San Juan

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (121 Total)

2
38
73
8
0

No Review Description

2/3/2020

Unplayed French edition copy available for trade. Was a gift, my French is not good enough to play it.

1/27/2020

Have only played 2 player. I enjoy it for 2. Occasional runaways, but usually close and hard-fought.

1/26/2020

Pleasant enough, but I think it suffers badly in comparison to Puerto Rico (and atrociously compared to Race). The card draw can influence your success too much near the endgame. Still nice, though, and the lack of arduous setup certainly makes it appealing.

1/26/2020

Enjoy this game, still waiting to play Puerto Rico to see which one I like better.

1/15/2020

Race for the Galaxy in Puerto Rico. ;) While I learned and played "Race" first, I value this title in my collection as well. It's different enough and has similar "difficult decisions."

1/10/2020

Interesting, but not my cup of tea, really.

1/4/2020

Only 1 play, after having played Puerto Rico 7 times so I knew the basic theming. So far I'd rather play the full game instead of this, although I don't know why.

1/3/2020

It's a fine game that I mostly play on my phone. I'd rather play Glory to Rome though.

12/20/2019

Noticed that a lot of people say this is a nice 2 player game. Needs research.

12/20/2019

February 2018 Free - Gift - Brent

12/14/2019

Tablet app, not physical boardgame

11/14/2019

Using the cards themselves as currency makes is a fantastic mechanism. A touch luck-driven. Highly tactical. Lots of fun. Plays very quickly with 2 players.

10/25/2019

Fairly good, if overly simplistic. Plays quick, but does get somewhat repetitive. Does not have enough player interaction.

8/31/2019

Only played in digital form. I liked the engine building, but the theme just meant it never made it to the table. Villages of Valeria has replaced it on my shelf.

6/26/2019

Fun and fast paced game that puts the "cards in hand are also resources" mechanic to great use, but I feel like Race for the Galaxy is probably the better game.  On the other hand San Juan is the simpler, cleaner design.

6/26/2019

Fun light game. Puerto Rico style action selection is always fun. And it feels satisfying to build up your city. Can be a little overlong, and a little shallow, but ultimately it's a light game i'm willing to play. Which says everything

6/14/2019

Hand management

5/21/2019

FULLY SLEEVED 110 x Mayday sleeve size: Euro - Blue: Standard (MDG-7028, 100/pack) - (59 x 92mm)

5/15/2019

One of the best card games ever made. The role selection is deep, the possibilities for your tableau are incredibly varied, and yet the game remains approachable for new players. It's one of my absolute favorites and I'm happy to finally own this edition.

5/13/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/san-juan-second-edition-2014/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/san-juan-second-edition-2014-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

No Review Description

3/6/2019

The card engine building is a good idea, but the Euro wrapped around it is a bit boring. It inspired some much better games.

3/5/2019

2-4 players (best 3) 45-60 minutes

2/17/2019

It's like a version of Race for the Galaxy that I would actually want to teach a new player! Pretty fun, with some cool card combos.

2/16/2019

I've played game upon game of JSanJuan, and I'm often able to come out on top in both 3 and 4 player games. Opportunistic, but basic strategy and wisdom still apply. Update 2/13/2009: I played this out a while ago. There are no longer interesting decisions in this game for me, as I "know what to do" in a given situation. I'd rather play something else. Downgraded to a 5.

2/16/2019

No box.

1/29/2019

2-4, 45m

1/25/2019

It's among my go-to gateway games because it serves as a great bridge to Puerto Rico, and other role selection games like Mottainai and RftG. Far simpler than Race and the Puerto Rico-style role selection system maintains a semblance of player interaction for beginners that doesn't appear in Race until you get good at it. Ultimately, Race is the better, deeper game. Trade Condition Notes: New in shrink

1/23/2019

Building efficient economic engines in far less than an hour; replaced by Race for the Galaxy

1/22/2019

Not a bad game but not one that I will play any time soon. 2009-12-XX - Got in a trade around Xmas 2009 2010-06-06 - I lied. My wife likes it. Rating going from 6->7.5 2017-07-16 - Sold river market

1/21/2019

[Sleeved]

1/18/2019

Being a Puerto Rico zealot, I was surprised that I didn't hate this game. It does away with many of my favorite parts of its board game counterpart, but it breaks out of the mold enough to feel more like a card game in the Puerto Rico universe, rather than Puerto Rico: the Card Game. The various new buildings, and tweaked roles keep this game both familiar and distinct. I won't play much, but I won't renounce it either.

1/11/2019

My preferred "gateway game". It gets a warm introduction among non-gamers, and I'd much rather play this than "Puerto Rico".

1/10/2019

Fun little game, I think I would always rather play PR if I had the time.

1/9/2019

(10/17) 6. This is a classic that I don't play enough. Really should bring it back out.

12/22/2018