Tapestry Reviews

Tapestry has 160 reviews with an average rating of 3.71 / 5.

Rating Summary (160 Total)

33
76
32
9
7

Has balance issues.

2/16/2021

Solid mix of mechanics with good player interaction. The theme isn't terribly immersive, but it's a satisfying game experience that doesn't overstay its welcome.

1/28/2021

Nifty civ themed game. Component quality is great

1/13/2021

Tapestry is a very rules-light civilization game that gains a ton of depth and complexity through its myriad tech track actions and cards. Each turn, a player simply chooses to either advance on one of four tech tracks by paying the cost and performing the action, or going through an end-round procedure (usually when the player is out of resources). The tech tracks allow players to place new tiles on the hex board, conquer them by putting their marker on it, gain or improve technology cards, or place a building from their player board to their city board, which uncovers end-round income. However, all of these tracks have a variety of ways to score different items, in a way that both allows players to specialize as well as interacts with other tracks and types of actions. Additionally, players can draw and play tapestry cards, which provide an ongoing bonus that last for an entire round. Players also start with unique player powers, which provide a lot of variety but may or may not be entirely balanced. Players that perform fewer total actions in the game can actually finish before others, but I found that the time difference wasn’t extreme. I really enjoyed this one—everything fit together and flowed very well, and it had just the right amount of interaction and interlocking mechanisms.(3 plays)

12/17/2020

To Open or Not – Tapestry Are you a person who opens presents right away, or do you wait? I wait as long as I can to open a present, and it’s not that I find it unsettling to be the focus while opening. (Those close to me know I am not shy to attention.)It’s the feeling when I open the gift and not conveying the appropriate level of appreciation or worse, not being able to conceal my confusion or lack of enthusiasm if it turns out to be odd or inexplicable. I was experiencing that dread waiting for our game to arrive. My impatience was brimming for our copy of Tapestry to arrive, and the endless posts from around the world opening their box were vexing. Then the Postman brought the much-anticipated game!!! Out of the brown box and on to the table, Tapestry went and sat for a month. After I had been following the assessments and judgments on social media, I was dreading the idea of disappointment in the game. It is fair to note that we enjoy Stonemaier games, and they are often in rotation at Nerdz Garage.I have said it before that opening a Stonemaier game is a gift that never disappoints. The choice of linen paper, the adorable building and outpost miniatures, unique dice, and charming landmarks. The art on the Tapestry cards are delightful, and all of these fit in a custom insert. (Love custom inserts) The Landmarks (for me) are reminiscent of anime; they look close to what they represent, Character-Esque, art. I had a conversation online about the value of these pieces, and they noted they thought them pricey and unnecessary, chits or tokens would work just as well. I added that I thought they were essential to the game since we were growing our new world, and these landmarks are the physicality of what was built. My favorite strategy is filling up my City.*We generally purchase upgrades of pieces that are more factual and heavier because it deepens our experience of a game. Stonemaier games are known for his intricate design and impressive gameplay mechanics. Tapestry has the depth and strategy of a Stonemaier game. It notes a two-hour game; we have played a dozen times, and we have been closer to three hours. You start from nothing and advance on any of the four advancement tracks (science, technology, exploration, and military) to earn progressively better benefits. You can focus on a specific track or take a more balanced approach to build your City and civilization. I have tried both strategies and found that divide and conquer brought a higher VP. You will also improve your income, build your capital city, leverage your asymmetric abilities, earn victory points, and gain tapestry cards that will tell the story of your civilization. The growth in each track provides unique bonuses and progress of advancement. Our son loved the fact that he could go to space, and THAT was his only goal. (He made it to space.) We found Tapestry to be well balanced with aspects in a particular combination. The luck of the draw with a Tapestry card at the right era or the roll of the dice can swing for or against your favor. The wildcard of balance is personal game style/attitude/ goals as they relate to what options the game presents you. The tension that builds at the last round is stressful, remindful of most of Stonemaier games.Every time! I have spent decades in theater and know the stress of asking folks to spend their hard-earned cash in the hopes that for a few hours, they were transported from their life and hopefully had a good time.Tapestry; were we transported out of the worries of life for a few hours? Yes. Did we enjoy that time? Yes.

12/6/2020

I'd rather stare at an actual tapestry for two hours than play Tapestry ever again.

11/6/2020

This is another great game by Stonemaier Games. I love the literal simplicity of each turn with solid, medium crunchiness hidden beneath. You need to have a long term strategy for which tracks to travel, but you can't overlook opportunities as they arise. There are some rough edges that can be found depending on how others are playing, but it's a very pleasant experience and the components are gorgeous.Only ding from me is the player boards seem so cheap / flimsy compared to the other components. They have a nice gritty / tacky feel to them, but they are just cardstock where you're used to finding cardboard.

