Starcraft

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (23 Total)

3
5
10
4
1

So, the good news: unlike many other FFG games, this one actually ends, and if anything, sooner than it ought to. But don't even think of playing this unless you are well-versed in Starcraft lore--if you're like me, ignorant of PC RTS games (or of Starcraft in particular), you will drown in special powers, exceptions, strange reinforcement abilities, and upgrade goodies. Oh, and combat is the worst part of the game. That is not as it should be.

1/26/2020

Quite possibly my favorite 4X game. The gameplay is intriguing and very tight. It's a complete shame that this is out of print.

1/24/2020

This is another big, sprawling FFG offering that will probably see the table about as often as Twilight Imperium (which is rarely). I like the battle mechanic in this one, and feel that there is a lot of depth in this, provided one can get it on the table frequently and explore. Alas, this may not happen here.

1/10/2020

This game is an easy perfect 10. It's heavy, of course, but worth it. It captures everything I like about the pc game. I think its greatest strength is the excellent combat system. The biggest flaws I've found with similar games like TI3 and Forbidden Stars were the combat: too luck based for TI3, too long/complicated for Forbidden Stars. This falls comfortably in between. Great game. Buy it if you can find it.

12/5/2019

by Wis

Rating with expansion and home rules: - picking 2 starting planets from 3, with mulligan - picking staregy after getting starting planets

4/12/2019

Way, way too many finicky rules that do not help the game at all. I thought the combat was possibly the worst I have seen (although the new FFG Civ comes close).

2/16/2019

Starcraft is a solid game. An FFG production with excellent components, it looks stellar on the table. The order placement mechanic from "A Game of Thrones" is in place here, whereby you place orders in stacks and then resolve them top down, so you kind of have to think in reverse order, which is a little weird at first but later grows on you. Combat is resolved through unit skirmish matchups and card plays, modified by keywords. In practice, this works out very well and introduces a hand management aspect into the game. In most of the games I've played, each player feels like they're still "in it to win it" until the last game turn. You're always "this close" to having victory yourself when someone else pulls out the win. This is largely due to special victory conditions, which flavor each faction differently. The game is highly thematic, moderately complex, takes a while to play, has little downtime (mostly when other players are in combat), takes a ton of table space, is kind of lengthy to teach, and has excellent reference material. It's a fun, interesting, and engrossing game that plays best with 4 or less, but can support up to 6 (which increases the table space required, the potential downtime, and game length).

2/16/2019

Bought 2008/06/11 Sold 2008/09/20 - Fallcon 21

1/21/2019