Roll For The Galaxy

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (55 Total)

1
36
15
1
0

Feels like...

by elltrain

Feels like a really streamlined and approachable version of race. It's really well done, and still has a place next to the original.

2/16/2019

Great game...

by brenthenson

Great game, looking forward to playing it more in the future.

2/14/2019

2-5, 45m

by snurp

2-5, 45m

1/25/2019

Fun and ea...

by Brent

Fun and easier to teach than Race. Race is the deeper, better game, but I like them both.

1/23/2019

0

by anduhrew

0

1/22/2019

Really coo...

by Chitownsox

Really cool game. Strategy in Race is much deeper and tougher decisions have to be made. Still a fun game though. Edit: My wife really enjoys this game, therefore rating has increased for me. I've started to enjoy it more as well.

1/22/2019

This quick...

by Baltasilian

This quickly became our 2-player favorite. Replaced Race for the Galaxy for us. (for now at least, I'm sure we'll get back to Race once we have played Roll some more) Consider the Ambition expansion a must-buy.

1/21/2019

2016-09-23...

by usagi-san

2016-09-23 - Bought

1/21/2019

Have Broke...

by jadthegerbil

Have Broken Token (?) insert

1/11/2019

I like dic...

by ekloff

I like dice and I like Puerto Rico, ergo I like Roll for the Galaxy. It reconfigures the role selection mechanic from PR in a way that feels familiar, yet distinctly different. Developing worlds and technologies is fulfilling, and the short play time makes it a great candidate for double plays.

1/11/2019

I'm gonna ...

by zxcvbn

I'm gonna be honest, the many custom dice play a big role in this rating. I do really love games that have you roll dice then have you do something with them (see also: Alien Frontiers). There are a lot of games that have you do something, then roll to resolve, which is often really unsatisfying. But using a random element to force you to be flexible is really cool, and there are tons of ways to mitigate that random element. That change alone puts it over Race, though I haven't played enough Race to get super good at it.

1/11/2019

Engine building with dice you can almost control

by adomescik

(+) Plays fast at all player counts, limits your decisions with dice but gives you ways to manipulate bad rolls, interesting mechanics with phase activations and world/development powers, different starting tiles for variability, nice looking and feeling components, has the "let's play again" effect, easy scoring, easy to get to the table, quick setup and teardown, theme is pretty good for an engine building game (-) Not much player interaction, can be semi-luck dependent based on tile draws and starting tableau, some powers from planets and tech are not immediately clear, theme is there but not very immersive (+/-) The simultaneous actions really give the game a good pace but limits the player interactions. Also, the theme is there, but you have to look for it rather than feeling it through the gameplay. This game is great if you play with people who don't like others affecting their plans, but others may want more control over the outcome.

1/10/2019

Picked up ...

by KimchiTurtle

Picked up on a whim and my SO loves this game! Simple iconography and a whole lotta dice. She tends to love the dice versions of most games (see Pandemic: The Cure) and this one is no exception. This is our competitive version of PtC.

1/10/2019

(1/17) 6. ...

by markbesada

(1/17) 6. Played once with 3 other experienced players and got trounced. Might improve rating on repeated playings and first game certainly didn't sour me from wanting to try it again. (10/17) Drop to 5. I had another play that didn't really grab me and actually traded it away...but then I found another pimped out copy for a really great deal so I'm willing to give it another go. Too many people love this game, I've gotta be wrong.

12/22/2018