11/2/2020

Wow. Just so much fun! The variety of the civilizations, ways to gain VP, the speed of play. It's all just so fantastic. I cannot wait to play this again! Another fantastic game from Jamey and Stonemaier. I was on the fence about Wingspan but definitely going to buy it now.

10/6/2020

Zero interesting decisions for players to make.

9/17/2020

How do you rate a super-hyped game such as this? I had my expectations fairly low before playing it, and it seems the game met my expectations quite well. It's not a civ game. At least, it doesn't feel like one. Sure there are names and things with civ stuff printed on them, but calling a bike for a shovel doesn't make it a shovel.This game is a puzzle on how to get the best combos, using the four "tech" tracks in combination with other "tech" cards, which doesn't actually do much. And it has a nice packaging. So game wise it's a nice system with no regards to the theme. Some luck is involved which I like, so skill isn't the only thing mattering here.It's a neat game which I would play at any time, but I probably won't suggest it.

8/11/2020

I have not tried any other CIV games, but the game itself is a great puzzle and I enjoy being able to combo things together.

5/14/2020

No Review Description

4/26/2020

No Review Description

4/1/2020

Love this game. The combos you can do sometimes are just crazy and make you feel very powerful. The looks are simply fantastic. The 16 different civilizations are really nice and provide replay ability for a long time.

3/24/2020

Weight: 2.81 / 5

3/18/2020

Civ Game 1-5 players, 2 hours, Jamey Stegmaier, count me in!

3/18/2020

First game I became 3 civs it was amazing

2/24/2020

I enjoy the high production quality of this title, but do wish it was slightly less of a table hog. There is a lot of replayability with all the different options of civs. Ultimately I'm glad I own if even if it's not my favorite SM game.

2/6/2020

Watched the reviews and previews, and then watched how to play and game play videos.,, then we purchased it. Boy are we glad we did! Every time I play, I want to play again to try something different. I just love games that make me think about them when I'm not playing them. I get the abstracted theme complaints, but for me it's not so abstract as to be theme-less. The engine building ramps up at a great pace, and the variety of civs, tech, and tapestry keep us wanting more. Love it!

2/3/2020

Loving it after 3 plays. My wife and I played 3 the day it was received. Points can be swingy as my wife scored over 250 her second game and the last game ended 114-115 with her winning by one point. Every play has been great even though each has felt different.

2/3/2020

I feel it definitely needs more than one play to get the hang of it. The scarcity of the resources made planning so so important to the point where I felt uncomfortably constricted. Also really got screwed by several luck factor moments: the tapestry cards can really swing things, also got quite hosed by one of my Space tiles. It was a very interesting game, stellar components, lots of cleverness in design, though I rarely got the feel of developing a civilization. Might try someone else's copy again later.

1/28/2020

The choices are uninspiring, turns are bland, and the mechanisms are anything but innovative or fresh. The Idea of the game is promising, a quick and streamlined Civ game, with assimetric powers. But the final experience it's so disappointing. The assimetric nature is unbalanced, because there's almost no interaction. The excessive simplicity of the game kills all the theme and flavor. And the gameplay feels just like a mixture of mechanism that doesn't add. Finally the length of the game it's too long for what it is. (About 2 hours for 5 players). Oh yeah I almost forget the randomness, the tapestry cards, the science dice, the exploring dice, the territory tiles, the tech cards. Oh no. :(

1/28/2020

This is such an odd duck of a game. There are clear imbalances between the factions that aren’t resolved, even with the rebalancing that Jamey has provided. It strikes me as deeply concerning that Jamey has not even considered whether or not players should be able to use trap cards after finishing their final Era, which seems like a question that would come up in playtesting fairly quickly. Unfortunately, it seems that Jamey has surrounded himself with yes-men who are so eager to cheer on everything he does, he forgets that criticism might help make a good idea into a good game.

1/24/2020

First solo play was more of a learning experience, but this game is gorgeous and looks to be a future to 10 game for me. Yes, I do own it. Yes, I have played it (multiple times). This is a legit review so back off:-)

12/12/2019

This is fun. A non-historic alternate narrative civilization. Very short turns with a lot of fun choices. A lot of replay-ability. The flaws such as the disconnect of anachronistic theme, randomness and unnecessarily high production don't bother me in the least. I just like to have fun and this game does that for me.

10/25/2019

stupid hype, ugly product

10/18/2019