after having played so many games, especially Pandemic Legacy, I don't feel myself drawn to this one much more.

12/22/2018

A much more interesting co-op game then Forbidden Island - more robust and more challenging.

12/22/2018

Save the world from diseases. Really good theme and a co-op done really well.

12/22/2018