Teotihuacan: City of Gods Reviews

Teotihuacan: City of Gods has 159 reviews with an average rating of 4.00 / 5.

Rating Summary (159 Total)

36
86
28
3
1

Teotihuacan fails to utilitze its interesting dice rondel system by instead squandering it on track progression. Just about every mechanism in the game has players climbing up one of four tracks which ultimately abstracts away all the interesting facets of the game. The core of the game is solid, as players want to group dice together to maximize returns, but sacrificing pace for efficiency can be detrimental, so players must seek out the optimal balance as they pursue points. Its a shame that this otherwise interesting efficiency puzzle is encased in a dull track race. Cocoa is also a bit of a problem. While I understand its purpose to impede rote action selection, its implementation feels incredibly lazy and uninteresting. As a whole I like Teotihuacan, but it fails to achieve its potential which regrettably magnifies its shortcomings.

1/29/2021

A lot of very solid mechanisms blended together well. Very thematic with the pyramid construction. And the solo mode is excellent.

1/28/2021

Great game, not as good as everyone thinks but still fantastic. Like Castles of Burgundy, point salad done right with a strong puzzle to solve.

1/19/2021

2019

1/19/2021

Teotihuacan is a clever rondel game where you move your dice workers around the board to activate the different action spaces. Having more of your dice in a spot gives you access to better actions, and using your dice also increases their value which also lets you use the actions more efficiently. The actions you can do are varied, but they all tie together pretty well. I was pretty impressed with this game—everything flowed smoothly and just made sense.(4 plays)

12/17/2020

solo

12/13/2020

I have all current expansions for this

11/26/2020

Tentative rating, but so far: even on BGA, I can appreciate how fiddly this game is. I held off on buying it because it seemed like it would be intimidating to teach despite not being THAT heavy otherwise--and a rough, directionless first game cemented that. However, a lot of the things I expected to like about it also seem to be present. It's got swaths of possibilities--the setup is incredibly varied and yet the game still offers you lots of meaningful choices for how you want to play within the game. The cocoa economy and the way players stacking on a space can either drain or fill your reserves depending on what you need to do with that space offers a lot of tactical thought to an otherwise mostly deterministic puzzle.As I was still learning exactly what I had to do, I found a lot of friction to really accomplish anything. This is no different than Tzolkin, to be sure--it's a tense and possibly punishing puzzle, but it does feel good to overcome it and accomplish something. I'm not sure yet if it feels good *enough* when you take into account all the work--both in learning and in playing the game--that it takes to get there. It's a great design, but time will tell if I have a great time playing it.

11/3/2020

This has a great solo variant and the variable board dynamics keep the game fresh and this game surprised me a little with how fun it is to play. The aging worker dice and multitude of tile options are engaging.

9/3/2020

Includes Dice Settlers promo card.

7/26/2020

Includes Preclassic & Shadow expansions, plus Promo Bundle

7/15/2020

Teotihuacan: City of Gods feels like a distinct but alternate take on Tzolk'in. While I didn't find this spiritual sequel nearly as novel, fun, or engaging, as it's older brother, City of Gods still maintains those qualities in its own right.Teotihucan plays quickly and is strategically deep. That is a potent combination that many of the best European style games feature. Decisions matter greatly in this game and your score will inevitably suffer if you lack planning and are failing to adapt to how your opponents can minorly affect your puzzle. The biggest downside to Teotihuacan, is that turn execution has a few too many variable steps and requires a great deal of game upkeep. Relevant strategic information is also quite obfuscated and some actions, like placing pyramid tiles for example, can introduce an unwelcome amount of downtime. Fortunately for Teotihuacan, the game's impressive mechanisms and above average level of theme, make this title worth owning.

4/1/2020

After 4 plays:+ Great look/components+ Dice workers is a cool idea+ bang for your buck- Horrid rule book. Difficult to find things and does not cover the "what-ifs" - Starting to feel a little solvable - even with the modular set up.- Dice workers aren't fully realised - Little player interactionI enjoy this game but I like it slightly less the more I play.

4/1/2020

Really like this game. I like the worker placement mechanism and the restrictions on locking and movement actions for your workers. And the fact that they are dice and get powered up each time you perform certain actions is really nice.

3/24/2020

Weight: 3.73 / 5

3/18/2020

Rating based on 1st play

3/18/2020

I am not much of a euro player, but there is something about this game that I love. It burns my brain every time I play it, but when I am in the mood for that I pull this out. It comes with so many mods that you could never play the same game twice. I don't even know why they made an expansion because there is so much variety in the base game. I play this solo, and each time it's been a different challenge and I never know what's going to happen.

3/12/2020

Solo variant is excellent, so much so that the rating has more potential to rise than to fall.

2/28/2020

Execllent game with many strategic paths. Evokes that 'dammit, I need X, but to get that I need Y' feeling.

1/28/2020

It's a little fiddly, and a little light on player interaction, but it's fine. The pseudo-rondel and the upgrading of workers is actually pretty cute.

1/26/2020

Great theme. Great combination of mechanisms. The growing power of the dice is fascinating. Masks feel under-powered in 4-player games. Important decisions every turn. Many paths to victory. Fun. INCLUDES: Teotihuacan: Late Preclassic Period (2019)

10/25/2019

Not for me. Too punishing; would rather play Altiplano or Tzolk'in.

10/25/2019

Best game of 2018.

1/16/2019

I wish the board art were a little bit clearer/less cluttered, and having the pre-printed stations not in order didn't help explaining the game, and the cocoa icons are very tiny compared to the size of the chits, AND I wish there was some sort of turn order reference that it came with, as we'd have to always remind everyone about paying the cocoa cost... AND even though I was never sure if what I was doing was helping me score points (it wasn't).... I've greatly enjoyed playing this game.

1/11/2019

The latest prototype photo (2/22/18) has me drooling.

1/11/2019

im worried about replayabilty with this one. looks like there is only a couple winning strategies

1/11/2019