Taj Mahal

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (29 Total)

1
7
17
3
0

I really like this game, but can't seem to get the hang of it. Also seems to have problems with trying to catch up to someone, there's no way to really bash the leader in this one and it can be a problem with him controlling what he gets in the future and nobody able or willing to stop him/her sabotaging their own chances for second.I have seen two separate strategies win though. I wish the card points were another viable strategy, too often two people end up fighting over elephants or princes.

4/1/2020

No Review Description

2/25/2020

I get the feeling that I'm missing something--this game strikes me as deeper than I can play it, if that makes any sense. I want to play it more to see if I can figure it out. I have faith that it has the potential to be an all-time favourite. [EDIT] Suffers rather badly, I think, in comparison with Knizia's later Beowulf. In particular, coming in second or third doesn't hose you nearly as badly in the latter.

1/26/2020

I don't get the allure. It is not what some people would describe as an "elegant" game. After a few rounds most games become a little more intuitive. This one does not for whatever reason. It is just plain clunky & not all that interesting. I like the description by Tom Vasal of this being a giant game of chicken. That sums it up pretty well, I would add: a not so interesting or fun game of chicken. I will probably need to give it another try... but I don't see any reason why I would want to. I am sure this game was great for it's time, it had it's day in the sun, but some artifacts should stay buried.

1/25/2020

Another area control game, this time from Reiner Knizia.

1/10/2020

A bit weird at first, but them it gets to you. One of Knizia's best designs

1/4/2020

Simple mechanics but the choice of what cards to play in each region and which to hold for the upcoming region will take multiple plays to work out.

1/3/2020

Hand management at its best. Agonizing decisions and mulitple strategies available at the start of the game. Heavy competition that keeps everyone involved at all times.

10/25/2019

Rating after two plays. 1st play was with 5 and it was cha-o-tic! 2nd game was with 4 and it was decidedly different. Both times the scoring rules were misread but the second time time was a little less so. This is an exciting game and I am looking forward to the next game. 2006-11-18 - Bought 2008-06-29 - Played with 4; very tense and every one had an equal number of turns to go first. Rating from 7.5 -> 8.

1/21/2019

(10/16) 8. (10/17) Drop to 7. Haven't played this in a while, but it's one of those classic Euros that always feel so well constructed. Especially when it comes to Knizia, definitely one of my favorite designers! Need to play again soon.

12/22/2018