Betrayal at House on the Hill

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (80 Total)

1
23
40
11
1

Played onc...

by Robertcompton

Played once, so haven't experienced the randomness in terms of game length. Enjoyable. 2 more games under my belt and this is an ok game.

4/12/2019

I think of...

by bschrempp

I think of this game as Scooby Doo adventure in a game. A group of friends enter an old hunted house and have a supernatural adventure. The fun is in the playing of the game, not in the wining or loosing.

4/12/2019

I really e...

by GeraldCooperberg

I really enjoy this game. Especially with the right group of friends and players. It does require time & effort and is totally worth the investment.

3/27/2019

One of the...

by ThiningAboutGames

One of the most thematic games that I have ever played. Each of the haunts tell a different story and the rules reinforce it. It is harder to play with new players due to a rule book with a lot of rarely used rules and because they have to learn a new haunt each game. The success of each team is very luck dependent. Despite all of its flaws, the stories it tells are worth it.

3/5/2019

I understa...

by PhasingPlayer

I understand the popularity of this title. It's easy to play, has a fun theme, and plays pretty quick. After a handful of plays though the lack of agency and powerfully unbalanced mechanics shift becomes clear. The variable time of the Haunt start is one of the games biggest issues. In most cases it will either be easy for the survivors to win or easy for the betrayer to win, and rarely will be a thoughtful or tense end game. There can be some fun emergent stories that come from this game, and the first time you see a few of the Haunts it's a good time, but not a game I'd be returning to very much. Maybe a 3rd edition of the game would do well by instituting a dozen or so pre-made scenarios instead of this A/B game state that can shift at an undetermined time that exists now.

3/1/2019

Good with the right group

by walterbd

Its a fun game, easy to pick up despite being complex (so long as someone in the party knows how to play) and usually different every time, but sometimes it can feel like you lose simply because of the person you are stuck with by the end of the game.

2/27/2019

One of My Favorites

by fourthsphinx

I've had hours of fun playing this game. This is a great introduction for anyone who is just getting into the world of story based board games. The beginning of the game can be a bit slow depending on the strategy you choose, but once you get into the main part of the game play it becomes fast paced and challenging. The need for team work and strategic planning, while maintaining secrecy from the "traitor" who is working against you makes this a great group game. With 50 differ possible story outcomes and expansions still being released this game has a very high replay value.

2/20/2019

The initia...

by elltrain

The initial crawl through the house gets repetitive, but the game is amazing once the haunt is revealed.

2/16/2019

sleeved, s...

by saruichiban

sleeved, swan

2/15/2019

Swingy and...

by jasondeutsch

Swingy and ridiculous but I love this game. This is one I feel safe to share with new gamers.

1/22/2019

Although t...

by Ali Plays a Lot

Although there are 50 scenarios, the game feels repetitive before the haunt and you don't want to cooperate with the others because you fear they might turn against you. The multitude of cards a player can amass can slow down the game quite a lot. Would recommend it for horror games' enthusiasts looking for a relaxing, dice chucking game.

1/21/2019

I've only ...

by usagi-san

I've only played this game once. It was a very large group and we paired up with the characters if we needed to. This game really needs the right group otherwise it can be a bit dull. What I liked about the game was its immersion into the horror of cheap flick! Fantastic. And the insanity. Plus it is totally unbalanced which I am finding that I enjoy more and more.

1/21/2019

So many ba...

by ubRtstcl

So many bad things to say about this game.

1/15/2019

A wonderfu...

by ekloff

A wonderful story with each play. It feels like an old title, and plays like an old title, especially with the fiddly character trait tracks, but definitely ratchets up after the betrayal takes place. Even if the play itself is rather ordinary, at least the stories it tells are good.

1/11/2019

A really b...

by zxcvbn

A really boring first two hours until the haunt happens and it gets to be pretty fun. Is it worth those first couple hours? Probably not, but I appreciate its design nonetheless.

1/11/2019

Sure, it h...

by GorditaCrunch93

Sure, it has it's flaws. But this game really can be a fun little jaunt into the realm of cheesy horror.

1/11/2019

Xmas 2015 ...

by michaellasalle

Xmas 2015 from the Nosbisch's

1/10/2019

Not a great game, but people seem to enjoy it

by adomescik

No Review Description

1/10/2019

Accounted ...

by Irate

Accounted For

1/10/2019

The someti...

by KimchiTurtle

The sometimes unbalanced game play isn't even an issue, we always have fun role-playing this one. I think this is the perfect alternative to a night of B-movies.

1/10/2019

I don't th...

by Psylocke

I don't think I've ever played a game of this where everyone didn't have a good time. Starts off with simple exploration, and then gets tense real fast. Sometimes the haunt scenarios seem a little slanted one way or the other depending on the number of players, but overall pretty well balanced. Also, every time I play with someone new, they're always the betrayer. Every. Single. Time.

12/24/2018

(11/15) 6....

by markbesada

(11/15) 6. (10/17) Drop to 5. I love the haunt mechanic and the fact that the game can change so drastically halfway through. That said, VERY fiddly and can be broken. Still, very clever.

12/22/2018

In Germany...

by magicjavelin

In Germany

12/22/2018

Crappy rul...

by Cooking_Meeple

Crappy rules and haunts, but it is a fun game with the right group :)

12/22/2018