Star Realms

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (143 Total)

3
56
72
9
0

Expansions: Cosmic Gambit

10/17/2019

I like thematic deck builders. This one works well with two players.

6/26/2019

w/ Colony Wars, sleeved

6/15/2019

Android App

6/15/2019

Not Owned

5/15/2019

(App) A little too quick and swingy/lucky, but pretty fun.

5/14/2019

7.6 initial rating For me, one of the best value deck builders available. Whether on the iPad or using the cards, this game scratches my deck building itch. The quick setup just helps. Nov '16 Update - not played this for a while and have gone a bit further down the deck building rabbit hole such as Game of Thrones LCG & Arkham Horror LCG which provides greater depth and challenges. Still a great game, but as a gateway game into deck building. 6.5 - rating lowered

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/star-realms-2014/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/star-realms-2014-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Really easy to learn, hard to master, quick filler game. Addictive!

3/6/2019

... and over 4000 online matches

3/5/2019

[b] :STAR: COMPLETE RATING: [/b] [c] [b]SCORE CRITERIA WEIGHTING ------- STAR RATING SCALE -------[/b] (7.0) FUN (x15): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: REALLY FUN (7.0) GAMEPLAY (x5): NO DEPTH :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: LOT OF DEPTH (FOR THE WEIGHT) (7.0) GAME FLOW (x5): FIDDLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: SILKY SMOOTH (7.0) DOWNTIMES (x2): LOT OF :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: ZERO (5.0) RANDOMNESS (x2): PURE LUCK :star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: PURE SKILLS (6.0) MECHANICS (x2): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: INTERESTING / INNOVATIVE (9.0) REPLAYABILITY (x5): ZERO :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: INFINITE (5.0) SCALABILITY (x3): POOR :star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: GREAT AT ALL PLAYER COUNTS (10.0) PORTABILITY (x1): BULKY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: SUPER EASY TO PLAY ANYWHERE (7.0) THEME (x1): UNATTRACTIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: ATTRACTIVE (7.0) AESTHETICS (x1): UGLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: GORGEOUS (7.0) COMPONENTS (x1): LOW QUALITY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: HIGH QUALITY (8.0) VALUE (x2): TOO EXPENSIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: REALLY CHEAP(LOW COST FOR WHAT WE GET) (7.0) SETUP TIME (x2): LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: ZERO (7.0) GAME LENGTH (x2): TOO SHORT/LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: JUST PERFECT (8.0) RULES COMPLEXITY (x1): COMPLEX :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: SIMPLE [/c] [b]TOTAL = 354.0/50 =7.08[/b] :thumbsup: [b]POSITIVE POINTS:[/b] ++ Quick to set up and easy to teach. ++ Expansions add a lot of good content. :thumbsdown: [b]NEGATIVE POINTS:[/b] -- Randomness can be an issue. -- Not a fan of the 3+ player variants.

3/1/2019

I've played the app a number of times. Solid deckbuilder, good theme. But it's not high on my list, I'd rather play Dominion for more serious games or Clank! for a lighter builder. One big plus of this is its portability, not sure how that holds up when sleeved.

2/26/2019

Fun little deckbuilder.

2/21/2019

digitale versie op ipad

2/18/2019

2 player 20 minutes

2/17/2019

A super fun game to play against each other! My partner absolutely loves deck builders. The combat works well within the battling spaceships theme—but tracking it with the cards is annoying so we use a mobile app to track the points.

2/14/2019

A super fun game to play against each other! My partner absolutely loves deck builders. The combat works well within the battling spaceships theme—but tracking it with the cards is annoying so we use a mobile app to track the points.

2/14/2019

Good light Deck Builder. Purchase it.

2/11/2019

Very simple deck builder. Good for traveling.

2/11/2019

A fast-playing, streamlined deckbuilder. But the amount of random chance is much higher here than in Dominion. That, combined with the relaxed constraints (compared to Dominion) make this a less interesting game for me, compared to Dominion. That being said, it's still an enjoyable game, that offers a fun "space fleet battles" vibe.

1/23/2019

Deck-development game about an intergalactic war. Very similar to Ascension, but with direct conflict (i.e. I shoot you, you shoot me). The best "deck-builder" for tactical attack and defense play; someone finally figured out how to effectively integrate direct conflict into an economic engine deck-development game. It's really good. My rating may shift after getting more accustomed to the game... I don't know if knowing the cards better will improve or deflate my appreciation.

1/22/2019

much better than I expected

1/22/2019

Fun to play, but after a few dozen plays I suspect the depth is less than I thought. The starting player appears to have a higher chance of winning. All my friends really like this game, which makes it a fun experience.

1/21/2019

Great little deck builder about Space Combat. Like the variants too.

1/15/2019

A nice introductory deck builder, but it doesn't stack up to its competition. I really like the ideas in place, especially the chaining of powers between faction cards, but this same mechanism makes it incredibly difficult to pivot strategies and play adaptively. The early game decisions pigeonhole players for the rest of the game, leaving them to rely solely on the market to pan out for them. Granted the game is short, so this lack of flexibility can be forgiven. Keeping track of your authority is dreadfully tedious, though.

1/11/2019

~$15 04-Mar-16

1/10/2019

Very fast and very good deck building game. One of the few games that I can play multiple times in a row and not tire of it. Mostly have played with 2 players where, but I would love to try some of the multiplayer variants at some point.

12/24/2018

(10/17) 5. I liked this well enough. It moved pretty quickly and was fun. Still, it was fairly unremarkable and I don't really go for 2 player games.

12/22/2018

In Germany

12/22/2018