Sentinels of The Multiverse Enhanced Card Game (2nd Edition)

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (108 Total)

5
29
51
16
7

I'm not totally sure why I keep trying Sentinels since I don't know that I've ever really enjoyed it. I do keep trying though so there must be something there that appeals to me. I have it digitally and physically and every six months I bust it out just to give it another shot.

2/15/2020

Very thematic co-op superhero card game with great variety of comic book-style characters and pre-built decks. I loved the theme. Despite the art being somewhat amateur, it has its charm. However, this is the fiddliest game I have ever tried since you have to track all the numerous character powers, villains, and location effects. Hard to play solo & enjoy because of this.

2/14/2020

My least favorite co-op.

2/9/2020

Another game that drips with theme. Fantastic co-op.

2/3/2020

I like the individual pre-built decks. I like the theme. Even the artwork has grown on me. Unfortunately it is very fiddly even with the companion app. Lots of status changes is the biggest problem. I always think I am forgetting something or cheating somehow. App version of the game is more fulfilling.

2/2/2020

I've tried to get this game to work for me, but it just seems ridiculously hard to even get halfway through a boss battle. Could be the spikyness in difficulty. If you like superheroes and comics, this could be right up your alley though.

1/28/2020

Expansions Owned: Ambuscade, Infernal Relics, Miss Information, Rook City, Shattered Timelines, Silver Gulch, The Final Wasteland, The Scholar, Unity

1/26/2020

I am decidedly nonplussed about the apparent lack of balancing for number of players, and tracking HP is a pain. That said, I am sufficiently sold on the theme (the art and flavour text is great!) and the gameplay variety that I am willing to Kickstarter the expansion so as to get the mountain of free goodies. [EDIT] Rendered completely obsolete by the revised edition.

1/26/2020

2

1/25/2020

1.5 xx

1/25/2020

Only played twice. All components in great condition. Box has usual light wear on the corners, but the cards and instructions are in great shape.

1/25/2020

Tom Vasel's Top 100 2012 #28

1/20/2020

There is a game here, and I will find it. So far, I'm unimpressed, but see potential that other people have fully realized. I'm envious. I want to believe... and I think I may someday. As with Dominion, it took me a great many plays to begin to like the game. We'll see how this goes.

1/10/2020

The more I play this game the more I like it. The enhanced edition fixes some of the fiddly parts of the game. Its a keeper and is quickly moving into my top games of all time.

1/9/2020

My go-to game.

12/20/2019

Good game. Definitely fun and the theme is amazing. Great variety and replayability. However, I couldn't rate it better due to the chaotic nature of the game. Keeping track of all the villain and environmental effects on top of your own character abilities can be overwhelming. On top of that I didn't like how disorganized the table very quickly became.

12/5/2019

Lesser game than Marvel Legendary and very fiddly. Superhero baggage still weighs them both down.

12/3/2019

Excellent condition

11/3/2019

Very enjoyable co-op. Too much text to play with kids. First few games are very slow due to having to read all the text on the cards. The various superheroes are fun to discover. The outcome of the game felt too dependent on the luck of the draw. INCLUDED: Sentinels of the Multiverse: Infernal Relics Sentinels of the Multiverse: Rook City Sentinels of the Multiverse: Shattered Timelines Sentinels of the Multiverse: Vengeance

10/25/2019

We are really not feeling this game. We might still be soured that the rulebook never offers that you MUST have at least three heroes in play, no matter the number of players. It lets you assume 2 player/2 heroes is factored in. It SO isn't. Now that we've played 2 player with 2 heroes each, it is a little better, but still hardly any decisions to make when it is your turn. Mostly it's waiting to see how the Environment and Villain decks pummel you each round. If you survive you get to play your one card/one power (if your drawing luck doesn't block that on its own), then wait for the more interesting envirmonment and villain cards again. A solid MEH so far. We MUCH prefer Legendary, since you get to do SO much more on your turn. I like the artwork, sometimes, but other times do not. I can see obvious parallels to the comic Powers, but other times I can't help but notice flaws and mediocre pieces.

