Android: Netrunner

These reviews were left by users who have played the game. If you'd like to leave a review, you can start by going to the game page.

Rating Summary (152 Total)

14
60
58
12
3

Includes two base sets and the first cycle and abit more. Contact me for more details.

4/2/2020

So this is the same game we used to have a long time ago, but it's been updated. And it's no longer a CCG, which was my main problem with it the last time I played it.It's a good game. Fun, entertaining, fairly inexpensive for the amount of game you get in the box. If you're going to play a CCG Game, I suppose this is one of the better ones to get into. It has the benefit of being very different based on which side you're playing, and you have to build two decks instead of just one, so there's a lot to explore. However, playing the game requires constant updates, and keeping up, and just not something I have the time and energy for, I'm out.

4/1/2020

If only it hadn't been killed off.... That said, still one of the best asymmetrical games ever made.

2/28/2020

3 cores and litko tokens

2/24/2020

This game was a gift. A carefully-researched and very thoughtful gift meant to be the backbone of a weekend of celebratory gaming. Day 1: Excitement (note that no gameplay actually took place on this day) Day 2: Confusion (“We have to watch a 20-minute video just to understand the basic jargon? TWICE?”) Day 3: Anger (“Why can’t this game just use normal words for anything?”) That was the first weekend. We really stuck with it for another couple of weeks by adding custom player aids, doing research online, and trying different configurations of cards. That’s more work than either of us put into our actual relationship so the game has gathered dust ever since. We’re pretty sure that all the reviews saying it’s a great couples game are written by robots from a joyless future where the only game that exists is Android: Netrunner.

2/15/2020

The most balanced asymmetric game I've ever played. Immensely deep and super flexible.

1/28/2020

Great game, the only reason that I don't rate it higher is because it's a LCG. I didn't really fully understand what that meant when I bought it but I have no intention of keeping up with such an aggressive release schedule and meta game. The idea of deck-building outside of the game does not appeal to me. I would love this as a standalone game like Ashes with fixed decks for each corporation and runner.

1/26/2020

It is a game where you want action efficiency, and that's about all there is to the game. Given that that might often rely crucially the order in which you draw your cards, I don't see much to offer here. In short, it is showing its age from back when CCGs were sloppily designed and rather simplistic. And seriously, the overly baroque terminology is stupid.

1/26/2020

2 30-60 min

1/25/2020

Love it, but haven't convinced anybody else to play it with me. **Update** Everyone decided it's great on their own, so it's getting played again.

1/25/2020

A two-player game that's interesting but more-so in the deck design aspect. It's hard to get interested without dedicating a lot of time and I don't expect anyone to get invested with me. Probably worth selling since I do actually have every single card. I saw an asking price of $800 from someone else selling the same thing (plus a few promos).

1/25/2020

2p Sleeves All contents in 2x 4-wide card box.

1/24/2020

I love the asymmetrical nature of this LCG. Very sad that it's out of production now that FFG lost the license. It is one of my favorites.

1/24/2020

This might be the perfect CCG.

1/11/2020

No Review Description

1/9/2020

This is a fun LCG with asymmetrical play, featuring one player as the Corporation and one as a hacker. The sheer number of expansions out, makes this a daunting game for new players to get involved with. Also at this point, only removing one cycle from rotation, does not seem adequate.

1/6/2020

Still not sure how I feel about this game. We must be terrible at it because it seems to really favor the runner.

12/12/2019

LOVE the theme (used to have the original CCG version).. unfortunately it's only 2 players...and it's a pain to explain the rules, esp. to those not computer literate :>

12/11/2019

The Perfect Card Game. Has the right amount of luck and skill, without being too complicated for new players while also being extremely deep for players who like to master games. Unfortunately the game is now out of print due to a license dispute so prices have inflated. But a dedicated community (NISEI) is keeping the game alive. If you would like to know how this game pairs up with magic the gathering, here is a link that summarizes everything you need to know. https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1063261/magic-gathering-vs-android-netrunner _Also you can play this game online for free on jinteki.net. The community there is very friendly and will walk you through the interface and even help teach you the game.

11/15/2019

by 3MBG

Easily the best customised card game i've ever played. Heaps of options, many decisions. Its pretty darned good. Unfortunately, a bad experience playing with others has damped my enthusiasm.

10/29/2019

Game was awesome through the first two cycles. Complexity creep became overwhelming, and game was less fun as a casual player.

6/26/2019

The fatigue is real. The new cards just aren't particularly interesting and play at the highest level has stagnated. That said, great played casually.

5/13/2019

My wife suggested buying this and then we have never played it. Guess this will have to be my New Years resolution... Probably close to a year and finally got to play a few games. Initial thoughts are based on just the base game. It seems slightly to favour the hacker but that might just either be my bad luck. Still fun and having solo'd a couple of times now, it plays quick. Would recommend anyone playing this to try Android from FFG before hand to get some sense of theme.

4/12/2019

I love this game, but with the caveat that I play casually ie not in tournaments with constructed decks. I don't even buy the LCG packs. I just love the amazing asymmetry and brilliant bluffing and cat and mouse in this game. Far superior to other games in its class like M:TG. There, I slaughtered the sacred cow.

3/6/2019

No Review Description

3/6/2019

This game is great, I love the tension and hidden information. I can see myself playing this many times without tiring of it.

2/16/2019

Still trying to figure out whether I like this game or not. Quick setup, so I like that. One issue is there's a fair amount of rules here that really limit the creativity and options of the player. While there's certainly some strategy, I don't feel like it's all that deep.

2/12/2019

2, 45m

1/25/2019

by afjb

fun deck building game for me as I am somewhat new to this game style. Yes, I play this game solitaire using the variants on BGG but I still find it to be a fun experience. As I am learning the game maybe I can introduce others to it but for now it is a fun way for me to understand the basic mechanics.

1/22/2019

Android: Netrunner has always been on my radar, because of the theme, asymmetry, and its depth. I did not get into it after the news it would end, and grabbed more than enough to be able to experience the different angles of the game. Not planning to focus much on deck building, instead playing with balanced decks with my SO. I was afraid it might be hard to teach, but the tutorial decks have worked very well to grasp the basic structure. Moving on to "real" beginner decks.

1/21/2019

Rating after one play. This was the first time that I played some sort of CCG. I liked the unbalanced nature of it. I played the runner and I was too cautious which lead to my downfall. I wouldn't mind playing this again.

1/21/2019

Made own insert

1/11/2019

Fun two player game, with a theme that manages to squeak through, and asymmetry that helps mix up the first few plays. But, without data packs the game runs dry fairly quickly, so unless you want to competitively deck build against your gaming friends, which would likely be quite fun, I'd steer clear. This game just isn't for me.

1/11/2019

The game that has taken up the most thought-time in my mind-brain and it is spectacular. Nothing will match building something almost as large as the magic scene in the small town I was living in around this game when it was new. I find it hard to keep up with the meta given my current lifestyle, and can't really afford to own all the cards, but gosh this is my favorite game design. :')

1/11/2019

Now that I’ve played this … theme: awesome. Mechanics: well done. Just not sure that it’s one I’d like to own.

1/11/2019