Star Realms

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (314 Total)

10
133
140
15
2

Spouse: REally like

5/1/2020

Own the App only, but play pretty regularly.

4/18/2020

I purchased this on the recommendation of fellow BGG-ers and man, I am THRILLED to have made this purchase. Tactical, strategic, a little cutthroat, and a whole lot of fun. This is my kind of game. The best part, it's less expensive than almost any game I've ever bought(purchased this for ~$10).

4/14/2020

I purchased this on the recommendation of fellow BGG-ers and man, I am THRILLED to have made this purchase. Tactical, strategic, a little cutthroat, and a whole lot of fun. This is my kind of game. The best part, it's less expensive than almost any game I've ever bought(purchased this for ~$10).

4/14/2020

One of the simplest and best deck builders out there, solo play works great too, well worth the little money it is

4/11/2020

One of the simplest and best deck builders out there, solo play works great too, well worth the little money it is

4/11/2020

Simple and fast two-player deck builder. A nice introduction to deck builders, with good art, a solid sci-fi theme and a little strategy. It's not deep, but that's fine.

4/1/2020

the more I play this, the more I like it. It is a deck builder with optional tableau building with the bases. The bases are the most genius part of the game.

4/1/2020

This is more of the same trivial deck building, ascension style with random cards to buy each turn for each player.At least it's fast, but it's kind of meh, not much going on, and no soul. In the end, I find out really kind of boring, and there isn't much in it that I would want to play it anymore. I would play it if group decision dictated, but only because it's so fast, that it would be done quick.

4/1/2020

Rating based on 1st games, both live and on the app. Will proabably not be played much, so willing to trade this away and stick to the app instead.

3/18/2020

Fills the 2-player slot for me in a very nice way. As a long-time Magic player, this hits all the right buttons for me, and all my friends agree. A great filler game or one to just have around to play while waiting in line or for drinks to come.

3/1/2020

An adversarial deckbuilder that distills the genre down to it's most basic elements. Quick playing with just enough interesting decisions to be made in the short playtime. A great 2-player filler, and my 10-year-old daughter likes to play it with me.

2/28/2020

A lot of folks are going to rate this game as average, but I think it deserves more credit than that. Of the pure deck-building games I've played this one presents the best mix of simplistic numerical work and fun interactions. I'm happy to give this 4 stars because every time I’ve introduced it to someone they want to play a second round right after the first.

2/28/2020

No Review Description

2/25/2020

Very quick fun 2-player deck-builder. Great for travel.

2/14/2020

Bought new from someone at Geekway to the West. What a tight little deckbuilding battle game. Would love to play this with 4. Short, only about 20-30 minutes (if you're really strategizing). Play the app all the time, and it's one of those games that I wouldn't hesitate to play tournament style.

2/5/2020

What an amazing game packed in a little box. Great artwork, great theme, tons of strategy, easy to teach and learn. Big bang for your buck.

2/3/2020

Finally have the card version but all the shuffling makes this a tough game physically for my wife. Play the app a ton though.

2/2/2020

Two copies for four player. Rating for this (and its brothers) falling as more and more deckbuilders with a purpose (Clank!, Aeon's End, Tyrants of the Underdark) come out.

1/26/2020

A very good distillation of some of the best aspects of the many also-rans in the deckbuilding genre. Not terribly big decision space, admittedly, but deckbuilding is so pleasing that it's hard to object too much.

1/26/2020

Simply OK. A 6 may be a bit generous for this title. Very little theme. Artwork is good and likely the best part about the game. It doesn't feel like playing a Sci-Fi game at all. Just a number cruncher, card optimization and luck of the draw. There are plenty of other games I would prefer to play over this. After thinking about it more, a 6 is probably much too generous. But only after 1 play I'll give it the benefit of the doubt.

1/25/2020

Seems extremely luck-dependent

1/25/2020

0.3 xx

1/25/2020

Standard deckbuilder. It does exactly what it's trying to do: makes you feel like you're making progress. 'This turn I can buy 7 cards!'

