Brass: Birmingham

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (34 Total)

11
21
2
0
0

I late pledged this game on Kickstarter after watching several solid gameplay videos (Ant Lab Games, Heavy Cardboard) and listening to my wife comment how boring the game looked. Well, it turns out that my wife and I love to get this one to the table. The simplicity in mechanics, coupled with the depth of decision-making, makes this one of our favorite games that we can play in about 2 hours. This game has a great mixture of strategy and tactics that come together to create the win.

4/22/2019

Learning 3 player game with Alastair and Lauraine. Preferred version with the beer !

4/12/2019

Sleeved

3/1/2019

Love this game. Played a few times and can’t wait to play it again.

1/24/2019

The edges have been sanded down from its predecessor, far less aggressively competitive than the original due to the new resource constraints. What results is less of a knives-out fight for rail network territory and more of a nuanced balance of parallel competitive interests. With three industry goods, the game is open to "multiple paths to victory" that so many people laud as a positive attribute. I usually find this dull as it often pits you against the game more than your opponents. This paradigm is more apparent at the lower player counts, since two or three players can pursue different paths without bumping heads. In 4p, someone is going to get in your space on at least one-- and potentially several-- of the directions you're headed. Beer is kind of the exception to this. On the one hand, beer is to blame for the new restrictions that tie players' hands, slowing down the double-rail spam strategy forcing people down the one of the aforementioned "multiple paths." On the other hand, beer is the one resource that all players really need in the Rail era, and I wonder if the knife fight appears with breweries as players become more skilled. There's still an important timing aspect to getting breweries out. If you want to use your own breweries, you had better make sure nobody else can access them. I don't like Birmingham [i]better[/i] than Lancashire, but I do like it [i]differently[/i].

1/23/2019

Why do I simultaneously feel so dumb and so smart playing this game. It's one of those ones where analysis-paralysis prone players may experience full brain meltdowns. I have no idea how to play this properly. Flipping tiles is fun. Having others flip your tiles is fun. Trains!

1/16/2019

Initial impressions low, but need to play again. Seems like someone has to become the Beer Baron for the game to work at all.

1/15/2019

Brass: Birmingham is a captivating design that will immediately appeal to strategy gamers. The intermingling of the various industries creates rich player interactions and creates a strong foundation on which its economy stands. The result is a somewhat opaque game system that equally invites strategy and opportunism. The comparison to its predecessor it inevitable, but Birmingham more importantly embodies the strengths of iterative design. The Brass system is rich with thought and has much to offer, and is one that I aspire to master.

1/11/2019

y

1/9/2019