Coup

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (298 Total)

7
80
153
44
8

i really love this game. I dont especially like social deduction games but i do really enjoy some of the strategies that come out once you wrap your head around the abilities of the different cards. Even at 2 players which you wouldnt necessarily think would work for a social deduction game its still very fun and has some nice "Take That" elements .

4/4/2020

I've played this several times now, I don't get it. So you can bluff different actions and you may or may not get called out on them, and in the end it comes down to counting what's left, and making a calculated risk on whether or not to call someone's bluff or rebluff a different role on your own.Much better with 5 or 6, I wouldn't play it with less, too many cards stuck in the middle.I'd play it, but only cuz it's super fast, I'm not going to ask for this to be played.

4/1/2020

Played once, was allright. No need to buy this one though.

3/18/2020

Fantastic "micro-game" / filler!

3/9/2020

2-6

3/7/2020

Started tracking games late. Add about 5 to the number of plays.

3/2/2020

An amazing party game or filler game during a game night. Even my non-gamer friends and family member love this game, which is why I will never get rid of it. It has a low barrier to entry and is a quick play. I love games like this.

3/1/2020

Custom Version

2/24/2020

It was the Kickstarter edition with extras. Now it's much-needed space on my shelf because I never want to play this awful game again. I understand why some people might enjoy a game where all you do is lie and try to guess who else is lying but that's too much stress for me.

2/15/2020

Very fun micro party game about bluffing. Always up for it. New gamers will get frustrated because you have to remember what each role does in order to play successfully.

2/14/2020

I'm amazed that I found a game that I hate more than The Resistance. This required me to raise my rating for The Resistance to 1.1

2/9/2020

Smart. Fun.

2/3/2020

This is a fun filler game. I love the sneakiness and having to lie about your role in the game. I think the game really shines when you know the group really well because it really makes you think about their character. Yeah, this game has player elimination, but its so fast that I don't mind it.

1/31/2020

Brilliant little card game. When playing it back-to-back, the meta that develops in this rapid-fire game is excellent. An easy introduction to new players, portable, and quick.

1/28/2020

Quick microgame of misdirection and reading people. It's great because of brevity and not in spite of it.

1/26/2020

A game about lying where lying is a bad idea, with player elimination. It has the virtue that it's awfully short, but other than that there's not much here.

1/26/2020

1-6 Best with 5

1/26/2020

A quick filler of bluffing and calling.

1/25/2020

Expansions: - Reformation - Jester Promo - Bureaucrat Promo - Speculator Promo Best at 5 players, in my opinion. Leaves enough cards in the middle deck so that people can have a good level of bluffing due to the unknown information and downtime is low.

1/25/2020

0.25 xx

1/25/2020

2-10p Sleeves Coins only Cards in Reformation box

1/24/2020

A nice quick little filler game. This is an easy quick way to introduce people to board games. Not quite a gateway game, but it helps get people to the door. It's not a game I can play a lot of though. It just gets tiring after awhile.

1/24/2020

Easy to learn, great bluffing game for light party action.

1/24/2020

Kickstarter Project http://kck.st/15n8SEx - Backed: 04/22/2013 - Funded: 05/11/2013 - Pledge Level: Pledge $15 or more: "Coup" - Payment: $15 - Survey: 09/09/2013 - Projected Delivery: Oct 2013 - Shipped: 12/03/2013 Status: DELIVERED -Update - 12/02/2013 got shipping notice from Amazon https://wwwapps.ups.com/WebTracking/processInputRequest?loc=en_US&WBPM_lid=wgadget/ct1.html_pnl_trk&InquiryNumber1=1Z602AW10357174848&Requester=WSP&ReturnTo=/myWorkspace/home?loc=en_US&WBPM_lid=wgadget/ct1.html_pnl_trk&track.x=1

1/20/2020

If you are good at this game you will be a target to everyone. The result of this is going to be long waiting periods in between games which is no fun. Enjoy this as a late night drinking game with 5+ players

1/15/2020

by Port

I have played literally hundreds of rounds of this game. My coworkers and I started playing it at lunch just about any day we can get four or more people to the table, and we can usually finish 3-5 games in an hour, two to four days a week, for the past three years. Our metagame has evolved through so many ingenious changes, too. We have added a fourth copy of each card, to allow us to play up to 8 players, but really 6 should be the max, and even then the game is best played with 5 players. This year, we started playing with the Coup: Reformation rules, which convert the Ambassador into an Inquisitor (you only draw one card from the deck instead of two cards when you exchange, BUT you can peek at someone's face-down card, then decide if they should keep it or exchange it with a random one from the deck!) It makes the game much more complex. With three players, I recommend playing "Three Card Coup", where each player gets three face-down cards. With three cards, the Ambassador is almost worthless, but the Inquisitor is an incredible weapon later in the game!