1/25/2020

2p Sleves All contents in 4-wide card box.

1/24/2020

This is a fast, fun game that is both easy to learn and teach. I use it as an intro into deck building games.

1/24/2020

What a fantastic and simple game. It takes about 2 minutes to learn the basics, but you'll develop more strategies over time. The iOS app is a lot of fun, but I prefer playing with another person using the cards. I also find that the game is a lot more interesting if you play with 100 Authority instead of 50.

1/24/2020

Kickstarter Project http://kck.st/GC9taX - Backed: 10/16/2013 - Funded: 11/02/2013 - Pledge Level: Pledge $58 or more: "KINDA EARLY BIRD Six Player Set Tier!" - Payment: $58 - Survey: 11/13/2013 - Projected Delivery: 12/2013 - Shipped: Status: DELIVERED with Promos - Update 12/03/2013 games printed, promos printing but still delivery before Christmas possible

1/20/2020

Purchased the physical cards two years after being taught the game and playing it in Steam.

1/3/2020

Only had this for a few days, but like it a lot already. It's fast to set up, play, and tear down.

1/1/2020

Sleeved with Official Sleeves.

12/20/2019

Simple deck-building that defined a subgenre: "Star Realms style deck-building." Fun, light, quick. Can't get too bent out of shape from a loss nor too proud from a win.

12/11/2019

Star Realms has become my go to game. Played hundreds of games via the app already. Really do like the game that you can know the cards inside and out, but still have luck turn you on your head as you lose to a newbie. However, someone that knows the game well will still win over an inexperienced player a large proportion of the time. Really have enjoyed the 3-4 player variety of the game too, though there is a little bit of a 'who will attack first' issue in Free For All play. -------------- I rate this fairly low for a game that is in my top 5, but that is simply because I realize the limitations of the game and the design constraints that the model of publishing has created. I understand the huge swings of luck that can prevent you from winning. I understand that AT BEST you are playing a game of luck mitigation. BUT I just enjoy playing it and teaching it so much. --------------- I don't know if it is guilt over having spent so much on the Frontiers kickstarter, but I have not played this at all since the kickstarter ended...including the app. I had been playing it almost constantly, and then it just lost my interest. Still really like the game, maybe I just got burned out on it for a bit.

11/14/2019

App

11/3/2019

Short, tactical. Very nice but prone to the luck of the draw.

10/25/2019

Love it. Great little deck builder filler with good mechanics.

10/23/2019

Love it. Great little deck builder filler with good mechanics.

10/23/2019

No Review Description

10/22/2019

Expansions: Cosmic Gambit

10/17/2019

I like thematic deck builders. This one works well with two players.

6/26/2019

w/ Colony Wars, sleeved

6/15/2019

Android App

6/15/2019

Not Owned

5/15/2019

(App) A little too quick and swingy/lucky, but pretty fun.

5/14/2019

7.6 initial rating For me, one of the best value deck builders available. Whether on the iPad or using the cards, this game scratches my deck building itch. The quick setup just helps. Nov '16 Update - not played this for a while and have gone a bit further down the deck building rabbit hole such as Game of Thrones LCG & Arkham Horror LCG which provides greater depth and challenges. Still a great game, but as a gateway game into deck building. 6.5 - rating lowered

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/star-realms-2014/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/star-realms-2014-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Really easy to learn, hard to master, quick filler game. Addictive!

