Tiny Towns Reviews

Tiny Towns has 152 reviews with an average rating of 3.76 / 5.

Rating Summary (152 Total)

16
84
43
5
0

Fun game with a Bingo like aspect. After a few plays, I felt Cottages were too important to not build and that there was not enough for me to keep the game.

2/16/2021

Tiny Towns perfectly balances to the two strategic aspects of the game; planning and execution. Since the scoring combinations change each game, players must effectively parse the scoring opportunities and identify new synergies. They are then challenged to take advantages of these synergies and effectively execute their plan. Inevitably the player's will become trapped in a prison of their own making, and curse their mistakes from a few rounds previous, but in an manner that is enjoyable rather than frustrating. All of this comes wrapping in a highly accessible package and will engage players of various skill sets and experience.

1/29/2021

Tiny Towns is a short game about building a city on a 4x4 grid. Players take turns calling out cube colors that everyone must place on their grid, and once a player’s pattern of cubes matches one of the seven available building types (or their secret building card), they can remove those cubes and place a building of that type into one of the evacuated spots. The buildings all have different ways to score, and the buildings that are available to be built vary from game to game. This game is a lot thinkier than it seems, as you have to manage cubes that you might not need until later or at all, and if you try to work on too many buildings at the same time you’ll end up getting in your own way. I found this to be a fun little filler, but I imagine it could get frustrating when you can’t make things work out.(1 play)

12/17/2020

15 card game 64x8840 tarot 70x120

12/8/2020

A fun puzzle to put together with limited space and without full resource control. Easy to learn, easy to play, and fun to get frustrated trying to make everything fit and work out. I enjoy it every time.

12/7/2020

by Noff

Easy enough to be an gateway game but with a good amount of depth.

11/30/2020

Triple town in board game form, heavier game than it let on. Hate it when play with multiples people playing the same strat

11/27/2020

I found this game more tense than fun...

11/2/2020

This game is a puzzle game that evolves as you play it, and is a bit different every time you play. The basic experience doesn't change a whole lot, and I also don't think it is anywhere near as challenging as other people make out. It kind of feels like you are playing yourself, as you will constantly come up against decisions you made earlier in the game and have to find your way around obstacles you unknowingly set for yourself. Plays quick, 10-20 minutes, and is simple to teach. I would absolutely not consider any of the expansions - it is pretty clear they would bog down what is currently a very lean and tight game with unnecessary extra rules and mechanisms that would drag the game out. This game's quick play time and minimal rules set is a huge virtue - if I find myself wanting more I will just play a different game.

10/21/2020

Reviewed

7/19/2020

Abstract

7/15/2020

This game hits

5/14/2020

Liked it! Because of quarantine, I Only played this with my family, I never had a chance to play it with more than 3, but I am sure for more than 4, it is VERY hard to play it with normal rules. Solo sucks, no fun when there is no winning/losing in solo mode.

5/3/2020

Wonderful spacial puzzle that I'm absolute shit at but enjoy anyway.

4/14/2020

Wonderful spacial puzzle that I'm absolute shit at but enjoy anyway.

4/14/2020

It is rare I rate a game so highly after only playing it a couple of times. But this game was excellent. I think it even has loads of staying power. Time will tell, but for now, this strikes an excellent chord and is easy to teach, surprisingly deep, and loads of replayability.

4/1/2020

Played this twice, once with 4 players and once with 5. Played with my kids and with my wife at the higher player count. My oldest (12) got the hang of it and beat me by 1 point. My youngest (7) understood the concept of building, but not how to maximize the point scoring. Still they enjoyed it and I think it is a quick, fun filler game. You could easily setup and break this game down if you wanted to do multiple plays in a single night.

3/5/2020

Like Azul, this to me will become a modern day classic. It's simple enough to teach to anyone, but there are wonderful gameplay decisions that make you want to play over and over!

2/6/2020

Pretty neat and fun, though really seems to burn my brain at times trying to plan everything out ahead of time, only to be thwarted by one errant resource. Also my copy smells heavily of burnt wood.

1/28/2020

easy to teach, easy to play ... play time around 45 minute... quite enjoy it but found it lack of something too ..

1/23/2020

Easy to teach with good depth.

1/22/2020

by sky

One play (5p). We played with the base rules and it did not meet my expectations. I read that the Town Hall rules improve the game, which I will try the next time I play (although I have no urge to play it at this point).

1/11/2020

Feather light spacial game with a clever mechanism for determining what resource everyone has to place. Cute, cleanly designed, and fun, but in being so broadly appealing it lacks a hook. That said I'm only 5 games in so my opinion may change.

1/3/2020

JV

1/2/2020

It's like puzzle with virtually endless replayability and scalability. (There are a lot of combinations of buildings and, as long as you have player boards and pieces, you can play with as many people as you want.)

12/22/2019

One of the more fun spatial games I have played. Also a bit cut throat with the ability to call things you know will hurt your opponents.

12/20/2019

A little too abstract and light for me. I have a hard time visualizing the layout my cubes need to be in.

12/12/2019

I would say this is pretty great for what it is. Reminds me a lot of tetris. I like the building and the combo scoring.

12/3/2019

Something about this game really appeals to us. The art on the cards, the little buildings, everything. We don't love the town hall option.

10/22/2019

Best: 1-5 Time: 45-60 Min Weight: 2.14

10/17/2019

by hana

Too much AP resulting in higher down time than desired, more brain burning that I would've liked for a fun group game which definitely outstayed its welcome. Prefer quicker with more social interaction games like Between Two Castles, Libertalia, 7 wonders.

10/17/2019

Loved it! Simple gameplay but thinkier than I thought. Each player is given a tower with special "abilities" that can seem unbalanced at times but the more powerful ones are at least more difficult to pull off.

9/11/2019

No Review Description

8/12/2019

This game felt like a great set of puzzles and outplaying your opponent. Making the city was great and we immediately played it again after the first round

8/10/2019

No Review Description

5/24/2019