Robinson Crusoe Adventures on the Cursed Island

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (166 Total)

6
84
55
13
3

It's really a thing of wonder to realize the amount of effort the designer have put into this game. There are so many rules, but they all connect and make sense with the theme. The game is super hard and that is what makes me want to come back for more.

3/24/2020

Designer: Ignacy Trzewiczek (Imperial Settlers)Publisher: Portal GamesPlayer count: 1-4 (best with 3)Weight: Medium heavyMechanics: adventure / cooperative / worker placementSetting/theme: Adventure / exploring / fightingPlay time: 90-180 minutesBased on run through and two solo games. This game breathes theme and I am very excited about this game. The game is brutal and if the cards are against you, you're unlikely to win this one, but that makes perfect sense in such a brutal environment. Would love to play this more and to introduce this to other players, but the complexity and the length make it hard to get this to the table except solo.Still, a definite keeper in my collection and if it would get more playtime likely to be in my top 10.

3/18/2020

My wife says there is too much Alpha-gaming in RC and others say the game is punishing and brutal. There can be alpha gaming or quarterbacking and the game is certainly harsh, brutal, and unforgiving, but I love it!

3/5/2020

by paka

Very-very good co-op with awsome theme. Gameplay elements are basicly worker-placement euro but we've been playing the events 'on suspense' (we're not reading whats going to happen when it comes back out from the action-deck. And it gives awsome story. If there wouldn't be Sentinels of the Multiverse I'd call it best co-op atm, but atm its kinda torn...

2/25/2020

No Review Description

2/25/2020

Only completed the starting scenario. I did not appreciate the fiddly setup and confusing rulebook of the original edition and it was still a great experience! Very excited to try the updated version. *Upgraded to latest edition with better components*

2/14/2020

A good system and fun, but not worth the complexity. It is also a game that I do not want to teach.

2/3/2020

Very thematic co-op. I really enjoy this game but set up time and little rules keep me from playing it more.

2/2/2020

I'm convinced there's a fun game in here... Rule book is unfortunately, terrible. Mechanics get totally in the way of the flow until you know exactly how it goes. We house rule everything that comes up and research it later, otherwise you're stopping all the time, until you know it all cold. Tough scenarios - seemingly great replayability. Wife will not play under any circumstances, haha. Update - 6 months in. Definitely enjoy it, now that the mechanics are second nature. Love the replay value and the unpredictability. Winning always feels like an accomplishment.

1/26/2020

Hm. A few plays in, and I still can't tell why this is significantly better than the hordes of competing co-ops. It's chromier, certainly, but at the expense of the tension and meaningful choices that Pandemic offers.

1/26/2020

I played this with 3 players and really didn't like it. But it's supposed to be an amazing solo game so it deserves another try.

1/25/2020

also have dice tower exclusive promo set pre-ordered from Miniature Market

1/20/2020

Story, story, story, story, story. This is about the story, and this does it better than any other game of its kind. Absolutely brilliant.

1/10/2020

Ignacy's magnum opus. The only co-op game I truly enjoy.

12/20/2019

Fiddly setup (for which the Daedalus insert did not help) plus capricious difficulty didn't pay off for us. Ended up feeling more like a "create your own narrative" game than a "positively affect your destiny" game.

12/11/2019

Just not a fun game.

12/3/2019

One of the best co-ops out there. I love the fact that the dice rolling suppresses the alpha-player effect (if you have someone like that in your group). Very challenging but not unbeatable, which makes it so satisfying when you do succeed on the scenario.

11/11/2019

on my self of shame. Has to bring a friend to carry me though rules the first game, we won!

10/18/2019

Game is in Plano containers, scenarios sheets are laminated

9/16/2019

While a very thematic mechanically sound game, there are times where randomness can quickly end whatever efforts you make to survive on the island. Very Unique, but not for those that aren't willing to leave some of their fate up to chance.

6/19/2019

One of the better co-op games to come out this year (2013). With the various scenarios providing lots of replay ability. If you want a step-up from gateway co-op games and really like difficult, complex and thematic games then you get your money's worth from this. dice tower secret trait cards - despair, a secret from the past, useful findings, faith, ostensible strength, hope for escape, illness, insecurity, dizziness

4/12/2019

1st edition. Great art but components feel like they were stolen from random 10 year old games. Gameplay is complex, if not fiddly. Some very very cool concepts like the negative events being shuffled back the event deck so they can occur later. Looking forward to more plays and raising this rating.

3/6/2019

Great integration of a fun theme. Scenarios are really interesting and varied.

2/16/2019

Initial Rating, will update after more experience.

2/11/2019

Portal 4th edition

2/6/2019

The richly-integrated adventure theme makes it feel like more than just a "system" you're trying to best, and the story is earned. Difficult and replayable, it's my a terrific solo game, but playing it with others leads the expected quarterbacking problem that haunts almost every co-op. I'm sure I'll play this out eventually, but for now, I'm enjoying the adventures.

1/25/2019

This is a great game. Decently thematic, with vast variability between scenarios. Resource gathering is tedious and unintersting, but all other actions are quite exciting. Sometimes the onslaught of negative effects becomes oppressive, but luck mitigation is available. The lengthy setup and nuanced rules make me dread playing it at times, and like most cooperative games, this game is very prone to 'quarterbacking'. However, all said and done this is one of the best cooperative puzzles published to date. [Pro Tip: 'The Robinson Family' scenario is the best. All other scenarios feel tacked on in comparison.]

1/11/2019

I love how this handles its random element: you never technically *have* to roll dice; but taking calculated risks can be very beneficial. I also love its storytelling element. Adding encounter cards to the event deck based on your choices is really brilliant. It's longer than what I typically like but it does a lot really well.

1/11/2019

(+) Always tells a unique story, good at all player counts (and great solo), great components and art (4th edition), excellent theme, multiple scenarios, blend of theme and mechanics fits really well, lots and lots of replayability (-) A lot of fiddly rules that can intimidate new players, game is sometimes overly punishing where it can feel like a loss was unavoidable, bad insert, harder to get to the table than other games (+/-) Challenging but sometimes too much so

1/10/2019

A very well themed and cooperative euro that really caught my SO's eye. It fits her criteria of games that she's into right now and it kind of has a lot to live up to. We hope that it can offer the same tense feeling that Dead of Winter offers, but still offering a full play through experience without the need for a traitor.

1/10/2019

y

1/9/2019

Had some interesting concepts, but oh my goodness was it a boring slogfest. It just seemed as if we were doing things to make some numbers happen, nothing really pulled us into the theme of the game.

12/24/2018

(12/16) 8. Played a couple games with Dean and the crew and have really had a great time. Not nearly the slog/fiddly/overly complex game that I was concerned it might be. (10/17) Drop to 5. Perhaps I need to play this again or perhaps I'm moving a little away from coop's as a whole, but I don't often feel like devoting the time to this one that it requires. Still, would definitely give it another shot.

12/22/2018

Play as a survivor from a shipwreck over several scenarios. I really really love this game. It works good from a solo game to a full set of players. The randomness of the cards makes it so 2 games never is the same!

12/22/2018