Res Arcana Reviews

Res Arcana has 94 reviews with an average rating of 4.04 / 5.

Rating Summary (94 Total)

24
49
14
1
2

+ Lux et Tenebrae

2/21/2021

Res Arcana as a concept seems wholly broken; each player is tasked to find an explosive point engine from a scant deck of 8 random cards. Shockingly, however, it totally works. It seems standard euro practice to have a steady power curve, withholding access to a game's strongest combos until the conclusion. Res Arcana instead drops a heap of incredibly powerful cards in each player's lap right off the tip. As a result each turn is like a parade of explosive cards activations and power escalation. Within five or so turns the game will end, and you'll be invited to try your hand at a new suite of magical wares. Res Arcana reminds me of how fun this hobby and exploring a system can be. Res Arcana burns quick and it burns bright, and you'll want to play it again and again.

1/29/2021

The card interactions in this game make for some real clever decision-making. It's a solidly designed package.

1/28/2021

2019

1/19/2021

Best game of 2019?

1/16/2021

Need expansion

1/5/2021

To be sold.Includes expansion.

1/2/2021

Res Arcana is a engine-building card-combo game that feels designed to be reminiscient of a CCG draft. Players get only 8 cards plus one Mage card that gives them a special ability to start with. You start with 3 random cards from your 8-card deck, and draw one additional at the end of your turn. From there, it's up to you to combo the cards together to gain and spend 5 different resources and somehow convert them to points. You can also buy Places of Power that give you a fixed way to turn resources into points, and Monuments that give you fixed points and possibly also a special ability. Among the cards are a number of Dragons, which tend to be more expensive than other cards and drain your opponents' resources. The first player to 10 points wins. While the cards can be assigned according to prescribed lots or even distributed randomly, I think the game would shine most in a draft format, where players can choose cards that work together. I found this pretty fun as I enjoy engine-building games in general.(1 play)

12/17/2020

Pedro

10/16/2020

Res Arcana requires you to both build your resource conversion engine fast and run it efficiently. You know all the tools you have available but don't get access to all of them immediately, so some flexibility is required, but deciding on what strategy to execute is crucial as well. The best engine builder I've seen in a while that flows very nicely with snappy turns.

8/12/2020

This is very good- itching to play more!I love how much this game does with very little. You get a very small hand of cards (8) and they way you use them is fascinating. I am really loving this one and find it to be a nearly perfect game. With more plays I think this has potential to rise on my top games of all time list (already cracking the top 10). It is very smooth, easy to teach and a wonderful brain burning experience. I love it.

8/5/2020

mm

7/24/2020

Finally played!

3/5/2020

Somewhere between Jump Drive and Race. I am impressed by how much mileage you get out of a scant eight card deck.

1/26/2020

Nothing but a series of conversion puzzles where you make marginal improvements for 4 turns, then explode into points as someone wins. Dinged a little harder because it doesn't even attempt to do more than that. As if a straight up tableau of conversions hasn't been done elsewhere, and better, a million times at this point.

1/3/2020

Inexpensive little engine builder with great art. I lost pretty badly, but I look forward to trying it again.

12/3/2019

A very neat game making use of limited components to make a tight and engaging engine-builder. I wasn't originally sure what to think of working with an 8-card deck, but it works well to give each player their own pool of engine cards and resources to manage and focus competition on the sources of VPs (each with their own engine-building side). The magic items add a good relief valve, giving players an extra trick they can exploit for one turn, or helping them fill a gap in their deck. With 3 players the game went very smoothly, each player mostly looking inwards with occasional side-glances at other players. With 2, it became much more tense, with a lot more need to beat your opponent to a key move, or block their plans.

3/16/2019