3/6/2019

... and over 4000 online matches

3/5/2019

[b] :STAR: COMPLETE RATING: [/b] [c] [b]SCORE CRITERIA WEIGHTING ------- STAR RATING SCALE -------[/b] (7.0) FUN (x15): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: REALLY FUN (7.0) GAMEPLAY (x5): NO DEPTH :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: LOT OF DEPTH (FOR THE WEIGHT) (7.0) GAME FLOW (x5): FIDDLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: SILKY SMOOTH (7.0) DOWNTIMES (x2): LOT OF :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: ZERO (5.0) RANDOMNESS (x2): PURE LUCK :star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: PURE SKILLS (6.0) MECHANICS (x2): BORING :star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: INTERESTING / INNOVATIVE (9.0) REPLAYABILITY (x5): ZERO :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar: INFINITE (5.0) SCALABILITY (x3): POOR :star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar::nostar: GREAT AT ALL PLAYER COUNTS (10.0) PORTABILITY (x1): BULKY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star: SUPER EASY TO PLAY ANYWHERE (7.0) THEME (x1): UNATTRACTIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: ATTRACTIVE (7.0) AESTHETICS (x1): UGLY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: GORGEOUS (7.0) COMPONENTS (x1): LOW QUALITY :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: HIGH QUALITY (8.0) VALUE (x2): TOO EXPENSIVE :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: REALLY CHEAP(LOW COST FOR WHAT WE GET) (7.0) SETUP TIME (x2): LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: ZERO (7.0) GAME LENGTH (x2): TOO SHORT/LONG :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar::nostar: JUST PERFECT (8.0) RULES COMPLEXITY (x1): COMPLEX :star::star::star::star::star::star::star::star::nostar::nostar: SIMPLE [/c] [b]TOTAL = 354.0/50 =7.08[/b] :thumbsup: [b]POSITIVE POINTS:[/b] ++ Quick to set up and easy to teach. ++ Expansions add a lot of good content. :thumbsdown: [b]NEGATIVE POINTS:[/b] -- Randomness can be an issue. -- Not a fan of the 3+ player variants.

3/1/2019

Fun little deckbuilder.

2/21/2019

digitale versie op ipad

2/18/2019

2 player 20 minutes

2/17/2019

A super fun game to play against each other! My partner absolutely loves deck builders. The combat works well within the battling spaceships theme—but tracking it with the cards is annoying so we use a mobile app to track the points.

2/14/2019

A super fun game to play against each other! My partner absolutely loves deck builders. The combat works well within the battling spaceships theme—but tracking it with the cards is annoying so we use a mobile app to track the points.

2/14/2019

Good light Deck Builder. Purchase it.

2/11/2019

Very simple deck builder. Good for traveling.

2/11/2019

A fast-playing, streamlined deckbuilder. But the amount of random chance is much higher here than in Dominion. That, combined with the relaxed constraints (compared to Dominion) make this a less interesting game for me, compared to Dominion. That being said, it's still an enjoyable game, that offers a fun "space fleet battles" vibe.

1/23/2019

Deck-development game about an intergalactic war. Very similar to Ascension, but with direct conflict (i.e. I shoot you, you shoot me). The best "deck-builder" for tactical attack and defense play; someone finally figured out how to effectively integrate direct conflict into an economic engine deck-development game. It's really good. My rating may shift after getting more accustomed to the game... I don't know if knowing the cards better will improve or deflate my appreciation.

1/22/2019

much better than I expected

1/22/2019

Fun to play, but after a few dozen plays I suspect the depth is less than I thought. The starting player appears to have a higher chance of winning. All my friends really like this game, which makes it a fun experience.

1/21/2019

Great little deck builder about Space Combat. Like the variants too.

1/15/2019

A nice introductory deck builder, but it doesn't stack up to its competition. I really like the ideas in place, especially the chaining of powers between faction cards, but this same mechanism makes it incredibly difficult to pivot strategies and play adaptively. The early game decisions pigeonhole players for the rest of the game, leaving them to rely solely on the market to pan out for them. Granted the game is short, so this lack of flexibility can be forgiven. Keeping track of your authority is dreadfully tedious, though.

1/11/2019

~$15 04-Mar-16

1/10/2019

Very fast and very good deck building game. One of the few games that I can play multiple times in a row and not tire of it. Mostly have played with 2 players where, but I would love to try some of the multiplayer variants at some point.

12/24/2018

(10/17) 5. I liked this well enough. It moved pretty quickly and was fun. Still, it was fairly unremarkable and I don't really go for 2 player games.

12/22/2018