Arkham Horror: The Card Game

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (91 Total)

12
49
24
3
2

Very Good condition. Small writing on the booklet. Very challenging but a great game. I don't love how much is left to chance, but I do enjoy the plot twists and story.

11/3/2019

I never was too into anything Chuthulhu before. I don't care much for the boardgame or much anything else. But I love the constructed deck style of this LCG and how, like LotR before it, it plays along a storyline and that it's a great co-op. It's the only LCG I maintain in my collection. Even though they're different kinds of games, this has replaced T.I.M.E. Stories for me. While the stories the modules are built upon are rather thin, there's enough content to make it replayable infinitely. As opposed to T.I.M.E. Stories, whose modules have little to no replay ability.

11/2/2019

by 3MBG

Intriguing so far, the rules are not written well and our first plays had far too much checking back and forth, but the game experience was good

10/29/2019

1.setup and find cards take too long -> need to organize better 2.need marker for 3 action per investigator 3.market linked locations 4.Ambient music and text read from agenda to act

10/18/2019

A card game that feels nothing like a card game. An entire story unfolds with unique interactions and exploration of a world -- all just with cards. It's very impressive and almost always a tense experience.

8/5/2019

Secret Santa '17

7/22/2019

Includes a second core set, Dunwich, Carcosa, Forgotten Age, Circle Undone - also Stranger Things PnP

6/14/2019

Fun, elegant, and not only has a story, but has a big focus on story. I've yet to really get into the deckbuilding, but the core mechanics are brilliant and evocative. Need more plays to better judge story arcs and campaign play.

6/14/2019

Initial rating of 7. Like it , but need to play more to know if it's great. Scenarios that come with the game are, ok, but dont rate the game on them. Playing Dunwich - now an 8 Verical option , select fit to page https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/155987/arkham-horror-lcg-dividers-ryno-style-path-carcosa

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/arkham-horror-card-game-2016/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/arkham-horror-card-game-2016-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Cthulhu is one of my favorite themes, and this game is just awesome. I need to play more, but just haven't found the time to play solo

3/6/2019

Fantastic game. Base is enough for many hours of play with new deck building. Story was fine and allows multiple play throughs.

3/6/2019

Sleeved

3/1/2019

A much better game than its inspiration. While Arkham Horror (the board game) tries to force systems and modules into the same mold, the Card Game is smart enough to have different set ups for each different scenario. All of the active pieces feel valid and important, which helps alleviate the aimlessness of the predecessor. My criticisms are less about the mechanics and more about the storytelling design of this storytelling game. Firstly the game offers little potential for emergent stories to come out. There is a lot of script to read and not a ton of room for interpretation, so at times the game feels like a choose your own adventure book. I understand this is the design of the game, so it's not really a misstep, but rather a style that doesn't appeal to me. Additionally at times the mechanics get in the way of the atmosphere that the game is trying to convey. Monsters are rarely threatening but instead feel like mechanical ways to control the pace of player movement and momentum. For a game built on atmosphere I think the presence of combat at all hurts more than it helps.

3/1/2019

Hit the spot for both solo and group campaign play. Not sure who much it has as far as legs, but I do enjoy it.

2/11/2019

Typical Ameritrash. Honestly have a hard time pointing out anything positive about this game...

2/1/2019

1-2, 90m

1/25/2019

Coöperative LCG.

1/22/2019

Just the first box - I hate the business model for LCGs and wish I knew more when I bought this. While the stories were fun, I'm the type of gamer to not replay the campaign the different deck builds. I disliked the "finding clues" mechanism - felt like it should have been something a little more clever. Going around and discovering an abstracted clue was missing the thematic flair that could have made is more interesting. Maybe a deck of interesting clue cards. Imagine picking up an amulet, a spell book, tentacles, a chemistry kit, a journal, scratch marks, potion materials, sulfur smell, etc., some of which give you extra clue tokens, some of which give you none but maybe a special ability. I just wish it was more. Maybe the expansions did cool things. Maybe the Arkham Horror game does it (I have not played it). I also wish I could cycle my deck better. And the fact that people recommend that you get two core sets is just infuriating. Borrowed by Alex.

1/16/2019

2 base games (1-4 players).

1/10/2019

y

1/9/2019

The game engine and the theme work really well together to create a narrative that has game structure.

12/19/2018