1/13/2020

My wife hates lying... this game was not well received lol. Very nice artwork, simple rules, great potential with the right people. I tried... I tried lol.

1/4/2020

Hidden role game, where the roles can change. You also have the ability to claim any of the five roles without having the relevant card in front of you. Each face down card is an effective 'life' and once you've lost both lives you're eliminated. Hopefully not a long time before the rest of the group is as well.

1/3/2020

Just okay. Nice to have a party game that plays 4 on hand.

12/12/2019

Doesn't really work at 2 players, but can be a lot of fun with higher player counts.

12/5/2019

Very fun short little game! You get two secret characters but can pretend to be any character, but beware, if you bluff and are called out on it then you loose a card. Last person with cards wins! Very fun micro-game and a great filler as well.

12/3/2019

Location: Shelf Box

12/3/2019

amazon

11/12/2019

I don't know why people like this game so much. It's OK. But all that it really has going for it is that it is a game and it's short.

10/25/2019

Itch: simple bluffing

9/19/2019

Essentially "Love Letter 2.0" and with a better theme. Now there is more to lie about, more to deduce, and more actions to take. 1/03/16: Upgraded to 8, possibly room to move up even more. This game is excellent -- tons of fun.

8/5/2019

Great quick game, easy to teach. Great entry game for many people since the main mechanic is lying.

7/17/2019

sleeved

6/15/2019

The base game just seems lackluster when you've played with the Reformation expansion.

6/14/2019

I still really enjoy this. Watching a metagame develop over multiple rounds is fascinating. Slotting in the Inquisitor from Reformation makes the game all the more interesting. Addendum: Hoax is better.

5/13/2019

7 after first play. Easy to teach and plays quickly. Bit of bluffing involved. Not sure how people compare this to resistance.

4/12/2019

http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/coup-2012/ http://meeplelikeus.co.uk/coup-2012-accessibility-teardown/

3/28/2019

Short. Like 5 minute games or even less. But you play game after game for hours straight. Addictive bluffing game with very basic rules and nice depth.

3/6/2019

A fine bluffing game, I suppose, but way too swing-y and too easy to get eliminated. Play with 2 players remaining is a bit trivial and deterministic. It took me about 3 games with as many different groups to get the flow of the game and not get eliminated turn 1. Still feels too easy to get eliminated playing a statistically sound challenge.

3/5/2019

Still one of my favorite bluffing games.

2/21/2019

Innovative game, ultimately falls into the same boring routine every game. Too many dead-end situations too where you literally have no choice in what to do.

2/16/2019

It's a bluffing game with a stupid theme. Trade Condition Notes: Excellent condition

1/25/2019

Played this a few times, mainly 6 player, it is okay. Best thing about it, is that it is quick. I don't like the player elimination part of it or the fact that when it gets down to the last few players it is obvious who will win.

1/23/2019

W/ Promo: Jester, Bureaucrat, and Speculator Almost traded away because I hadn't played it until a friend showed me how fun this was. Easy, quick and flexible depending on the roles mixed in, you just have to be able to bluff!

1/23/2019

A 'just one more game' kind of game. A lot of fun and well designed. Don't like the theme or artwork though

1/23/2019

Lie, cheat, and steal to eliminate your opponents and be the last man standing. You can take any action, but if you don't have the proper card in front of you and someone calls your bluff, half of your power evaporates... Nice quick bluffing game with various strategies and approaches to keeping your head above water. Coup G54 has completely replaced this for me. I would only play this if someone else put it on the table.

1/22/2019

Great filler game and fun with new people.

1/22/2019

$8.99 01-Aug-15

1/21/2019

One of the greatest micro games available. It plays incredibly fast, and always has players begging for another go. Some cards are obviously better than others, but that plays to Coup's strengths, as players can bluff their way out of a bad hand. The short nature of the game opens the door for players to seek revenge from previous games, without it feeling mean. A great game to throw in your pocket before leaving for a party.

1/11/2019

Excellent bluffing game without too many frills.

1/11/2019

Great deduction/bluffing game that is easy to pull out and play. This is always a hit when we get it to the table. UPDATE: Gave this copy to a good friend that I just introduced to the hobby in anticipation for Rebellion G54. We had a lot of good plays and are glad to see it go to a good home.

1/10/2019

Ultra Pro Sleeved.

1/9/2019

A fun bluffing game, but if you play with people who don't want to bluff it breaks, but that's not a fault of the game's in my eyes. Simple to teach which means you can get new players in and playing fast.

12/24/2018

(11/15) 7. (10/17) 7. Haven't played this one in so long. Need to get it back out and see if it holds up.

12/22/2018

A light game with some fun deception mechanics. A great, fast filler. 8 people can play a game in under 20 mins.

12/19/2018

We played it a few times and I keep thinking its a great game but I recently realized that I never choose it.

12/18/2018