Grand Austria Hotel

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (54 Total)

2
31
20
0
0

Taught this to my parents and they absolutely love it. I thought it'd be a bit too crunchy for them, but they have a blast with the small number of extremely difficult decisions. Dice, check. Funky turn order, check. Sachertorte, check.

11/13/2019

Some of the rules and cards are a bit vague; but nothing that can't be figured out.

11/3/2019

Action selection with dice. Very much alike to the castle of burgundy feel

10/18/2019

Heavily thematic euro! Once in a while the dice just hate on everyone, but at least it tends to hit everyone at once. Suffers from downtime at higher player counts but I very much like it at 2, and really, that theme is so strong.

5/13/2019

Interesting point:The power of the actions is based on the number of same valued dice.

4/12/2019

The game is really fun and more challenging that we originally thought. Getting everything done is challenging—especially the emperor track. The first game we played we totally screwed up on the rules and had absolutely no money—it was frustrating—but we figured it out and subsequent games were smoother.

2/14/2019

The game is really fun and more challenging that we originally thought. Getting everything done is challenging—especially the emperor track. The first game we played we totally screwed up on the rules and had absolutely no money—it was frustrating—but we figured it out and subsequent games were smoother.

2/14/2019

Multi-player solitaire Euro cube pusher that puts you in a straightjacket. Downtime in the 4p game can be an issue if players are particularly AP prone. Not as big of a deal in 3p, and a total non-issue at 2p. The real problem is-- as with most MPS cube pushers-- it's not hard to figure the game out after a few plays, and it turns into a mildly competitive optimization puzzle, and a race for who can get the better guests, some of which are just flatout OP (I'm looking at you, Egizia).

1/23/2019

[Sleeved]

1/18/2019

Sometimes I absolutely adore this game, and sometimes the dice aren't agreeable with the visitor market and you feel helpless as you keep trashing dice and your plan falls apart. Since there aren't that many moves in the game, it can be frustrating. Thankfully it's rather rare. Always played with 2.

1/16/2019

The game is fantastic. I love the artwork and the theme. Rocks my socks off. I do have issues with the script font used on the staff cards. While thematically awesome, it's difficult to read the names. Perhaps in a future printing, at least have the first letter of the staff member's name be in a more legible script. I've played with four, and it wasn't terrible, but I definitely think this game shines with two.

1/16/2019

Firstly, the game is deceptively simple (besides the iconography). There are six available dice actions to choose from, but two are more or less identical and another acts as 'wild', so that boils down to only four actions. These actions play well into the game's hotelier theme, which proved to be stronger than expected. And despite only taking 14 actions throughout the game, players are rewarded with an Agricola-esq feeling of progress and completion as they can admire their completed hotel. The biggest surprise of all were the parallels to Castles of Burgundy. Both games score via point-salad, creatively implement dice, provide group-completion bonuses, are open to action combos, and play quickly. The main difference is Grand Austria has an actual theme and high production value, which is enough to supplant CoB in my collection.

1/11/2019

This is a very tight game that often leaves me wishing that the game wasn't over yet at the end. In the end I've learned that many people would probably be much better at managing cafes and hotels in Austria than I am, but I sure do enjoy this game.

12/24/2018

(3/17) 8. Really enjoyed my first play of this. Action selection based on shared pool of dice is an interesting mechanic and selecting your clients/putting them in your hotel is cool and allows you to craft your path to victory and decide how much you want to push your luck. Would jump to the top of my "to buy" list if I hadn't heard bad stuff about playing at larger player counts. (10/17) 8.

12/22/2018

Rules are quite simple, contrary to many bgg posts, however there are many decisions to make. There is no real engine building which some may or may not like.

12/19/2018

Engaging game with interesting dice drafting.

12/18/2018