Backgammon Reviews

Backgammon has 97 reviews with an average rating of 3.12 / 5.

Rating Summary (97 Total)

3
23
52
17
0

Surprisingly fun for an old classic.

2/22/2021

My husband and I kept a running total of wins. For plain backgammon our scores were 5148 to 4836. And for variations such as Acey Deucey and "leap upon your body" (I think this may be Plakoto) our scores were 814 to 711.2.0 game weight

1/20/2021

2 players

12/7/2020

Working on improving my game as I make too many mistakes. I just enjoy the tactile feel - not interested in the ultra-competitive scene.

11/6/2020

An old game that I didn't play until my wife's family introduced me. Now we have a mini tournament every time we go on vacation together. It's fast and fun, and therefore the luckiness doesn't bother me at all. I also like that you can balance whether you want to play a complete luck-fest by being nice to each other, or you can play a harsh battle where moves are very cautious and strategic.Some people may have written off this classic as too lucky because of the dice aspect, but I would challenge them to play against seasoned veterans. There is a great deal of skill in this game, and it's a ton of fun to play. I've been told that the game improves even more when using the doubling cube which I've not tried yet. I think it could make this game near a 10 if it is an improvement.

11/5/2020

--05Aug2004-- Fun, but not so fun that we pull it out often anymore. Played a lot back in college.++ >200 unlogged plays. ++

11/3/2020

I don't really see the attraction. I seesm so easy but I have never quite worked how to win. When I do my rating may go up.

4/10/2020

I've never been that big a fan of Backgammon, but I will play occasionally and lots of people know how to play.

4/1/2020

2 players, 15 minutes, light medium, abstract classicHave played dozens of games, fast to learn, fun to play. Doesn't get much playtime anymore.

3/18/2020

My favourite out of the classic abstract games.

2/14/2020

The very best roll-and-move game. You must play with the doubling cube, though, or it becomes too luck-based.

1/26/2020

OK game overall, but can be frustrating when you are blocked from moving

1/25/2020

My father taught me how to play this before my teen years (I think) and I was usually competitive but I have not played much since. Many more games online in the mid 2000s and most of that was a two/three month stretch.

1/3/2020

Backgammon is a nice game, that is familiar to many casual game players. I'll rarely suggest this game, but I'll never turn down a game. Two copies around here. One is a nice valise. The other is a piece of furniture - a small game table/end table.

12/24/2019

Classic game

11/14/2019

NEVER PLAYED ANY MORE SHELF I have only played a few games and never found them overly exciting.

10/25/2019

2-player only

10/18/2019

Score largely based on deep history with my dad and friends.

3/8/2019

2, 30m

1/25/2019

Classic mix of luck, skill, and increasing stakes. One of the ORIGINAL board games.

1/22/2019

slightly better than chess

1/11/2019

UK

12/22/2018