Rising Sun

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (85 Total)

4
51
26
2
2

No Review Description

4/1/2020

After each game my rating keeps going up for this game. I have played two 4-player and one 3-player game. I have won all three. Really enjoying this game. It looks amazing and the gameplay if easier to understand. We shall see if my rating continues to climb.

4/1/2020

Rating based on two plays, which were excellent. As someone in my gaming group also owns a copy, I've traded away my own copy.

3/18/2020

I wanted to like this game more. I think I have a sour taste in my mouth because we played with an odd player count one time and I NEVER got in an alliance. I just felt beat-up the whole game. Love the minis, love the theme, the 'gambling' aspect is interesting during combat. I'd rather play Blood Rage over RS.

3/5/2020

need to paint these minis

1/31/2020

Good, not great. Sure enough, when a game screams at you on every page how this is totally a negotiation game, really it is, so many deals guys, you wouldn't believe all the deal-making, it often isn't really a negotiation game. And that's fine. There's enough here to carry the game in spite of that. It made me want to play Blood Rage, though, more than anything. But man, the production values are top notch. Amazing minis, even if they are skull-heavy and not terribly clan-cohesive. [EDIT] The appeal is waning ion this one. The system is pretty obtuse, and small ripple effects can completely hose you.

1/26/2020

[b][size=12][BGCOLOR=#C0C0C0]Sleeved[/BGCOLOR][/size][/b] [COLOR=#FFFFFF][b][size=12][BGCOLOR=#FF0000]Have Game Want Accessories[/BGCOLOR][/size][/b][/color] Want the Broken Token Daimyo Collection Edition Insert https://www.thebrokentoken.com/rising-sun-daimyo-collection-organizer

1/25/2020

Played a game using the Deluxe edition at a convention. Loved this game! Very enjoyable tactic / strategy war game.

1/24/2020

I was not sure I would enjoy this as my experience with CMON has not been good. Most everything I have played of theirs has been soulless drivel meant to sell more minis. I also am not one to want minis as they will never get painted in my house. However this was a lot of fun with the area control aspect being very interesting and different than other area control games I have played. If there were a standee only version I might decide to buy that, but that is the case with almost any of these mini heavy games.

12/20/2019

Mr. lang at his finest. Great mechanics and theme.

12/5/2019

Location: Closet

12/3/2019

It's beautiful, but kind of overwhelming to learn and underwhelming to play.

11/12/2019

A big game with great components. The round action selection and war phase each provide cool moments for strategy and choices. The action off the table is often as exciting as the action on the board. If you like to wheel and deal this is a strategy game for you!

6/19/2019

KICKSTARTER - Tom says better than Blood Rage

6/15/2019

3-5 players (best 4-5) 90-120 minutes

2/17/2019

plays better with at least 4-5 people.

2/15/2019

sleeved in mayday premium

2/15/2019

The UX is a nightmare. The minis are huge and get in the way of reading the game state. And since there is no iconography of any type to indicate what power each Oni actually has, there is a constant conversation of, "Hey wait, what is that guy's name? Oh. What's his power? If you're lower in honor? Are you... hold on a sec... and then how much force is he worth now?" The gameplay itself is frustrating. It has that not-so-magical ability to make a 2 hour game feel like a 4-hour game. You can be frozen of the game so easily by faction selection and the fact that your position has nothing to offer anyone. Alliances can form before you've even had a chance to figure out what has happened, and you can be isolated out into irrelevance very quickly. This game is not fun.

1/23/2019

KS Version! I'm not sure the game is very balanced if new players are in the mix... With an inexperienced group the most experienced player will often win. it will never be a 10 for this reason (too much player balancing is required) but its a solid 9!!!

1/11/2019

Dagfinn has this. Cool game

1/10/2019

y

1/9/2019

I usually don't like these games, but the fighting method of blind bidding was very enjoyable.

12/18/2018