10/18/2019

I love the concept, but the game feels like it goes a bit long and is fiddly with the components.

6/26/2019

by Jsil

Condition: Excellent. Played once. Edition: English 2nd Edition 2012 Shipping: Anywhere in US

6/23/2019

(App) Cool game. But drags on, and there's not much of an escalation feeling. Occasionally painful inability to deal any damage.

5/14/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/sentinels-of-the-multiverse/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/sentinels-multiverse-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

[b] :STAR: COMPLETE RATING: [/b] [c] [b]SCORE CRITERIA WEIGHTING ------- STAR RATING SCALE -------[/b] (7.0) FUN (x15): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: REALLY FUN (7.0) GAMEPLAY (x5): NO DEPTH :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: LOT OF DEPTH (FOR THE WEIGHT) (4.0) GAME FLOW (x5): FIDDLY :star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: SILKY SMOOTH (7.0) DOWNTIMES (x2): LOT OF :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: ZERO (5.0) RANDOMNESS (x2): PURE LUCK :star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: PURE SKILLS (7.0) MECHANICS (x2): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: INTERESTING / INNOVATIVE (10.0) REPLAYABILITY (x5): ZERO :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: INFINITE (8.0) SCALABILITY (x3): POOR :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: GREAT AT ALL PLAYER COUNTS (5.0) PORTABILITY (x1): BULKY :star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: SUPER EASY TO PLAY ANYWHERE (8.0) THEME (x1): UNATTRACTIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ATTRACTIVE (5.0) AESTHETICS (x1): UGLY :star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: GORGEOUS (8.0) COMPONENTS (x1): LOW QUALITY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: HIGH QUALITY (8.0) VALUE (x2): TOO EXPENSIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: REALLY CHEAP(LOW COST FOR WHAT WE GET) (8.0) SETUP TIME (x2): LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: ZERO (7.0) GAME LENGTH (x2): TOO SHORT/LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: JUST PERFECT (8.0) RULES COMPLEXITY (x1): COMPLEX :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: SIMPLE [/c] [b]TOTAL = 352.0/50 = 7.04 [/b] :thumbsup: [b]POSITIVE POINTS:[/b] ++ Amazing replayabilty with the differing combinations of heroes, villains and environments. ++ Really easy to teach, but not easy to win. ++ I like the superhero theme. :thumbsdown: [b]NEGATIVE POINTS:[/b] --Fiddly, lots of components and modifiers to keep track of. The digital implementation is better in this regard. --With all expansions it is unweildy to travel with, especially with the big box to hold everything. --Downtime can be an issue at higher player counts. --The art is...something.

3/2/2019

Very cool light co-op. Looking forward to playing more.

2/14/2019

Right now this is my favorite game. I love that each deck is self contained and that it feels so thematic. I have enjoyed playing solo or with my wife. I like the fact the we can play together against a common foe. MY wife does find it a bit fiddly with all the things to account on each play.

1/23/2019

Super heroes fighting super villains across a variety of locations. The players each have their own hero deck and cooperatively attempt to defeat the villain. Highly-thematic with lots of expansions.

1/22/2019

The world of Sentinels Comics is the greatest strength of the Multiverse. The swaths of characters and villains each have their own flair and create a captivating setting without the need for established IP. As for gameplay Sentinels aces power progression and combo chaining. Having your team of supers slowly gain access to new powers and chaining them together with your allies or the environment to take out some henchmen is very satisfying. However, keeping track of the various combat modifiers is a challenging bookkeeping task and disengages players from the otherwise evocative setting.

1/11/2019

Eh, I do not see what the fuss is/was about. I like the artwork and the theme, but the gameplay is bleh.

1/10/2019

Digital

12/18/2018